HomeMusicMusic NewsThe 2017 Juno Nominees Are In

The 2017 Juno Nominees Are In

The 2017 Juno Awards which honours Canadian music achievements, will be presented in Ottawa the weekend of 1–2 April 2017. Take a look at this year’s list of Juno Nominees:

Adult Alternative Album of the Year

Good Advice – Basia Bulat
Secret Path – Gord Downie
The Great Detachment – Wintersleep
You Want It Darker – Leonard Cohen
The Party – Andy Shauf

Alternative Album of the Year

Touch – July Talk
Art Angels – Grimes
IV – Black Mountain
Weaves – Weaves
Sore – Dilly Dally

JUNO Fan Choice Award

Hedley – Justin Bieber
Drake – Shawn Mendes
Alessia Cara – Belly
Ruth B – The Weeknd
Tory Lanez – The Strumbellas

Single of the Year

Treat You Better – Shawn Mendes
One Dance ft. Wizkid & Kyla – Drake
Wild Things – Alessia Cara
Starboy ft. Daft Punk – The Weeknd
Spirits – The Strumbellas

Album of the Year

Starboy – The Weeknd
Illuminate – Shawn Mendes
You Want It Darker – Leonard Cohen
Views – Drake
Encore un Soir – Céline Dion

Artist of the Year

Shawn Mendes
Alessia Cara
Leonard Cohen
The Weeknd

Group of the Year

Billy Talent
The Tragically Hip
Tegan and Sara
The Strumbellas

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Ruth B
Tory Lanez
Andy Shauf
Jazz Cartier

Breakthrough Group of the Year

Cold Creek County
Bob Moses
The Zolas
The Dirty Nil

Indigenous Music Album of the Year

Fish Out Of Water – Crystal Shawanda
Round Dance & Beats (Powwow) – Bryden Gwiss Kiwenzie
Tiny Hands – Quantum Tangle
Debut – Silla + Rise
Earthly Days – William Prince

Songwriter of the Year

“Leaving Nashville” – co-songwriter Abe Stoklasa THE DRIVER – Charles Kelly Capitol*Universal “What Kind of Love is That” – co-songwriter Tom Douglas, “They Don’t Make Anything in That Town” HARD SETTLE, AIN’T TROUBLED – Donovan Woods
“Boyfriend” – co-songwriter Greg Kurstin, “100x” – co-songwriter Jesse Shatkin, “Stop Desire” LOVE YOU TO DEATH – Tegan and Sara
“The Stranger”, The Only Place To Be”, “Son” SECRET PATH – Gord Downie
“You Want It Darker”, It Seemed the Better Way”, “Traveling Light” YOU WANT IT DARKER – Leonard Cohen
“Lost Boy”, “Superficial Love”, “2 Poor Kids” THE INTRO – Ruth B

Pop Album of the Year

Know-It-All – Alessia Cara
Summerland – Coleman Hell
Astoria – Marianas Trench
Illuminate – Shawn Mendes
Love You to Death – Tegan and Sara

Rock Album of the Year

Morning Report – Arkells
Afraid of Heights – Billy Talent
Sittin’ Heavy – Monster Truck
TerraForm – Sam Roberts Band
Man Machine Poem – The Tragically Hip

Jack Richardson Producer of the Year

Howie Beck: “Work” (Co-producer Charlotte Day Wilson) CDW – Charlotte Day Wilson, “High Five” (Co-producer Dan Kurtz) ROYAL BLUES – Dragonette
Eric Ratz: “The Enforcer” (Co-producer Monster Truck) SITTIN’ HEAVY – Monster Truck, “Fever” DEALBREAKER – Royal Tusk
A Tribe Called Red: “R.E.D. ft. Yasiin Bey, Narcy & Black Bear”, “Sila ft. Tanya Tagaq” WE ARE THE HALLUCI NATION – A Tribe Called Red
Nineteen85: “One Dance”, “Too Good” VIEWS – Drake
Ian D’Sa: “Afraid of Heights”, “Rabbit Down the Hole” AFRAID OF HEIGHTS – Billy Talent

Recording Package of the Year

Karim Charlebois-Zariffa (Art Director, Designer), Olivier Charland (Illustrator), Scottie Cameron (Photographer)
L’HEPTADE – Harmonium
John Wellman, Chris Sheppard, Joshua Geary (Art Directors)
SECRET PATH – Gord Downie
Jonathan Shedletzky (Art Director), Isis Essery (Designer), Jeff Lemaire (Illustrator)
LIVE AT COPPS – Alexisonfire
Justin Ellsworth (Art Director, Designer), Dustin Rabin (Photographer)
Claire Boucher (Art Director, Designer, Illustrator), Rankin (Photographer)

Video of the Year

Claire Boucher: Kill v Maim – GRIMES
Martin C. Pariseau: Lite Spots – KAYTRANADA
Yassin “Narcy” Alsalman: R.E.D. ft. Yasiin Bey, Narcy & Black Bear – A Tribe Called Red

Justin Stephenson: The Stranger – Gord Downie

Electronic Album of the Year

Congrats – Holy Fuck
We Are the Halluci Nation – A Tribe Called Red
Days Gone By – Bob Moses
Checkpoint Titanium – Harrison

See the full list on Junos.ca

Most Popular