Watch: The Wooden Sky Cover Tom Petty Classic “American Girl”

The Toronto Lads do More than Justice to an American Rock Classic

The Wooden Sky hit the road this week for a huge North American tour to support the US release of Let’s be Ready. They make some Canadian summer stops along the way and release a live take of one of their much loved show covers in celebration – Tom Petty’s American Girl.

“There’s still some magic left in the innocence of rock and roll and this song embodies a lot of that spirit. It’s an early Tom Petty classic and one we’ve been playing live off and on for a few years. We were in a little beach town filming our own songs at an old theatre when one of the camera men, who’d been with us since our early days, asked us if we would play American Girl for him. It had been a long day of filming but we fired up one take for old times sake. When we got the footage back it was clear that we’d captured something and thought maybe it was time we put our take on it out there into the world.”

Judge how good of a job they do by checking out the original from Tom Petty:

Here are the tour dates for the upcoming North American Tour

“Swimming in Strange Waters” Tour
Tuesday June 16 – ST. PAUL, MN – Turf Club
Thursday June 18 – WINNIPEG, MC – WECC
Friday June 19 – SASKATOON, SK – MoSo Festival
Saturday June 20 – REGINA, SK – Artesian
Tuesday June 23 – NELSON, BC – The Hume Hotel
Thursday June 25 – EDMONTON, AB – Mercury Room
Saturday June 27 – LAC LA RONGE, SK – Napatak Ramble 2015
Wednesday July 8 – PHILADELPHIA, PA – Kung Fu Necktie
Thursday July 9 – WASHINGTON, DC – DC9 Nightclub
Friday July 10 – BROOKLYN, NY – Cameo Gallery
Saturday July 11 – NEW YORK, NY – Rockwood Music Hall
Monday July 13 – CAMBRIDGE, MA – The Middle East Upstairs
Tuesday July 14 – NEW HAVEN, CT – Cafe Nine
Thursday July 16 – HALIFAX, NS – The Carlton
Friday July 17 – HALIFAX, NS – The Carlton
Saturday July 18 – FREDERICTON, NS – Fredrock Festival
Thursday – Saturday, July 23 – 25 – CALGARY, AB – Calgary Folk Festival
Sunday July 26 – SEATTLE, WA – The Capitol Hill Block Party
Thursday July 30 – KELOWNA, BC – The Habitat
Saturday/Sunday, August 1 & 2 – WELLS, BC –
Tuesday August 4 – VICTORIA, BC – Lucky Bar
Wednesday August 5 – VANCOUVER, BC – Biltmore Cabaret
Thursday August 6 – 9 – DARRINGTON, WA – Summer Meltdown 2015
Friday August 7 – PORTLAND, OR – Bunk Bar
Saturday August 8 – COFFEE CREEK, CA – Trailhead Pizza
Sunday August 9 – OAKLAND, CA – Leo’s
Friday August 14 – 16 – ELORA, ON – Riverfest Elora 2015
Friday August 28 – 30 – TORONTO ON – Camp Wavelength
Friday November 20 – KOLN, DE – Blue Shell
Sunday November 22 – HAMBURG, DE – Prinzenbar
Monday November 23 – BERLIN, DE – Privatclub
Tuesday November 24 – LEIPZIG, DE – Taubchenthal
Wednesday November 25 – DRESDEN, DE – Beatpool