You can now delete your ex’s existence from your Facebook timeline

To unfriend or not to unfriend?

Facebook just made breaking up a whole lot less awkward. Ending a relationship on Facebook can be super shitty with all the statuses and “likes” that you’ll soon over-analyze. Facebook’s new tools are giving users the power to distance themselves from a former flame without having to make the uncomfortable decision to unfriend them for good.

Now when you end your Facebook relationship, you’ll be prompted with the following options:

-See less of a former partner’s name and profile picture around Facebook without having to unfriend or block them. Their posts won’t show up in News Feed and their name won’t be suggested when people write a new message or tag friends in photos.

-Limit the photos, videos or status updates that a former partner will see.

– Edit who can see their past posts with a former partner and untag themselves from posts with that person.


Facebook is currently testing these tools in the US, online on mobile. They plan to roll out the changes to the rest of Facebook shortly.

Main image courtesy Shandi-lee Cox via Flickr