HomeMusicFeatures & Lists11 highly anticipated albums coming out this summer

11 highly anticipated albums coming out this summer

Summer is fast approaching, which means so are new tunes.

Artists far and wide tend to ring in the forthcoming heat with new music, and this year seems to be no different. From Aurora to The Black Keys to Neil Young, there seems to be tons of outstanding releases and new albums dropping over the next few months.

Check out 11 highly anticipated albums coming out this summer below.

AURORA – A Different Kind of Human

Release Date: June 7th

Following the release of Infections of a Different Kind (Step I) in September, Norwegian pop artist Aurora has announced that she’ll be releasing her third record A Different Kind of Human. When speaking of the difference between her last and forthcoming records, Aurora tells NME that, “this album has an even wider perspective than ‘Step One’ had. It’s more interior, dealing with our inner processes. ‘Step Two’ is quite broad and wide…I’m quite an emotional person with many moods. I never know how I might feel on any given day and the album is like that too: it’s quite angry, it’s quite happy, hopeful, sad and playful too.”


Release Date: June 7th

Neil Young is set to release a new archival live album called Tuscaloosa, which was recorded on February 5th, 1973 at the University of Alabama. The album is set to feature tracks from Harvest, Time Fades Away, and more. Tuscaloosa will be released on June 7th, 2019 as a single CD and a three-sided vinyl that will see etched art on the fourth side.

Taylor Knox – Here Tonight

Release Date: June 7th

Taylor Knox announced his forthcoming sophomore album Here Tonight alongside the release of his July Talk collaboration called “Everybody Knows.” “Everybody Knows” definitely has a July Talk vibe, with the crooning vocals of Peter Dreimanis and Leah Faye’s falsetto harmonies accompanying Knox’s modulated melodies perfectly. Knox began working on his forthcoming album essentially immediately after his debut full-length record, Love, with Rob Schnapf (Foo Fighters, Dilly Dally, Kurt Vile) and Josh Korody.

Silversun Pickups – Widow’s Weeds

Release Date: June 7th

Silversun Pickups are making a comeback with their fifth studio record, Widow’s Weeds, which drops on June 7th via their label, New Machine Recordings. Alongside the announcement, the indie giants dropped a video for their lead single, “It Doesn’t Matter Why,” which sees the band members becoming self aware of their bodies, as they allow their limbs to have a mind of their own. “This was the first album where we were open. We were exposed. I see how that can be scary to people, but for us we really thrived on that,” frontman Brian Aubert explains of the release.

Calexico and Iron & Wine – Years to Burn

Release Date: June 14th

Iron & Wine and Calexico have just announced that they’ll be collaborating once again for the release of a new album called Years to Burn. “Life is hard. Awesome. And scary as shit. But it can lift you up if you let it,” Sam Beam explains of the album in a statement. “The title can encapsulate a lot of things. Years to Burn could mean you’re cocky, you’ve got it made. Or, our life is ours to burn, to be inspired. Or you’re burned by life, brutalized. It’s an ambiguous title, because life is complicated.”

Madonna – Madame X

Release Date: June 14th

She’s coming! Legendary Queen of Pop, Madonna, is getting ready for a long-awaited comeback in 2019. At a live Q&A in London, Madonna revealed that her new album Madame X will see her going “back to her roots” with the title being plucked from a moniker she was given at age 19. According to the singer, her career has come “full circle” with her fourteenth studio album.

Mark Ronson – Late Night Feelings

Release Date: June 21st

Mark Ronson is set to release his forthcoming album, Late Night Feelings, on June 21st, which will feature additional vocals from artists like Miley Cyrus, Angel Olsen, Lykke Li, Camila Cabello, and more. Last week, Ronson and Li dropped a groovy music video for their collaborative bass-heavy bop, and the track revolves around a rapid, clicky drum beat and Li’s smooth, effortless vocal lines.

The Raconteurs – Help Us Stranger

Release Date: June 21st

The Raconteurs have announced the details of their highly anticipated and long awaited new record, Help Us Stranger. The gritty rock outfit have already released singles “Now That You’re Gone,” “Sunday Driver,” and a cover of Donovan’s 1965 track “Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness).” The album was recorded and produced by the band themselves at frontman Jack White’s very own Third Man Studio’s, and it’s set to feature appearances from Queens of the Stone Age’s Dean Fertita, Lillie Mae Rische, and Scarlett Rische.

The Black Keys – Let’s Rock

Release Date: June 28th

The Black Keys have announced their forthcoming album Let’s Rock, and as part of the announcement, they’ve released a bluesy rock track called “Eagle Birds.” Let’s Rock, which marks The Black Keys’ first album in five years, is set for release on June 28th via Easy Eye Sound/Nonesuch Records, and it appears to be quintessential Black Keys, filled with gritty guitars, and catchy, crooning vocals.

K.Flay – Solutions

Release Date: July 12th

K.Flay has announced that her forthcoming highly anticipated third full-length album, Solutions, is set for release on July 12th. “When I got home from tour, I was in a dark place,” K.Flay explained of the themes on the album in a statement. “Eventually, I made a decision to focus on the things that actually make me happy: walking around my neighbourhood, drawing in notebooks with markers, talking to my mom on the phone. I thought, ‘What did I do as a kid to be happy?'”

The Flaming Lips – King’s Mouth

Release Date: July 12th

King’s Mouth saw a limited release on Record Store Day, with 4,000 fans purchasing an early limited-edition vinyl edition of their fifteenth studio album. The follow up to 2017’s Oczy Mlody is set to be a concept record that follows a community mourning the death of a monarch. “The King’s Mouth immersive/child-like qualities are born from the same spark and womb as The Flaming Lips live performances,” frontman Wayne Coyne explains about the album, according to Consequence of Sound. “The King’s Mouth adventure was made for humans of all sizes, ages, cultures, and religions.”

Violent Femmes – Hotel Last Resort

Release Date: July 26th

Folk-punk band Violent Femmes have announced their forthcoming album, Hotel Last Resort, and as part of the announcement they’ve dropped the title track, which features Television guitarist Tom Verlaine. The 13-track follow up to 2016’s We Can Do Anything is set to be a focused, powerhouse record that comes packed with punchy, straightforward tunes and a handful of covers like Pyx Lax’s “I’m Not Gonna Cry” and Irving Berlin’s “God Bless America.”

Most Popular