HomeMusicAlberta psych-rockers Crystal Eyes share video for 'darker' new tune 'Don't Turn...

Alberta psych-rockers Crystal Eyes share video for ‘darker’ new tune ‘Don’t Turn Around’

Alberta psych-rockers Crystal Eyes are back with a video for their new track, “Don’t Turn Around.”

Today’s release comes from their forthcoming sophomore record, The Sweetness Restored, out April 22nd via Bobo Integral. “Don’t Turn Around” is a brooding track with bold vocal lines, driven percussion, and pulsing synths. The accompanying video for the track comes packed with vintage clips of people parasailing at a picturesque beach.

“We wrote this track starting with the synth line and formed all the other parts around that,” singer/guitarist Erin Jenkins explains. “The drums are actually built off a loop of the live drumming (played by Kenny Murdoch), that our producer, Andrew Woods, built. The guitar part (that guitarist Jordan Tettensor) wrote felt incredibly Joy Division – this is one of the darker tracks on the record. We were definitely going for something moody and also sanguine.”

Watch the video for “Don’t Turn Around” below.

Crystal Eyes describe the forthcoming album as a “feel-good self-help record for the age of existential dread.”

The Sweetness Restored is a collection of ten tunes that weave in and out of genres with ease. From new wave to psych-rock to shoegaze, this album’s got a little bit of everything

In addition to “Don’t Turn Around,” The Sweetness Restored features the previously released single “Wishes.”

Pre-order The Sweetness Restored here and check out the tracklist below.

The Sweetness Restored Tracklist:

01 – “Wishes”
02 – “Like a Movie”
03 – “Don’t Turn Around”
04 – “I Still Believe In Love pt. 1”
05 – “I Still Believe in Love pt. 2”
06 – “2,000 Years”
07 – “For Carole”
08 – “Pretty Dumb”
09 – “A Dream I Had”
10 – “No Heaven”

[Read More] Watch: Half Moon Run’s Dylan Phillips shares video for new track ‘Candle Eyes,’ announces debut solo EP ‘Undercurrents’

Most Popular