HomeMusicAlt-J share video for new 'tongue-in-cheek' song 'Hard Drive Gold'

Alt-J share video for new ‘tongue-in-cheek’ song ‘Hard Drive Gold’

Alt-J are back with a video for their new single, “Hard Drive Gold.”

The track comes from the band’s highly anticipated new album, The Dream, out February 11th. “Hard Drive Gold” follows previously released singles “U&ME” and “Get Better.” The accompanying video marks Alt-J’s Joe Newman’s directorial debut. His partner, Darcy Wallace, co-directed the clip.

“‘Hard Drive Gold’ is a slightly tongue-in-cheek song written at what we thought was the height of the cryptocurrency gold rush,” Newman says. “It’s the story of the ultimate childhood fantasy, the schoolboy who becomes a millionaire overnight, and the different interactions he has with people in his life from teachers to neighbours. How ironically you interpret its message is entirely up to you…”

Watch the video for “Hard Drive Gold” below.

“Growing up enjoying cinema greatly I saw our music videos as opportune moments for directors to create stories purely and so we the band did not appear in our videos,” Newman continues of the “Hard Drive Gold” video. “By avoiding cuts to a band playing in an ‘airplane hanger’ the audience could focus on the cinema over the indie band music video tropes. I had ideas for videos that I passed on to directors to develop, watching these directors execute some of these ideas inspired me and now I want to understand and experience the process at a deeper level.”

Pre-order The Dream here or check out the tracklist below.

The Dream Tracklist:

01 – “Bane”
02 – “U&Me”
03 – “Hard Drive Gold”
04 – “Happier When You’re Gone”
05 – “The Actor”
06 – “Get Better”
07 – “Chicago”
08 – “Philadelphia”
09 – “Walk a Mile”
10 – “Delta”
11 – “Losing My Mind”
12 – “Powders”

Most Popular