HomeNew ReleasesLive PerformancesAngel Olsen delivers stripped-back performance of four 'Whole New Mess' tracks for...

Angel Olsen delivers stripped-back performance of four ‘Whole New Mess’ tracks for Adult Swim festival

Angel Olsen took to the virtual Adult Swim festival over the weekend, where she performed four Whole New Mess tracks.

The brief, stripped back set saw Olsen performing four songs from 2020’s Whole New Mess. That album is a stripped-back reimagining of 2019’s All Mirrors.

During the set, Olsen performed “We Are All Mirrors,” “Chance (Forever Love),” “Whole New Mess,” and “Tonight (Without You).” Throughout the set, Olsen performs Whole New Mess tracks from a warm, smokey room.

Watch Angel Olsen’s Adult Swim festival performance below.

Whole New Mess is primarily made up of early, acoustic renditions of All Mirrors tracks. It also features a handful of new tunes. The album technically marked Olsen’s first true solo album since 2012’s Half Way Home. It sees Olsen at her most raw and vulnerable.

“I had gone through this breakup, but it was so much bigger than that – I’d lost friendships, too,” Olsen explains. “When you get out of a relationship, you have to examine who you are or were in all the relationships. I wanted to record when I was still processing these feelings. These are the personal takes, encapsulated in a moment.”

In March, Angel Olsen announced a box set called Song Of The Lark And Other Far Memories. It featured All Mirrors, Whole New Mess, and a bonus album called Far Memory. It also featured a 40-page book with photography and early journal entries from the albums’ recording processes.

The Adult Swim festival, which took place on November 12th and 13th, also featured Run The Jewels’ new video for “Never Look Back.”

Most Popular