HomeMusicAngel Olsen wants to remind herself 'that this life is temporary' on...

Angel Olsen wants to remind herself ‘that this life is temporary’ on new ballad ‘Through The Fires’

Angel Olsen has shared a moving new ballad, “Through The Fires.”

The track comes from her forthcoming album, Big Time, out June 3rd via Jagjaguwar. This new preview, “Through The Fires,” serves as the “centerpiece” for the record. The emotional, resilient track sees Olsen seeking her true self. Alongside the track, Olsen shared a lyric video, shot by Angela Ricciardi.

“‘Through The Fires’ is the centerpiece statement of this record,” Olsen explains. “It’s a song I wrote to remind myself that this life is temporary, the past is not something to dwell on, that it’s important to keep moving, keep searching for the people that are also searching, and to notice the moments that are lighter and bigger than whatever trouble I’ve encountered.”

Watch the lyric video for “Through The Fires” below.

Mixed with co-producer Jonathan Wilson, the forthcoming record was written as Olsen was coming out as queer.

“Some experiences just make you feel as though you’re 5 years old, no matter how wise or adult you think you are,” Olsen explains of coming out to her parents. “Finally, at the ripe age of 34, I was free to be me.”

Her father passed away just a few days later, and Olsen ended up introducing her partner to her family for the first time at his funeral. Just two weeks later, her mother ended up in the ER and soon passed away. A few weeks after the second funeral, Olsen headed to the studio to make Big Time.

In addition to “Through The Fires,” Big Time features the previously released title track and “All The Good Times.”

Check out the tracklist for Big Time below or pre-order the record here.

Big Time Tracklist:

01 – “All the Good Times”
02 – “Big Time”
03 – “Dream Thing”
04 – “Ghost On”
05 – “All the Flowers”
06 – “Right Now”
07 – “This Is How It Works”
08 – “Go Home”
09 – “Through the Fires”
10 – “Chasing the Sun”

Most Popular