HomeMusicMusic NewsArcade Fire, Owen Pallett to officially release score for 2013 Spike Jonze...

Arcade Fire, Owen Pallett to officially release score for 2013 Spike Jonze film ‘Her’

Arcade Fire and Canadian composer Owen Pallett have announced that their score for Spike Jonze’s 2013 film Her will get an official release for the first time.

The collaborative score served as the musical background for Jonze’s highly acclaimed Oscar-nominated dystopian film, which starred Joaquin Phoenix. While the soundtrack was never properly released digitally or physically, it was nominated for Best Original Score at the Oscars in 2014.

Now, the Her score will be released on digital, vinyl, and cassette formats on March 19th, and it features 13 tracks with new original artwork.

“There is a mysterious alchemy in the way sound and picture work together, notes and moods shifting and reacting to one another like a kaleidoscope,” Arcade Fire’s Win Butler explains in a statement. “And even in the absence of visuals, the emotional landscape still remains. We hope you have a moment of stillness to get lost in the music as we did writing and recording it.”

“The band had been talking about this ongoing soundtrack project with Spike for about a year before they asked me to come in to help wrap things up,” Pallett adds. “It seemed as if the soundtrack had originally planned to connect with the sci-fi aspects of the story, but Spike was urging a shift toward the score emphasizing the romantic element.”

Check out the tracklist for the Her score below.

Her (Original Score) Tracklist:

01 – “Sleepwalker”
02 – “Milk & Honey #1”
03 – “Loneliness #3 (Night Talking)”
04 – “Divorce Papers”
05 – “Morning Talk / Supersymmetry”
06 – “Some Other Place”
07 – “Song on the Beach”
08 – “Loneliness #4 (Other People’s Letters)”
09 – “Owl”
10 – “Photograph”
11 – “Milk & Honey #2”
12 – “We’re All Leaving”
13 – “Dimensions”

Most Popular