HomeMusicArkells gear up for their return to Budweiser Stage with video for...

Arkells gear up for their return to Budweiser Stage with video for new track ‘Swing Swing Swing’

The Arkells are getting ready for their return to live music with a video for their new track, “Swing Swing Swing.”

The Hamilton, Ontario band will be performing at Toronto’s Budweiser Stage for three days in a row. These performances will mark their first live shows in 16 months. Today’s release comes from their forthcoming album, Blink Once, out September 22nd via Universal Music Canada.

“There’s a tradition in gospel and soul music where you find these transcendent chordal arrangements that make you feel everything at once,” frontman Max Kerman explains. “That’s what we were chasing with this song – throw some blistering trumpet in there and we have something that feels very new to us.”

Watch the video for “Swing Swing Swing” below.

Both the title and video are a “nod to a motif of ‘3s’,” so the band decided to put it out before their 3 nights of live music.

“My favourite songs have three key ingredients: they make you wanna 1) sing and 2) dance and 3) have a cry all at once,” Kerman adds. “Hopefully each *Swing* in this song can do that for you, and you’ll actively feel all 3 if you’re coming to a show this weekend.”

About Blink Once:

The forthcoming album sees Arkells cementing their sound, while continuing to push it to new heights. The project was recorded in LA and completed in Toronto.

“Now more than ever, it seems our lives can change in the blink of an eye,” Kerman explains. “We began working on this album before the world changed and this title felt right given where we’ve collectively landed. Everyday you wake up and you think you know a lot of stuff, then it turns out – you don’t.”

Check out the tracklist for Blink Once below.

Blink Once Tracklist:

01 – “Liberation”
02 – “You Can Get It (feat. K.Flay)”
03 – “All Roads”
04 – “Strong”
05 – “One Thing I Know”
06 – “Truce”
07 – “Nobody Gets Me Like You Do”
08 – “Swing Swing Swing”
09 – “No Regrets”
10 – “Years In The Making”
11 – “Arm In Arm”

Most Popular