HomeMusicAustralian outfit Ocean Alley share entrancing video for new single 'Deepest Darkness'

Australian outfit Ocean Alley share entrancing video for new single ‘Deepest Darkness’

Australia’s Ocean Alley have shared a video for their first new music of 2022, “Deepest Darkness.”

“Deepest Darkness” is a swirling, dark tune that sees Ocean Alley leaning into a gritty indie rock sound. The track is a love song about how someone can bring out the best side of you, even in your darkest moments. Directed by W.A.M. Bleakley, the accompanying video is perfectly peculiar and entrancing. It was filmed on the Panavision lens that was used during the filming of the original Star Wars.

“We had a huge amount of freedom in this clip to make it as weird as we wanted,” W.A.M. Bleakley explains. “Everyone really believed in the idea so we were able to get an amazing team on board. We were lucky to work with cinematographer Campbell Brown who shot the clip on vintage Panavision C Series anamorphic lenses (one of the lenses in the set was used on the original Star Wars movie), Odd Studios created a custom set of LED teeth for us and we had amazing actor Jillian Nguyen in the lead role who brought the whole thing together.”

Watch the video for “Deepest Darkness” below.
 

 
“This song is about being so deeply in love with someone and realizing how important their support can be to you… that you literally go through the deepest and darkest times together, and that unity makes you so much stronger,” frontman Baden Donegal explains. “It’s from the perspective of imagining what it would feel like to go through life’s tough spots on your own, and having a huge appreciation for the support you receive.”

Ocean Alley are headed out on a North American tour. Check out the dates below.
 

Ocean Alley North American Tour Dates:

Fri Jun 10 – Capital Ballroom, Victoria, BC SOLD OUT
Sat Jun 11 – Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver, BC SOLD OUT
Sun Jun 12 – Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver, BC
Tues Jun 14 – The Hume Hotel, Nelson, BC SOLD OUT
Thu Jun 16 – Union Hall, Edmonton, AB
Fri Jun 17 – Bo’s Bar & Stage, Red Deer, AB
Sat Jun 18 – The Palace, Calgary, AB
Mon Jun 20 – Park Theatre, Winnipeg, MB
Wed Jun 22 – 7th Street Entry, Minneapolis
Thu Jun 23 – Lincoln Hall, Chicago, IL
Fri Jun 24 – The Basement East, Nashville, TN
Sat Jun 25 – Terminal West, Atlanta, GA
Tue Jun 28 – Union Stage, Washington, DC
Wed Jun 29 – Theatre of Living Arts, Philadelphia, PA
Fri Jul 1 – Music Hall of Williamsburg, New York, NY
Sat Jul 2 – Sinclair, Boston, MA
Tue Jul 5 – Corona Theatre, Montreal, QC
Thurs Jul 7- Ottawa Bluesfest, Ottawa, ON
Fri Jul 8 – FEQ, Quebec, QC
Sat Jul 9 – The Opera House, Toronto, ON

[Read More] Stream: Tash Sultana shares nuanced, guitar-driven album ‘Terra Firma’

Most Popular

NOW PLAYING