HomeMusicBasia Bulat shares cinematic video for stirring new track 'Fables (The Garden...

Basia Bulat shares cinematic video for stirring new track ‘Fables (The Garden Version)’

Montreal’s Basia Bulat has shared a stunning video for hew new track, “Fables (The Garden Version).”

The stirring new single comes from her forthcoming album, The Garden, out February 25th. With breathtaking arrangements and orchestration from Zou Zou Roubidoux, “Fables (The Garden Version)” offers up an intimate new look at the original track. The accompanying video, which Bulat directed herself, features Hi 8 Camera footage from her childhood interspersed with present day clips of herself with her daughter.

“This is one of my favourite songs I’ve ever written because, as a folk singer, I have spent my adult life devoted to singing stories,” Bulat explains. “Storytelling is how we understand who we are and where we come from – fables carry lessons from one generation to the next. But what do we do when part of the fable passed down to us is forgotten or mistaken? When we realize as adults that we may have been carrying on legacies that we didn’t intend or understand? Sometimes the stories we learned in childhood about ourselves and our homes are remnants from a past that cannot answer the questions we have in the present. We can’t change or save anyone with the stories we’ve carried with us, but they remind us to be bold enough to meet one another in the moment we have now with truth and love.”

Watch the video for “Fables (The Garden Version)” below.


More about “Fables (The Garden Version)”:

“I wrote ‘Fables’ as both an ode to childhood and to the more difficult truths of adulthood, so when I came across some lovely old footage my mother filmed during a snow day, I was inspired to sing back to that time and see what might happen if I filmed it,” Bulat adds of the video. “Millefiore Clarkes and I were lucky enough to catch the sunlight and calm the day after a huge blizzard came through on Prince Edward Island. It felt very emotional watching the footage back to back, across years and seasons, recreating what felt like a childhood fable I had forgotten about in a new era of my life.”

The Garden features string quartet versions of 16 tracks from her discography. Bulat is no stranger to string instruments, but this forthcoming collection really leans into that ethereal sound. The album is full of string arrangements from composers Owen Pallet, Paul Frith, and Zou Zou Robidoux.

In addition to “Fables (The Garden Version),” The Garden also features the previously released title track.

“This past year, I let myself slow down, dig in the dirt, take root, and look at what memories and melodies came springing back to me in the garden after many years on the road,” Basia Bulat explains. “When I wrote ‘The Garden’ [in 2016], I was in a distorted state of mind, and it took my hand and calmed me. ‘We won’t look back, and if we don’t, we won’t be lost.’ It told me to breathe into the present moment and look toward the future, and during this past year of stillness and reflection, it reminded me to do that again, like a meditation.”

Check out the tracklist for The Garden below.

The Garden Tracklist:

01 – “The Garden”
02 – “Infamous”
03 – “Heart of My Own”
04 – “The Shore”
05 – “I Was a Daughter”
06 – “Go On”
07 – “Tall Tall Shadow”
08 – “The Pilgriming Vine”
09 – “Windflowers”
10 – “Fables”
11 – “Already Forgiven”
12 – “Love is at the End of the World”
13 – “Lupins”
14 – “In the Name Of”
15 – “Are You in Love?
16 – “Good Advice”

[Read More] Stream: Basia Bulat shares new album ‘Are You In Love?’

Most Popular