Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Featuring The 1975, The Strokes, Purity Ring, and more!

Yet another solid week for new tunes!

Be grateful, since we’ve been gifted some unbelievable tracks from indie giants like The 1975, The Strokes, Alanis Morissette, Purity Ring, Sufjan Stevens, and Pearl Jam. We also have gotten some rad fresh cuts from up-and-coming artists like Ada Lea, Ellis, Beauty Queen and Nap Eyes!

Check out the best new indie tracks from this week below.

This Indie88 feature is presented with Zed80.


The 1975 – “The Birthday Party”

While gearing up for the release of Notes On A Conditional Form, which is set for release on April 24th, The 1975 have shared a somber new track called “The Birthday Party.” Opening with shimmering instrumentals, a plucked banjo, and a bright xylophone, the track has a sort of innocent feel to it, which juxtaposes its dark lyrics. Matty Healy’s easy-going vocals take the lead, as he delivers lines like, “We’re gonna go to the Pinegrove show/ You didn’t know about all the weird stuff so/ We just left.”


The Strokes – “Bad Decisions”

The Strokes have shared a video for their new track, “Bad Decisions.” The gritty new track feels like a quintessential Strokes tune, with a catchy guitar riff and driven drums as frontman Julian Casablancas’ distinctive vocals take the lead, delivering lines like, “I’m making bad decisions with you/ Pick up your gun/ Put up your gloves/ Save us from harm/ Safe or alone.”

Alanis Morissette – “Smiling”

Canadian rock legend Alanis Morissette has dropped “Smiling,” another track off her upcoming album Such Pretty Forks in the Road, out May 1st. The track stays true to Morissette’s classic sound, with unapologetically raw vocals and eerie guitar. Lyrics like “This is my first wave of my white flag/This is the sound of me hitting bottom/This my surrender, if that’s what you call it/In the anatomy of my crash,” explore Morissette’s journey dealing with life’s hardships and how she chooses to remain positive, gently singing in the chorus, “And I keep on smiling.”

Purity Ring – “stardew”

Canadian electronic pop duo Purity Ring has announced their new album WOMB, out April 3rd via 4AD Records. Along with the announcement, they’ve dropped a new track called “stardew.” Without fail, Purity Ring delivers another sweet, upbeat song teeming with happiness. The synth-infused track is elevated with twinkling bells and lyrics like, “The world turns over, and I’ll be lost in you/ Hide and the static, will push me through and through/ And I will fall from your sweet height, to prove that all I am is meant to bleed and bloom.”

Sufjan Stevens and Lowell Brams – “The Runaround”

Sufjan Stevens and his father Lowell Brams have shared a video for their new track “The Runaround.” “The Runaround” comes from Stevens and Brams’ forthcoming collaborative album Aporia, which is set for release on March 27th. “You know how it is with jamming, ninety percent of it is absolutely horrible, but if you’re just lucky enough, ten percent is magic,” Stevens explains in a statement. “I just kept pulling out these little magical moments.”

Ada Lea – “woman, here”

Montreal-based artist Ada Lea has announced a brand new EP called woman, here, out March 27th. As part of the announcement, Ada Lea has dropped a video for the title track. The clip starts with a young girl getting ready to go outside and rollerblade with her friends, later performing the song in a garage. Filled with quirky neon fashion and filmed entirely using a fisheye lens, this ’90s-inspired video is reminiscent of the simpler days of childhood.

Pearl Jam – “Superblood Wolfmoon”

Pearl Jam have dropped an energetic new track called “Superblood Wolfmoon” off their upcoming album Gigaton, out March 27th. The track follows the single “Dance of the Clairvoyants.” “Superblood Wolfmoon” was first teased last week through an AR web app experience where fans could point their phone at the moon and hear a snippet of the song.

Ellis – “Embarrassing”

Hamilton dream-pop singer Ellis has dropped video for a new track called “Embarrassing,” which marks the second single off of her upcoming album Born Again, out April 3rd. This song follows “Fall Apart.” The music video is a soft blue dreamland as Ellis sings laying down in a pile of feathers. Later, she stands in front of a deep, neon blue background as feathers fall around her, creating an atmosphere of hazy peace.

Nap Eyes – “So Tired”

Halifax quartet Nap Eyes have shared a new track called “So Tired.” “I get frustrated sometimes by what the world seems to require for success at a given task (for example, polished songwriting, coherent and understandable communication), so part of this is just me venting on this subject,” frontman Nigel Chapman explains. “Sometimes I would rather flow with free writing than try to box songs into rehearsed, many-times-repeated containers.”

Beauty Queen – “Sweet Memory”

Beauty Queen have shared a new track called “Sweet Memory,” which revolves around emotive, yet nostalgic synths and Katie Iannitello’s silky, dream pop vocals. The lyricism takes the lead, as Iannitello delivers reflective lines like, “Are you criminal or a sweet memory?/ Am I alone or are you still looking at me?”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!