HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

It may be our chilliest week yet, but it’s also been the best week for new tunes.

With fresh cuts from indie giants like Billie Eilish, Beck, MUNA, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, Modest Mouse, Grimes, and Wolf Parade, your playlists are going to be stacked. There were also plenty of rad new releases from up-and-coming artists like Jake Bugg, Andy Shauf, and more.

Check out the best new indie tunes from this week below.

This Indie88 feature is presented with Zed80.


Billie Eilish – “Everything I Wanted”

Billie Eilish has dropped a new track “Everything I Wanted,” which is a tribute to her brother and musical collaborator, Finneas. The driven, gritty track is a reflection on fame, as Eilish melancholically sings lines like, “I had a dream/ I got everything I wanted/ Not what you think/ And if I’m being honest/ It might have been a nightmare.” When speaking of her brother’s impact on her life, Eilish explains, “No matter what happens, we always have been and will be there to make it better.”

Beck – “Everlasting Nothing”

While gearing up for the release of Hyperspace, Beck has dropped a new Pharrell Williams-produced track, “Everlasting Nothing.” The rustic, slow-building tune opens with bongos and dreamy synths atop soft acoustic guitar lines before Beck’s crooning vocals take the lead. “Everlasting Nothing” is quite different than the other singles from Hyperspace, and it truly revolves around Beck’s lyricism, as he sings lines like, “Peace I know, come and go/ Like a soldier with no song/ Should I try to get back home/ To the everlasting nothing?”



MUNA – “Motivation (Normani cover)”

MUNA are the latest artists to take part in the Spotify Singles series, where they recorded a cover of Normani’s “Motivation” alongside an acoustic rendition of their own track, “Stayaway.” The indie pop trio’s rendition of “Motivation” takes the catchy pop banger and turns it into a silky, emotive tune. Revolving around a gritty guitar line, dreamy synths, and processed vocals, this dream pop track is a perfect compliment to Normani’s original hit.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – “Wandering Star”

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds have announced another new EP called Blue Moon Rising, and as part of the announcement, they’ve dropped a new track called “Wandering Star.” “It was written in Abbey Road last November on the same day I wrote Black Star Dancing,” Gallagher explained of the EP to NME. “It’s that good, it sounds like it took 5.4 people to come up with it. It’s already a live standard and we haven’t even played it yet.”

Modest Mouse – “Ice Cream Party”

While currently on tour with the Black Keys, Modest Mouse have unveiled a new track called “Ice Cream Party.” “Ice Cream Party,” which marks the band’s third new song of 2019, is quite melancholic despite its cheery title. The track revolves around gritty, slow guitar lines, ambient synths, and frontman Issac Brock’s grainy vocals as he pleads for friendship with lines like, “There’s an ice cream party in my house, please come over/ Well my father doesn’t bring the belt no more/ It’s all right, would you please come over.”

Grimes – “So Heavy I Fell Through The Earth”

Grimes has detailed her new album Miss_Anthropocene, which drops on February 21st, 2020, and released a new song called “So Heavy I Fell Through The Earth.” The darkly airy track is a six and a half minute-long is an ambient, gritty track that revolves around the line, “So heavy I fell through the earth/ Cause I’m full of love for you.” Grimes has unveiled two separate versions of the track, the full-length rendition titled the “Art Mix,” and a shorter version called “Algorithm Mix.”

Wolf Parade – “Forest Green”

Canadian indie rockers Wolf Parade have announced the release of their fifth album Thin Mind, which is set for release on January 24th via Sub Pop. As part of the announcement, they’ve dropped “Forest Green.” The gritty new indie track revolves around a driven synth line, raucous drums, and deep, crooning vocals. “Forest Green” comes packed with anxiety-ridden lyrics, with lines like, “Farewell to Forest Green/ No more oasis in the Antrhopocene/ Only flat black glass/ Under the waves and gone at, gone at last.”

Jake Bugg – “Kiss Like The Sun”

Jake Bugg has made his return with a bluesy new single called “Kiss Like The Sun.” The track, which was produced with Andrew Watt, revolves around a rowdy, driven instrumental line with a stand out slide guitar riff. Bugg’s gritty vocal lines take the lead, as he sings lyrics like, “She left a necklace on my nightstand/ You can come back but it don’t mean we’re meant to be.”

Andy Shauf – “Try Again”

While gearing up for the release of The Neon Skyline, which is set for release on January 24th, Andy Shauf has released a stop-motion video for his new single “Try Again.” “Try Again” explores the awkward moment of running into an ex at a bar. Shauf’s vocals shine atop a guitar line as he sings lines like, “Somewhere between drunkenness and charity/ She puts her hand on the sleeve of my coat/ She says ‘I’ve Missed this’/ I say ‘I know, I’ve missed you too’/ She says, ‘I was actually talking about your coat.’”

Dan Edmonds – “Beside You”

Dan Edmonds has unveiled a dreamy video for his new track, “Beside You.” “The intention of ‘Beside You’ was to examine the imbalance between love and insecurity,” Edmonds explains in a statement. “Specifically, it was written in a moment in which I was deeply invested in someone, perhaps too much for my own good. I was trying to capture a specific feeling – when you’ve built up an idea of someone, and believe it to be true. It can crush your spirit when what you’ve build falls.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular