Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Featuring a Gorillaz, London Grammar, Bon Iver, and more!

It’s time for some new tunes!

It’s been a big collaboration week, with collaborations from Gorillaz, Elton John, and 6LACK; Jónsi and Robyn; Bon Iver and Jim-E Stack; and Born Ruffians and Hannah Georgas.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Gorillaz – “The Pink Phantom (feat. Elton John, 6LACK)”

While gearing up for the release of Song Machine: Season 1 – Strange Timez, which is set for release on October 23rd, Gorillaz have shared a video for their new collaborative track with Elton John and 6LACK, “The Pink Phantom.” The new track revolves around John’s quintessential emphatic piano chords, as he belts out anthemic vocal lines. “I’ve always been a Gorillaz fan so when Damon [Albarn] ruched out and asked me to get involved it was a no-brainer,” John explains on Twitter. “The way the song turned out is just great – I can’t wait for you to hear it Rocket.”

London Grammar – “Californian Soil”

London Grammar have announced their forthcoming album Californian Soil, which is set for release on February 12th. As part of the announcement, the three-piece have shared a video for the album’s title track. The new album will mark a moment of transformation for London Grammar, as frontwoman Hannah Reid says it’s set to revolve around the misogyny she’s experienced throughout her career. Californian Soil will be “about gaining possession of my own life,” Reid explains.

Jim-E Stack – “Jeanie (feat. Bon Iver)”

After releasing their collaborative track “PDLIF” earlier this year, Jim-E Stack and Bon Iver have once again joined forces for a new single called “Jeanie.” The track, which comes off of Stack’s forthcoming album Ephemera, sees Justin Vernon’s vocals drenched in autotune, making for a summery feel. Stack’s shimmering synth-heavy production accompanies Justin Vernon’s lyrics perfectly, as he delivers lines like, “Don’t want you to feel too much.”

Jónsi – “Salt Licorice (feat. Robyn)”

Sigur Rós frontman Jónsi and Robyn have teamed up for a new track called “Salt Licorice.” “‘Salt Licorice’ is such a cute and perfect pop song,” Robyn explains in a statement. “It makes me want to dance violently and make out at the same time. It was a no-brainer to say yes to singing it with Jónsi. The pretty emails I get with a thousand emojis in them from him is a bonus that came with our collaboration as well!”

Romy Madley-Croft – “Lifetime”

The xx’s Romy Madley-Croft has released a new solo single “Lifetime.” The track, which was released under the name Romy, was written and recorded during quarantine. The track comes as the second track from her untitled solo album, as she performed “Weightless” in an Instagram Live in April. The dance-worthy track is about “being totally in the moment and celebrating it,” Madley-Croft explains.

Born Ruffians – “Waylaid (feat. Hannah Georgas)”

Toronto indie rockers Born Ruffians have shared a new track called “Waylaid,” which features Hannah Georgas. “We’ve had other people come and sing on tracks before but I haven’t ever sung a proper duet with anybody,” frontman Luke Lalonde explains. “Once we finished a demo version of ‘Waylaid,’ we knew it should be a duet because to the lyrics. Hannah was at the top of our list because she’s so great and I’ve got to sing with her a few times – it’s always so effortless and easy and I think our voices blend really well. It’s about distance in a relationship and the fear of becoming entangled with somebody else – or of that happening to you. It’s a tired of being alone song.”

Beabadoobee – “How Was Your Day”

While gearing up for the release of her debut album Fake It Flowers, Beabadoobee has shared a new lo-fi single called “How Was Your Day.” “‘How Was Your Day’ is a track that explores all the relationships I neglected when I was away from home,” Beabadoobee explains of the track. “I wanted to emphasize the rawness of the lyrics with the song sonically which is why I recorded it on a four-track with all the little mistakes and vocal wobbles included.”

Adrianne Lenker – “Dragon Eyes”

Big Thief’s Adrianne Lenker has released a stunning new solo track called “dragon eyes.” With Lenker’s distinct poeticism, “dragon eyes” comes packed with powerful wordplay, making for a dream-like theme in the soft ballad. The track comes from one of Lenker’s forthcoming quarantine-recorded albums that are set for release on October 23rd. One of the albums being released that day features songs with full vocals, while others are purely instrumental.

merci, mercy – “Something You Like”

19-year-old singer-songwriter merci, mercy has shared an animated lyric video for her new track “Something You Like.” “This song really poured out of me and was the easiest one to write on the EP,” merci, mercy explains. “The song was written from observing toxic relationships and seeing how someone can change you without you realizing. It’s my go to song to play whenever I pick up my uke.”

Number One Popstar – “Psycho”

Kate Hollowell has shared a video for her new track as Number One Poster, “Psycho.” The ’80s new wave-influenced track comes with a video directed by Hollowell herself, and the quirky clip fits the track perfectly. “Coming from a visual background of photography and directing, I basically started making music with the visuals already in mind,” Hollowell explains. “In a sense, I reverse engineer songs starting with a visual and then slowly build a song around it.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!