HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

The sun is shining, so it’s time to get outside, put on your headphones, and listen to some new tunes!

This week, we’ve been gifted the perfect soundtrack for this beautiful weather, with fresh cuts from renowned acts like Born Ruffians, Jorja Smith, Spoon, Lucy Dacus, London Grammar, IDLES, and more!

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Born Ruffians – “Husha” and “Heat Wave”

Following the release of JUICE and SQUEEZE, Toronto’s Born Ruffians have announced the final album of their trilogy, PULP, which is set for release on April 16th via the band’s own Wavy Haze Records. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared two new singles, “Heat Wave” and “Husha.” While “Husha” has been out as a bootleg on YouTube for almost ten years, it’s a catchy, soft track that revolves around Lalonde’s wails. “Heat Wave,” on the other hand, is more of a dreamy, slow-burning groove with some almost psychedelic instrumentals.

Jorja Smith – “Addicted”

UK artist Jorja Smith has made her return with an isolation-shot video for her sultry new single, “Addicted.” “Addicted,” which marks Smith’s first single of the year, comes with an atmospheric instrumental and alluring, powerful vocal lines, as Smith sings of “focusing on wanting the full attention of someone who’s not giving enough (or any) when they should be,” the Lost and Found artist explains in a statement.

Spoon – “Breakdown (Tom Petty cover)” and “A Face in the Crowd (Tom Petty cover)”

Texas rockers Spoon have shared covers of Tom Petty’s “Breakdown” and “A Face in the Crowd.” Recorded live at the Catacomb in Austin, both tracks have been shared before, but have never gotten a wide digital release. “Breakdown” was initially shared as part of a virtual tribute concert called Tom Petty’s 70th Birthday Bash, while “A Face in the Crowd” was recorded for Jack Antonoff’s Ally Coalition Talent Show” last year.

Lucy Dacus – “Thumbs”

Following the release of Historian and a whole slew of covers in 2019, Lucy Dacus has made her return with a heart-wrenching new track, “Thumbs.” “Like most songs I write, I wasn’t expecting it and it made me feel weird, almost sick,” Dacus explains of the track. “It tells the story of a day I had with a friend during our freshman year of college, a significant day, but not one that I had thought of for years. I started playing it live a month of so later during the boygenius tour after Phoebe and Julien encouraged me to. I knew I wanted a long time to get used to playing it since it made me feel shaky, so I ended sets with it for about half the shows I played in 2019. Before I played it, I would ask the audience to please not record it, a request that seems to have been respected, which I’m grateful for.”

IDLES – “Peace Signs (Sharon Van Etten cover)”

Sharon Van Etten is celebrating the 10th anniversary of her sophomore album epic with a double anniversary edition featuring the original album alongside covers of the album’s tracks from some amazing artists. Last week we got Big Red Machine’s cover of “A Crime,” and today IDLES have shared a pretty killer rework of “Peace Sign.” IDLES have taken the indie folk original and turned its unsettling undertones and amplified them to the extreme. The new rework of “Peace Sign” is drastically different, packed with perfectly punk-ridden instrumentals and some raucous vocal wails that’ll make you want to punch a ceiling.

London Grammar – “How Does It Feel”

British trio London Grammar are gearing up for the release of their new album Californian Soil on April 16th via Ministry of Sound/Columbia, and today they’ve teased the collection with a new single called “How Does It Feel.” “I’ve always loved pop music,” frontwoman Hannah Reid explains of the track. “Some of my favorite writers and singers are female, many who are younger than me but who are absolutely smashing the pop world with amazing songs. This song started off as an experiment, and ended up being one of my favourites on the record. Along with our alternative side, this creates a light and shade on our album that I’ve always wanted to achieve.”

Jenny Lewis, Serengeti – “Idiot”

Jenny Lewis has once again teamed up with Chicago rapper Serengeti for a video for their new collaborative track, “Idiot.” “These songs with Dave (Serengeti) start with a late night feeling and access to – because of where we’re at right now in the world – whatever you have in your house that makes a sound,” Lewis explains. “Or, I don’t have Pro Tools, so I use my phone, and I’ve got a little drum machine and a drum kit. Sometimes when I’m doing my vocals, Forensic Files is on in the background. That makes it onto the track because that’s just what’s happening.”

Haviah Mighty – “Good On My Own Tonight (feat. TOBi)”

Haviah Mighty has teamed up with Toronto artist TOBi for her new single, “Good On My Own Tonight.” “‘Good On My Own Tonight’ focuses on the moment of clarity when you realize that you’re better off on your own,” Mighty explains. “Whether it’s a relationship that hasn’t been working, or a friendship that has made you feel weird for a while, this song speaks to those internal thoughts around finally putting yourself first. The beat was produced by myself and Mighty Prynce, and TOBi and I had been talking about working on something for years, so we finally made it happen. We collaborated first on the Toronto Remix for his track ’24,’ which inspired working together again on this project.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular