HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

It’s been quite a stacked week for new music, indie lovers!

We’ve been gifted with some fresh cuts from huge acts like Arkells, K.Flay, Beck, Paul McCartney, Brockhampton, Danny Brown, and many more. Surely we’re in for a huge summer of new tunes!

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Arkells – “You Can Get It (feat. K.Flay)”

Arkells have made their return with a bright video for their explosive new collaborative track with K.Flay, “You Can Get It.” “You Can Get It” is an upbeat tune with full, explosive instrumentals, as frontman Max Kerman’s delivers some super catchy lyrics. With K.Flay adding in her own flare on some verses, this track is sure to be a song of the summer. The colourful accompanying clip sees the Arkells taking part in their own game of Wheel of Fortune, as Kerman and K.Flay sing and perform along to the catchy tune.

Paul McCartney, Beck – “Find My Way”

Paul McCartney is is releasing a III Imagined on April 16th, which is set to feature covers, reworked versions, and remixes of songs from his 2020 album, McCartney III. To preview the album, Beck has shared his reworked version of McCartney’s “Find My Way.” “[McCartney] just sent me that particular tune, so I just went right into it. The way I work with remixes is I’ll take the vocal and then I’ll just start from scratch,” Beck explains. “I’ll just build a whole new song. And that particular song, I actually changed it from major to minor, so I had to do a little bit of altering, but I think it served the groove a bit.”

Brockhampton – “Buzzcut (feat. Danny Brown)”

Brockhampton and Danny Brown have linked up for a new single, “Buzzcut,” and an accompanying surreal, chaotic clip. “Buzzcut” marks Brockhampton’s first official release since 2019’s Ginger, and it features background vocals from the band’s in-house producer Jabari Manwa. Brown contributes a full verse to the track, as members of the hip hop boyband each deliver their own lines. The accompanying Dan Streit and Kevin Abstract-directed video comes packed with trippy, chaotic clips of Brockhampton and Brown wrestling, puking slime, and floating through some glitchy, ’90s-style graphics.

Beabadoobee – “Last Day On Earth”

Following the release of Fake It Flowers, beabadoobee has announced her new EP, Our Extended Play, which was produced and co-written with The 1975’s Matty Healy and George Daniel. As part of the announcement, she’s shared a video for the EP’s lead single, “Last Day on Earth.” “Last Day on Earth” is a bubbly new tune that strikes a perfect balance between beabadoobee’s early 2000-style grunge and The 1975’s pop sensibilities. The accompanying Arnaud Bresson-directed video opens with beabadoobee getting ready in a mirror before it transitions into some retro, collage-style editing that’s sure to get you feeling nostalgic.

Luminous Kid – “Mountain Crystals (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)”

Phoebe Bridgers has delivered a spoken word on Olof Grind’s new track as Luminous Kid, “Mountain Crystals.” Bridgers and Grind have collaborated in the past, as Grind took the striking cover photo for Bridgers’ recent album Punisher when the pair were on a 24-hour roadtrip in the California desert. Now, the queer indie-pop musician has dropped a self-directed video for the track, as Bridgers delivers lines like, “I see your love from across an ocean of obstacles surrounding my brain/ There’s a blinking light of freedom/ Will you flip the switch? I’m going insane.”

Shamir – “DsharpG (Sharon Van Etten cover)”

Sharon Van Etten is gearing up for the release of her tenth anniversary reissue of epic called epic Ten, which is set for release on April 16th via Ba Da Bing. Today (March 25th), Van Etten has shared Shamir’s cover of “DsharpG.” “I was drawn to Shamir’s music by the immediate authenticity and originality of his voice and instrumentation choices,” Van Etten explains. “It felt simultaneously throwback and very here and now. So many genres melting into one another, I couldn’t peg it and I loved every minute of the wild ride. Not to mention that his vocal range is from another universe and his arrangements are dark and stormy. Self admittedly, I have a harder time keeping up with music today, but Shamir’s music stands out as truly original and a force to be reckoned with in his reimagining of a time where I grew up fondly, angsty and dreaming…”

Dave Monks – “Love”

Tokyo Police Club frontman Dave Monks has shared a video for his new solo quarantine single, “Love.” The new track comes with a warm instrumental line, as Monks croons uplifting, spiralling lyrics like, “There’s a bridge with a tunnel at the end/ And through that tunnel is a ladder/ Going up a wall that’s sixty four feet high.” The accompanying heartwarming video features drawings from Monks himself that come animated by Andrew Friesen. “With so many plans canceled from quarantine, I wasn’t quite sure how to move forward in connecting with people over my music but I feel like I have a good first step here,” Monks explains.

Said The Whale – “Honey Lungs”

Vancouver’s Said The Whale have made their return with a new single, “Honey Lungs.” “Honey Lungs” marks the band’s first self-released single, marking new material that the band has worked on throughout the pandemic with producer Steve Bays. The anthemic track is a sugary pop tune with rock sensibilities, as it lyrically addresses today’s political climate and the importance of empathy. “It’s about using kindness as a way to approach difficult subjects,” Said The Whale’s Tyler Bancroft explains. “As we’re fighting for change, let’s come from a place of trying to understand our fellow human being.”

Bachelor – “Stay In The Car”

Last month, Jay Som’s Melina Duterte and Palehound’s Ellen Kempner shared their first song as Bachelor, and now they’ve announced their debut album, Doomin’ Sun, which is set for release on May 28th via Polyvinyl. To preview the collection, Bachelor have shared a video for their new track “Stay in the Car.” “Stay in the Car” is a gritty new tune that revolves around catchy guitar lines and some stunning, perfectly off-tune harmonies before it explodes into a grungy chorus. The accompanying video, which is directed and edited by Haoyan of America, is a fun-loving compilation of Duterte and Kempner in a car beneath trippy effects.

Justin Rutledge – “Good Man”

Justin Rutledge’s new album Islands came out today, which features standout track, “Good Man.” “This is how I initially wrote ‘Good Man,'” Rutledge explains. “Chris Stringer, who helped me produce ‘Passages,’ forced me to speed it up and give it some drive. Initially, I was hesitant, but the album needed a track with a little more energy, and I’m glad I listened to him because I think it turned out well. Sometimes I get stuck in ‘slow mode’ because that’s what/how I write – it’s just what comes naturally, and I have to force myself to get out of that pattern at times.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular