Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Featuring St. Vincent, Sufjan Stevens, Tame Impala, and more!

Get ready to stack up your new music playlists with some new tunes!

This week, we’ve gotten some amazing new tunes from huge acts like St. Vincent, Sufjan Stevens, Japanese Breakfast, The Lumineers’ Jeremiah Fraites and a Tame Impala remix of a Crowded House track.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

St. Vincent – “The Melting Of The Sun”

While readying her new album Daddy’s Home, which drops on May 14th via Loma Vista, St. Vincent has shared an animated video for her new track, “The Melting Of The Sun.” “The Melting Of The Sun,” which follows last month’s “Pay Your Way In Pain,” is a psychedelic new tune with wavering, dreamy guitar lines and Annie Clark’s quintessential powerful vocal lines. The retro new clip, which is co-directed by St. Vincent and Bill Benz, comes packed with colourful, trippy animations of St. Vincent singing along to the track with her head superimposed in the middle of a melting sun, alongside clips that reflect the lyrics.

Sufjan Stevens – “Meditation V”

Sufjan Stevens has announced a new five-volume project called Convocations, which is set for release on May 6th via Asthmatic Kitty. The forthcoming two-and-a-half-hour, 49-track collection is made up of Meditations, Lamentations, Revelations, Celebrations, and Incantations. Stevens has previewed the collection with a new track called “Meditation V.” “Mediations” comes packed with a dynamic instrumental lives, that weaves in and out of a sort of melancholic grown and a growing sense of intimacy.

Crowded House – “To The Island (Tame Impala remix)”

Tame Impala have shared a remix of Crowded House’s “To the Island.” Before last year, Crowded House hadn’t released any music in a whopping ten years, but early last year, they returned with “Whatever You Want.” A couple of months ago, Crowded House announced their new album Dreamers Are Waiting alongside the release of a video for “To The Island.” Now, fellow Australian rockers Tame Impala have reworked the tune. Frontman Kevin Parker turns the track into a warped, droning tune, turning the rock track into a synth-driven dance anthem.

Japanese Breakfast – “Posing In Bondage”

While gearing up for the release of their third album, Jubilee, on June 4th, Japanese Breakfast have shared an eerie video for their new track, “Posing In Bondage.” “‘Posing In Bondage’ is a ballad about loneliness and longing, a song about two people who want so badly to connect but are never quite able to do so,” Zauner explains of the track. “No place felt lonelier than an empty grocery store at 1AM. The video is actually an epilogue to the one that will accompany our next single, here presented out of order.”

Jeremiah Fraites – “Heart-Shaped Box (Nirvana cover)”

April 5th marked the 27th anniversary of Kurt Cobain’s death, and to honour him, The Lumineers’ Jeremiah Fraites has shared a cover of Nirvana’s “Heart-Shaped Box.” “Out of all Nirvana’s songs, ‘Heart-Shaped Box’ is my favorite,” Fraites explains. “I remember listening to this song in the car while riding to middle school with my Mom. I think it has one of the strongest melodies ever written. I did my best to honor this song, especially on this day of remembrance as it marks the anniversary of his death. Rest In Peace Kurt.”

Overcoats – “The Hardest Part (feat. Tennis)”

Brooklyn alt-pop duo Overcoats have announced a forthcoming EP called Used To Be Scared Of The Dark, and they’ve previewed the collection with a video for their new collaboration with Tennis, “The Hardest Part.” “This song is about coming to terms with a relationship being over,” Overcoats explain of the new track. “And the hard reality that you may never know where that person ends up or what they do. It’s about letting go. We brought this song to Tennis because it needed their nostalgic retro pop sound to help tell this story. And it needed to be cooler. Alaina’s sultry vocals tickle the ears throughout the track and the signature Tennis guitar sounds soothe along the lyrically heavy journey.”

Lou Barlow – “Over You”

Dinosaur Jr and Sebadoh’s Lou Barlow has announced his forthcoming solo album Reason to Live, which is set for release on May 28th via Joyful Noise. As part of the announcement, he’s shared a video for the new single, “Over You.” “‘Over You’ is based on one melody and lyric fragment I captured on cassette back in 1982 or so,” Barlow explains. “In 2019, I decided to resurrect and expand this nugget for my ‘Artist Enabler series’ for Joyful Noise. I used some of the original lyrics: ‘I knew everything about you. I knew nothing about you’ and built on that feeling, the phrase ‘over you’ became the chorus. I recorded the basic tracks for the new version onto cassette in an attempt to mimic the atmosphere of the original.”

Kandle – “Misty Morning”

While gearing up to release Set The Fire this summer, Kandle Osborne has shared a stunning video for her new track, “Misty Morning.” The vulnerable new tune sees Kandle openly reflecting on finding love with captivating vocals and a sparse, yet powerful piano line. The accompanying Brandon William Fletcher-directed video is inspired by 40s noir, with intimate black-and-white shots of Kandle singing along to “Misty Morning.”

PACKS – “New TV”

Toronto slack rockers PACKS are readying their debut album, Take The Cake, which is set for release on May 21st via Fire Talk and Royal Mountain, and today they’ve shared a video for their new track, “New TV.” The gritty new tune comes packed with droning guitars and a driven drum beat, as frontwoman Madeline Link delivers a captivating drawl. The accompanying video follows Link watching herself on TV, taking over billboards, bus stops, and signs around the world as she performs along to the tune.

Century Egg – “Do You Want To Dance?”

Halifax basement pop outfit Century Egg is gearing up for the release of their debut EP, Little Piece of Hair, which is set for release on May 7th, 2021, and today they’ve shared their new single, “Do You Want To Dance?” The fizzing new tune comes packed with wailing guitars and celebratory instrumentals, as vocalist Shane Keyu Song delivers some amazing vocal lines.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!