HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

The warm weather is here, and so are some amazing new tunes!

Get ready for some fresh cuts from renowned acts like Sharon Van Etten, Angel Olsen, Green Day, Florence + The Machine, Lucy Dacus, Faye Webster, Japanese Breakfast, and more.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Sharon Van Etten, Angel Olsen – “Like I Used To”

After teasing the collaboration earlier this week, Sharon Van Etten and Angel Olsen have shared a video for their new track, “Like I Used To.” The new track sees Van Etten and Olsen trading lines before they offer up some powerful, consuming harmonies, as the rousing instrumentals build in the background. The accompanying Kimberly Stuckwisch-directed video sees the artists singing along to “Like I Used To” around some picturesque scenery. Olsen and Van Etten have admired each other’s music from afar, but have never collaborated before this tune.

Green Day – “Pollyanna”

Green Day have announced their rescheduled Hella Mega Tour with Fall Out Boy and Weezer, and as part of the announcement, they’ve dropped a surprise track called “Pollyanna.” The inspirational new song comes packed with driven riffs and uplifting lyrics, as frontman Billie Joe Armstrong sings lines like, “Don’t let ’em get you down/ Don’t let ’em push you ’round/ We’re gonna take back the night/ Everything’s gonna be alright.”

Florence + The Machine – “Call Me Cruella”

Florence + The Machine have shared “Call Me Cruella,” which they contributed to the soundtrack for Cruella. Frontwoman Florence Welch worked on the song with Nicholas Britell, who composed the score for the movie. The forthcoming film, which stars Emma Stone, is set to serve as an origin story for the famous Disney villain, so the dark, powerful energy of the track seems to fit the flick perfectly.

Lucy Dacus – “VBS”

Lucy Dacus is readying her forthcoming album, Home Video, which is set for release on June 25th via Matador, and today she’s shared an animated video for her new track, “VBS.” The song opens like a memoir before exploding into a sort of stream-of-consciousness autobiography atop reverb-heavy instrumentals, as Dacus chronicles experiences of her past with vulnerability and humour. The accompanying animated video, which was created by director Marin Leong, comes packed with stunning pink shots of Dacus in a picturesque pond.

Faye Webster – “I Know I’m Funny haha”

Atlanta’s Faye Webster is set to release her new album, I Know I’m Funny haha, on June 25th via Secretly Canadian, and today she’s shared a video for the album’s title track. The country-tinged tune, which follows the recently released “Cheers,” comes packed with Webster’s signature dreamy instrumental lines as she delivers some captivating vocal lines. The accompanying video comes packed with home footage of Webster and the people close to her going about their lives.

Japanese Breakfast – “Savage Good Boy”

Japanese Breakfast is set to release her new album, Jubilee, on June 4th via Dead Oceans, and today she’s shared a video for the album’s third single, “Savage Good Boy.” The new track is a bubbly interrogration of a certain kind of evil, as frontwoman Michelle Zauner delivers silky vocals atop almost eerily perky instrumentals. The self-directed video sees Zauner co-starring with Michael Imperioli of The Sopranos, as they play a pretty extravagant, high stakes game of poker.

Charlotte Day Wilson – “If I Could”

Toronto’s Charlotte Day Wilson has officially announced her debut full-length album, Alpha, which is set for release on July 9th via Stone Woman Music. As part of the announcement she’s shared a video for her new track called “If I Could.” “If I Could” is a powerful ballad that has minimal instrumental line that allows Wilson’s stunning vocals to truly shine as the track builds. Wilson offers up some vulnerable lyrics, delivering lines like, “Oh oh I bathed you/ Washed you off the seas that break you/ Rid you off the burden and you’d be free.”

Hannah Georgas – “Dreams (Bartees Strange remix)”

Hannah Georgas has announced a new five-track EP called All That Emotion Versions, which is set for release on June 18th via Arts & Crafts/Brassland. As a preview of the collection, she’s shared a Bartees Strange remix of “Dreams.” The forthcoming EP will see Georgas revisiting select tracks from her 2020 album, All That Emotion, including her recent duet version of “Pray It Away” with Matt Berninger. Additionally, All That Emotion Versions will feature contributions from Holy Fuck’s Graham Walsh, Kit’s Kate Stables, and Owen Pallett, alongside today’s release from Bartees Strange.

Art d’Ecco – “That’s Entertainment (The Jam cover”

Following the release of his new album, In Standard Definition, last month, Art d’Ecco has returned with a cover of the Jam’s “That’s Entertainment.” “‘That’s Entertainment’ by The Jam is one of my favourite songs of all time,” d’Ecco explains. “My latest record is an album all about entertainment, so I felt compelled to add this classic Paul Weller track to the d’Ecco catalogue. It forms the perfect sonic prologue to my record, written by a master lyricist and poet.”

TEMPOREX – “Bad Pin”

San Diego’s TEMPOREX has shared a new single called “Bad Pin,” which was influenced by Prince’s 1988 album, Lovesexy, and the window in the visualizer is modelled after Mr. Window from Pee-Wee’s Playhouse. “My Mom introduced me to the show when I was young and we would watch it together all the time,” TEMPOREX explains. “Pee-Wee (Paul Rubens) opened up a window to an entire world that you can escape without ever really showing the outside of the playhouse itself. The wonky, googily style of the show has always spoken to me in a deep way.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular