HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Wow, what a week for new music.

This week, we’ve been graced with the return of Lorde and Clairo, who both featured on each other’s tracks, in addition to fresh cuts from huge acts like Charlotte Day Wilson, Lucy Dacus, and a collaboration between K.Flay and Blink-182’s Travis Barker.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Lorde – “Solar Power”

Lorde has risen!!! The New Zealand pop artist has returned with her highly anticipated new single, “Solar Power.” This new tune is sure to be the song of the summer, as Lorde sings lines like, “Make the boys and girls onto the beaches/ Come one, come all, tell you my secrets/ I’m kinda like a prettier Jesus.” The track slowly builds into an explosive choral moment that sees Lorde crooning over a warm acoustic guitar line. Co-written and produced by Jack Antonoff, “Solar Power” sees fellow indie pop giants Phoebe Bridgers and Clairo offering up some silky smooth background vocals, as Matt Chamberlin plays the drums.

Clairo – “Blouse”

Fresh off the release of her new collaboration with Lorde, Clairo has returned with her own new single, “Blouse,” which also features Lorde on backing vocals. Alongside the release, Clairo has announced her sophomore album, Sling, which is out on July 16th via FADER Label/Republic Records. The follow-up to 2019’s Immunity was recorded with Jack Antonoff. “Blouse” is a stunning ballad that sees Clairo playing off of Lorde’s background vocals, with a simple guitar line that allows the lyrics to truly shine, with lines like, “Why do I tell you how I feel/ When you’re just looking down my blouse/ It’s something I wouldn’t say out loud/ If touch could make them hear, then touch me now.”

K.Flay – “Dating My Dad (feat. Travis Barker)”

K.Flay is released her new EP, Inside Voices, today, and earlier this week, she teamed up with Blink-182’s Travis Barker for her new track, “Dating My Dad.” “This is basically 6 months of therapy condensed into a single song,” K.Flay explains of the track. “You spend so much of your life thinking that you’re the exception, but at the end of the day, you’re just like everyone else – becoming a version of your parents or falling in love with one. Or both. I wanted this song to feel playful though, because I was honestly laughing while I wrote the chorus lyric: ‘mom and dad we love em, either fuck em or become me.’”

Lucy Dacus – “Brando”

Lucy Dacus is gearing up to release her new album, Home Video, on June 25th via Matador, and today she’s shared her latest single, “Brando.” The earworm of a track comes packed with slowly building, explosive melodies as Dacus’ silky vocals take the lead. Lyrically, Dacus uses a slew of Old Hollywood references to sing of her experiences with a temperamental relationship, delivering lines like, “I’m in a second story window / And you’re yelling at me ‘Stella!’/ And I’m laughing cause you think you’re Brando but you’ll never come close.”

Perfume Genius, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – “A Fullness of Light In Your Soul”

Perfume Genius and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble have teamed up for a cover of Richard Youngs’ “A Fullness of Light in Your Soul,” alongside a video for the track. “I recorded this cover while deep in quarantine,” Perfume Genius explains. “Working on it brought a really welcome energy, I went fully into songworld and put reality on hold for a moment. It’s a big song too, so I got to stay there for a while. Both the original and the arrangement by the Hypnotic Brass Ensemble have a truly hypnotic and almost mystical quality, while singing it I tried to stay hyper-present and thought of it like we were all casting one long spell.”

MARINA – “Venus Fly Trap”

MARINA is releasing her new album, Ancient Dreams in a Modern Land tomorrow (June 11th), and today she’s shared a video for her new single, “Venus Fly Trap.” The funk-driven pop anthem comes packed with bubbly, yet throaty vocals that perfectly contrast the darker content of the lyrics, as MARINA delivers lines like, “Whatever you give life you will get back/ Why be a wallflower when you can be a Venus fly trap?”

Lightman Jarvis Ecstatic Band – “Nymphea”

Yves Jarvis and Romy Lightman are readying their collaborative debut album as Lightman Jarvis Ecstatic Band, Banned, which is out on June 25th via Flemish Eye. To preview the collection, they’ve shared a video for their new track, “Nymphea.” The new track “was written beside jagged water lilies suspended over emerald swamp rhizomes; tiny mystics domes foaming intricate hiss lake hiccup spit floating amorphous euphoric masses of wild hearts secreting white orifices arched and thrusted towards the light and spread out like across the lake,” Jarvis and Lightman explain of the nature surrounding the place that the song was inspired by. “[The song is] an ode to erotic wonder; wandering the elastic nomadic plains where home is a far off floating flower and tethered by an encoded longing an ecstatic refrain.”

Charlotte Day Wilson – “Keep Moving”

Charlotte Day Wilson has announced her debut album, Alpha, which is set for release on July 9th via Stone Woman Music. As part of the announcement, she’s shared a new single called “Keep Moving.” The new track marks the second single off of her forthcoming album, following the release of “If I Could.” The slow-building track opens with sparse instrumentals, as Wilson’s powerhouse vocals truly shine before exploding into ambient melodies and a dance-worthy groove.

Luna Luna – “One Thing (feat. The Undercover Dream Lovers)”

Luna Luna have recruited The Undercover Dream Lovers for their new track, “One Thing.” The breezy, infectious track comes packed with captivating synths and ornate strings. The track revolves around a catchy hook, with lines like, “You know you got that one thing, one thing.” The accompanying video sees the band in front of a red photo set in the middle of nature, making for a fun-loving, summery performance video.

BROS – “Never Gonna Stop”

The Sheepdogs’ Ewan and Shamus Currie have announced their sophomore full-length album as BROS, LP Vol. 2, which is set for release on July 16th via Dine Alone Records. To preview the collection, they’ve shared a video for their new track, “Never Gonna Stop,” which is a hook-laden ’70s groove that’s sure to get you dancing. The accompanying Justin Broadbent and Josh Raskin-directed video captures the Curries making their way around Toronto on a retro video camera.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular