HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Happy Friday!

Get ready to reflect on some of the best new tunes of the week, with fresh cuts from huge indie acts like Modest Mouse, The Killers, Soccer Mommy, IDLES, and many more!

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Modest Mouse – “The Sun Hasn’t Left”

Indie rockers Modest Mouse are set to return with their first new album in six years, The Golden Casket, on June 25th via Epic. Today, they’ve previewed the album with the release of “The Sun Hasn’t Left.” The new track, which follows previously released racks “We Are Between” and “Leave A Light On,” is more of an uplifting, bouncy anthem, which is quite a different sound for Modest Mouse. “The Sun Hasn’t Left” revolves around layers of keys and what sounds like a xylophone, as frontman Isaac Brock delivers toned-down vocals with some serious restraint.

The Killers – “Dustland (feat. Bruce Springsteen)”

The Killers have teamed up with Bruce Springsteen on their new single “Dustland.” This collaboration with the Boss is an update of the Killers’ emotional 2008 Day & Age track, “A Dustland Fairytale.” The track is reportedly one of Springsteen’s favourite tracks by the Killers, and frontman Brendan Flowers explains that he wrote it in the middle of his mom’s battle with cancer. “It was an attempt to better understand my dad, who is sometimes a mystery to me,” Flowers writes on social media. “To acknowledge their sacrifices and maybe even catch a glimpse of just how strong love needs to be to make it in this world. It was my therapy. It was cathartic.”

Soccer Mommy – “Kissing In The Rain”

Soccer Mommy has shared a new track called “Kissing In The Rain” for the new Dark Nights: Death Metal soundtrack. The new track revolves around Soccer Mommy’s quintessential gloomy, melancholic vocal lines atop gritty guitars and driven drums. Soccer Mommy’s lyricism truly shine on this track, as she delivers lines like, “I’ll be like everybody else is/ I can play it safe/ Save the kissing in the rain/ If it means I’m all you ever wanted to find.”

IDLES – “Sodium”

IDLES have shared a new single called “Sodium,” which is also for the Dark Nights: Death Metal soundtrack. “Sodium” is a dark, brooding track that is less rowdy than most of IDLES’ other releases. With a downtempo, dissonant instrumental line, frontman Joe Talbot practices some powerful restraint with his vocals, making for an eerie sense of withholding before he explodes with some serious wails on the chorus.

Hubert Lenoir – “Secret”

Polaris-nominated Quebecois musician Hubert Lenoir has announced his new album, Musique directe, which is set for release later this year via Worse/Terrible Records and Simone Records. As part of the announcement, he’s shared a video for his new track, “Secret,” which features drums from Mac DeMarco and contributions from Kirin J Callinan. “Secret” is a dreamy new track that revolves around a perfectly woozy instrumental, as Lenoir’s smooth, retro vocals take the lead. The accompanying video sees Lenoir trying to woo a popular boy in his high school by dancing to music in his backyard with a boombox, all while dressed as a skunk.

Yves Tumor – “Jackie”

Yves Tumor has returned with a colourful video for their new track, “Jackie.” Co-written and produced with Chris Greatti, “Jackie” is a rock-driven anthem, with gritty instrumentals that allow Tumor’s throaty, smooth vocals take the lead. The accompanying video, which was directed by Los Angeles creative studio Actual Objects, comes packed with hazy, neon-tinged effects that see Tumor in a futuristic landscape, performing along to the tune.

Goodbye Honolulu – “Over and Over”

Toronto’s Goodbye Honolulu have shared details of their highly-anticipated self-titled debut album, which is set for release on October 1st via Stray Dog Records. As part of the announcement, they shared a video for their new single, “Over and Over.” “Over and Over” is about “the daily repetitiveness of a monogamous relationship and the ever growing numbness to things that once made one jealous,” Goodbye Honolulu’s Fox Martindale explains. The new track has a ’70s disco feel to it, with wailing guitars and low, crooning vocals.

Valley – “Society”

On Wednesday (June 9), Toronto’s own vivacious pop-group Valley released their new single “SOCIETY.” The bubbly and upbeat track is heavily contrasted by its cynical lyrics. Valley expresses feelings of discontent, fears of selling-out, and the pressure of the music industry as a whole. Despite the negative undertone, it’s difficult not to bop around to what sounds extremely optimistic and energetic.

Slothrust – “Once More For The Ocean”

Slothrust are making their return with their fifth album, Parallel Timeline, which is out on September 10th via Dangerbird Records. This week, they shared a video for their new track, “Once More for the Ocean.” “I have a unique relationship with this song because it felt like it came through me more than from me, though I recognize that really there is no difference,” frontwoman Leah Wellbaum explains. “It is not the easiest song to sing or explain. At times I even wondered if it might be suited for a different artist. However after sitting with it for a while I have come to the conclusion that this song was meant for me and it is about the search for a greater consciousness in times of chaos. For me that feeling of oneness often shows up when I am spending time in nature.”

Skott – “Wolf”

Swedish artist Skott has shared a five-track collection of stripped back reimaginations of songs that have defined her career thus far called Chapter I (Acoustic). Standout single “Wolf” sees Skott’s smooth, sweet vocal lines take the lead, as she delivers lines like, “What is eternal about love if there’s a way to turn it off?” “I still can’t believe this song’s journey,” Skott explains of the track. “I wrote it about the lonely sound of heartbreak, and then all of a sudden Katy Perry’s tweeting me about it. I wanted to make a stripped down version where the lyrics have even more room to do their thing, in a calmer landscape than the more orchestral-ish original.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular