HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

It’s time for Best New Indie!

We’ve gotten some amazing fresh cuts from huge acts like Lorde, James Blake, Angel Olsen, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, and many more.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Lorde – “Mood Ring”

Lorde is back with “Mood Ring,” the latest single from her forthcoming album, Solar Power, out this Friday, August 20th. “Mood Ring” sees Lorde truly diving into a dreamy sound while commenting on pseudo-spirituality and pseudo-wellness. The epic new video shows Lorde as you’ve never seen her. Donning a blond wig, Lorde grapples with her spirituality and nature with a group of friends in this clip.

James Blake – “Life Is Not The Same”

James Blake is back with a brand new single called “Life Is Not The Same.” The new tune serves as the follow-up to “Say What You Will.” Both of which will appear on his forthcoming album, Friends That Break Your Heart, out on September 10th via Republic. “Life Is Not The Same” sees Blake leaning into his quintessential hip hop-influenced production. On the new single, Blake teamed up with production duo Take A Daytrip, who has worked with Sheck Wes, Lil Nas X, and more. They’ve given Blake’s sound a poppy twist, while staying true to his melancholic vocals and haunting piano lines.

Angel Olsen – “Eyes Without a Face”

Angel Olsen has shared a cover of Billy Idol’s “Eyes Without a Face.” Olsen truly reinvents the 1984 Rebel Yell power ballad. Ultimately, she maintains its shimmering ’80s synth-pop sound, while giving it a haunting twist vocally. The indie rocker truly makes the track her own, as she delivers famous lines like, “Now it makes me sad/ It makes me mad at truth/ For loving what was you/ Eyes without a face.”

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – “Vortex”

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds have announced B-Sides & Rarities Part II with their new previously unreleased track “Vortex.” Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds have previewed the collection with the previously unreleased “Vortex.” The track was originally recorded by Cave, Warren Ellis, Martyn Casey, and Jim Sclavunos in 2006. “As the band were never able to define the song as either Grinderman or Bad Seeds, it remained unreleased,” a press release explains.

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats – “Survivor”

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats are returning with their third studio album The Future that is set to release on November 5 via Stax Records. Sharing a little preview of what’s to come, the group released a brand new single. “Survivor” is a vivacious rock anthem that asks the important questions: “I’m afraid that the weight of the world is catching up to you / I’m afraid to admit that it’s catching up to me too / Does the weight continue to grow until it finally buries you?”

Parquet Courts – “Walking at a Downtown Pace”

Parquet Courts have returned to announce their new album, Sympathy For Life, out October 22nd via Rough Trade Records. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared a video for their new single “Walking at a Downtown Pace.” “Walking at a Downtown Pace” is a gritty new track with upbeat, guitar-driven instrumentals. It also boasts some throaty, new wave-style vocals that are sure to get you dancing. The accompanying video, directed by street photographer Daniel Arnold, follows the band through the streets of New York City. It captures a perfect balance of fun and chaos.

Shad – “Body (No Reason)”

Toronto rapper Shad is back with a video for his new single “Body (No Reason).” The track comes from his forthcoming album, TAO, out October 1st via Secret City Records. “Body (No Reason)” is all about movement and feeling. Throughout the single, Shad focuses on what it feels like to just be in your body and move through the world. The accompanying Justin Broadbent-directed video is a lo-fi clip that perfectly ties to the other visuals for the album.

Dave Monks – “Don’t Get Pushed Around (feat. Shad)”

Tokyo Police Club’s Dave Monks has shared a summery new collaboration with beloved Canadian rapper Shad, “Don’t Get Pushed Around.” The new single comes from Monks’ forthcoming sophomore solo album, I’ve Always Wanted To Be Me, out October 15th via Ghost Pepper Records. With dreamy synths, Monks repeats the line “don’t get pushed around” atop a slowly building, summery instrumental. Shad adds a new dimension to the track, with uplifting lyrics.

Ellevator – “Easy”

Hamilton, Ontario trio Ellevator are back with a video for their new single “Easy” via Arts & Crafts. The new tune is a precursor to their debut album, out in early 2022. Former Death Cab For Cutie member Chris Walla produced “Easy.” On the track, Ellevator leans into the sounds of late-aughts guitar music, and nods to indie acts like Spoon and Feist. The emotive, hook-driven indie rock anthem is all about frontwoman Nabi Sue Bersche’s time in a cult. The accompanying Cam Veitch-directed video was shot entirely in their hometown.

Ducks Ltd. – “How Lonely Are You?”

Toronto duo Ducks Ltd. (fka Ducks Unlimited) have shared a video for their new single “How Lonely Are You?,” which features harmonies from The Beths. The track comes from their forthcoming debut album, Modern Fiction, out October 1st via Royal Mountain Records / Carpark Records. “This song is about personal connection in an environment that is hostile to it, and about friendships with people who are physically distant,” the band’s Tom McGreevy explains. “Me and Evan have both moved around a lot, and have friends in far-off places we don’t see as often as we’d like. In fact, we partly made this record while Evan was living in Australia and I was in Toronto. Some of those friendships are extremely important to me, and this song is kind of about grasping for those lifelines when it’s particularly difficult to believe that things are going to work out, or if there’s even any point in trying.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular