HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

It’s time for Best New Indie!

We’ve gotten some amazing fresh cuts from huge acts like Spoon, Japanese Breakfast, Snail Mail, Chastity and more.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Spoon – “The Hardest Cut”

Spoon have officially announced their tenth studio album, Lucifer On The Sofa, out February 11th, 2022 via Matador. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared a video for their new single, “The Hardest Cut.” Today’s release marks the first of ten songs for the album, all of which were recorded in their hometown Austin. “The Hardest Cut” is a scorching single boasting detuned guitars and gritty vocals. It was the first song written by Spoon frontman Britt Daniel. It was co-written with Alex Fischell. The accompanying video stars Spoon, as they tear through a performance at a peculiar house party.

Japanese Breakfast – “Say It Ain’t So (Weezer cover)”

Japanese Breakfast has shared a cover of Weezer’s “Say It Ain’t So.” The cover comes as part of Spotify and Electric Lady Studios’ series of live EPs, Live at Electric Lady. On the EP, Quartet 121 accompanied Japanese Breakfast. In addition to the cover, the EP boasts live renditions of tracks like “Be Sweet,” “Savage Good Boy,” and “Kokomo, IN.”
“I played a very sloppy basement cover of ‘Say It Ain’t So’ once with my band in college, so it was fun to revisit it from the opposite angle, stripped down with a string quartet,” Japanese Breakfast explains. “Craig Hendrix did the arrangement and Quartet 121 performed the hell out of it.”

Snail Mail – “Madonna”

Lindsey Jordan has shared her new single as Snail Mail “Madonna” alongside a live performance video. The track comes from Jordan’s forthcoming album, Valentine, out November 5th via Matador. On “Madonna,” Snail Mail sings of the difference between idealizing someone and loving them. The accompanying video sees Snail Mail performing from the Armour-Stiner Octagon House in New York. The clip sees Jordan and her backing band playing along to the slow burning tune.

Chastity – “Somersault”

Whitby, Ontario’s Brandon Williams has shared a video for his new single as Chastity, “Somersault.” The track comes from his forthcoming album, Suffer Summer, out January 13th via Deathwish Inc. “Somersault” is a breezy single with guitar-driven instrumentals and dreamy vocals. The accompanying video comes packed with clips of a group of people jumping on a trampoline in slow motion. In the second half of the video, they all start destroying a cop car.

The War on Drugs – “Change”

The War on Drugs have shared their new single, “Change.” The six-minute single was the final preview of their new album, I Don’t Live Here Anymore. The track is all about how difficult it can be to move forward and make changes. Throughout the track, frontman Adam Granduciel sings lines like, “There are so many ways/ Our love could make it through/ But it’s so damn hard to make the change.”

Mint Simon – “Tongue Tied”

Caveboy frontperson Mint Simon has shared a video for their new single, “Tongue Tied.” The dark, edgy new song comes packed with a heavy bass line and distorted instrumentals. The dance-worthy tune revolves around captivatingly chaotic layers of groovy sounds. Mint Simon’s silky vocals truly draw you in on this single, building the tension before the explosive chorus. The accompanying video is full of clips of animals beneath distorted, gritty effects. It captures the dark, slowly burning energy of the single perfectly.

Dear Rouge – “Life Goes By And I Can’t Keep Up”

Alt-rock duo Dear Rouge are back with a video for their new single, “Life Goes By And I Can’t Keep Up.” The emotive new track is delicate and raw. On “Life Goes By And I Cant Keep up,” the pair share lead vocals, delivering lines with clarity. The accompanying Lindsey Blane-directed video follows Danielle and Drew McTaggart walking through the streets of Vancouver. The clip is powerful in its simplicity, as it captures the poignant ways that life continues to move on without you.

Hot Flash Heat – “m o t i o n s”

San Francisco indie pop trio Hot Flash Heat Wave have shared a new video for “m o t i o n s.” “m o t i o n s” is a dreamy tune that channels the psychedelic sounds of electro-pop acts like Tame Impala. With hazy synths and silky vocals, the track feels like it’s made to soundtrack a drive in the sun. It also boasts a pretty catchy hook that’s sure to make you dance. The accompanying video comes packed with shots of Hot Flash Heat Wave driving through a city. It also comes interspersed with colourful clips of the band dancing beneath colourful lights, running on the beach, and performing in a desert.

The Mellons – “So Much To Say”

The Mellons have shared a video for their debut single, “So Much to Say.” Alongside the track, the band have announced their debut album, Introducing… The Mellons!, out April 27th, 2022 via Earth Libraries. “‘So Much to Say’ is a collection of feelings from childhood on up. Like everyone, I always long for deeper connections and richer relationships. ‘So Much to Say,’ is about how hard it is to do that, even when you’re giving it everything you’ve got,” The Mellons’ Rob Jepson explains. “Especially following the pandemic, I want it to remind people to be open to each other. This song is my way of saying, ‘I’m a person. You’re a person. Life is short and I want to be close to you.’”

Softcult – “BWBB”

Kitchener alt-indie-rock duo Softcult have shared a grungy new tune, “BWBB.” Made up of twin sisters Mercedes and Phoenix Arn-Horn, the pair are looking to create a new Riot Grrrl movement for the digital age. “BWBB” serves as the third single from their upcoming EP, Year of the Snake. The new single revolves around a raucous, distorted guitar line and gritty vocal lines that are sure to get you thrashing around.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

[Read More] Your First Listen: 13 songs you need to discover this week
Your First Listen: 15 songs you need to discover this week

Most Popular