HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

There have been so many new hits this week, it’s almost hard to keep track.

With fresh cuts from major indie artists like Weezer, Hollerado, Tom Petty, Foals, Car Seat Headrest, Stephen Malkmus, and more, it’s going to be tough for you to run out of new music to listen to this week. There have also been plenty of rad tracks from up and coming musicians like Jane’s Party and Nilüfer Yanya.

Check out the best new indie tracks from this week below.

Hollerado – “One Last Time”

Hollerado has just announced that they’ll be releasing their final album as a band this year, and as part of the announcement they’ve released a video for their new track “One Last Time.” “It was 12 years ago yesterday that we played our first ever show at our friends bar in Montreal for $40 and a whole bunch of weed,” the band wrote on Facebook. “Since then we’ve had the best time, all the time, and now it’s time to move on to other things.”

Weezer – “High As A Kite” and “Living In L.A.”

Weezer have just dropped “Living in L.A.” and “High As A Kite,” which comes accompanied with a spoof music video. “Living in L.A.” is a gritty track that revolves around electronically modified vocals and a bouncy acoustic guitar line.

“High As A Kite,” on the other hand, is a more low key track that’ll make you want to sway, and the accompanying video is a spoof of Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood, which fits the track perfectly and ends with the band destroying the set.

Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers – “For Real”

You can never have enough Tom Petty and next month, you will get the best of the best. Releasing on March 1, The Greatest of Everything compilation of 4xLP, that you can get in either CD or vinyl, includes Tom Petty and Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers greatest hits in the 40 years of musical magic. One of the songs that people can’t wait for was the unreleased track “For Real” that is included on the compilation, but wait no longer!

Foals – “On The Luna”

Following the release of “Exits” last month, Foals have released “On The Luna,” their second track from their forthcoming album Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 1. The upbeat, bouncy tune has a keyboard line that rivals synths from the 80s, with wide ranging vocal lines and a powerhouse guitar line. The video looks like it was recorded on both film and an old handheld video camera, and it follows the band behind the scenes as they prep for performances and play a variety of gigs.

Car Seat Headrest – “Can’t Cool Me Down”

Last year, Car Seat Headrest re-recorded 2011’s Twin Fantasy, and now it appears that they’re working on new music again. On Friday, the band performed at the Mass MoCA where they played their latest track, “Can’t Cool Me Down.” The song, which they debuted in Boston earlier this week, opens on a dreamy and glitchy synth intro that leads into an expansive eight-minute long tune with wailing vocals and a smooth guitar line.

Murray A. Lightburn – “Fan Fiction (Ballad Of A Genius)”

The Dears frontman Murray A. Lightburn has just premiered “Fan Fiction (Ballad Of A Genius)” off of his forthcoming sophomore solo album, Hear Me Out, which is set for release today. The smooth, bouncy track has a jazzy vibe to it with Lightburn’s crooning vocal and echoing guitar chords as he sings honest, reflective lyrics like, “Everyone wants something. That’s probably why I’ve got no friends.”

Stephen Malkmus – “Rushing the Acid Frat”

Pavement frontman Stephen Malkmus has just dropped an animated video for his trippy new tune, “Rushing the Acid Frat.” The track is a sprawling, psychedelic anthem featuring synths, bouncy guitar lines, and gritty, perfectly imperfect vocals. The accompanying music video, which was directed by Robert Strange of Superorganism and James Papper, is similarly trippy, as an animated Malkmus makes his way through Hollywood Forever Cemetery and Los Angeles’ Koreatown.

Nilüfer Yanya – “Tears”

Gearing up for the release of her debut full-length album Miss Universe, British artist Nilüfer Yanya has just dropped another catchy pop gem called “Tears.” The track is a testament to the album’s dynamic and delightfully peculiar variety with it’s upbeat instrumentals and pained lyrics. “Tears” is a bouncy, polished tune full of synths, bopping beats, and Yanya’s eccentric delivery as she sings lines like “‘Cause alone in the dark I could tear you apart.”

Jane’s Party – “Satellite”

Jane’s Party have dropped another new single called “Satellite.” Peculiarly enough, the new tune “depicts an other worldly encounter our lead singer (Jeff) had with a mysterious individual some years back whilst playing a bar gig in our local Toronto,” the band explains in a statement. “With their unorthodox attire and unique mannerisms, his attention was caught immediately. But, before he could even go as far as a hello, they were gone without a trace as if they were never there in the first place.”

Most Popular