Best New Indie: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Fresh cuts from Vampire Weekend, Lucy Dacus, Foster The People, and more!

Another week, another lineup of rad new tracks.

With fresh cuts from some of the top indie giants like Vampire Weekend, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Foster The People, and Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard, and unbelievable new songs from up-and-coming artists like Lucy Dacus, Ice Cream, Chastity, Maya Malkin, and more, you’ll never run out of new music this week.

Check out the best new indie tunes from this week below.

Vampire Weekend – “I’m Goin’ Down (Bruce Springsteen cover)”

Vampire Weekend participated in a new Spotify Singles session, where they recorded a piano-led rendition of their Father Of The Bride track, “This Life,” and covered Bruce Springsteen’s “I’m Goin’ Down.” Their cover of Springsteen’s 1985 track is particularly powerful, as Ezra Koenig and co. originally covered it for their iTunes Session EP in 2010, so it shows Vampire Weekend’s growth as a whole.

Lucy Dacus – “Forever Half Mast”

Lucy Dacus is releasing a set of holiday tracks throughout the year, collectively titled 2019, which is set to be released as a physical EP in the fall, and now she’s dropped “Forever Half Mast” for the 4th of July. The track is an anti-patriotic anthem revolving around Independence Day, as Dacus uses Americana instrumentation alongside melancholic melodies and glimmering vocal lines. The track sees Dacus singing beneath reverberating effects as she sings lines like, “Yes, you’re evil but you’re not that bad/ You put out your palm more than the back of your hand/ They were wrong when they said forget the past/ Let your flag fly at forever half mast.

Foster The People – “Imagination”

Foster the People have released a slightly psychedelic new single titled “Imagination.” The track revolves around a dreamy, twangy guitar, clicking keys, and frontman Mark Foster’s processed, crooning vocal lines. The groovy tune appears to draw inspiration from the likes of acts like Tame Impala, with psychedelically tinged notes. “I think the quality that makes us distinctly human is our ability to live in duality,” Foster explains in a statement. “We comprehend the present external wold we’re in, while having an internal dialogue about what it all means.”

Brittany Howard – “History Repeats”

Alabama Shakes lead vocalist and guitarist Brittany Howard has announced her forthcoming debut solo album, Jaime, which is set for release on September 20th via ATO Records. As part of the announcement, she’s dropped the record’s lead track, “History Repeats.” “‘History Repeats’ is as much a personal song about us as a human species,” Howard explains in a statement. “Our times of success may propel us forward, but our repeating failures hold us back from evolving into harmony.”

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – “Organ Farmer”

Following the release of April’s Fishing For Fishies, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard announced their second album of 2019, Infest The Rats’ Nest. Now, they’ve shared a video for their new thrash metal track, “Organ Farmer.” “Organ Farmer” revolves around a gritty, rage-filled guitar line, energetic drum beat, and wailing, groaning vocals. The raucous new track comes accompanied by a John Angus Stewart-directed music video that sees the band destroying a car beneath brightly coloured lights.

Ice Cream – “Peanut Butter”

Toronto duo Ice Cream, made up of Carlyn Bezic and Amanda Crist, have dropped a video for their new single, “Peanut Butter.” “Peanut Butter” is an anthemic track about the flaws of modernity, soundtracked by perfectly grungy vocals, a gritty guitar line, and a catchy cowbell-based beat. The clip, which was directed, shot, and edited by MISS WORLD, is a glitchy collection of clips that sees the pair performing along to the track in a collage-like sequence.

Red Hearse – “Honey” and “Red Hearse”

Supergroups have been coming at us left, right, and centre, and now we’ve gotten Red Hearse, made up of Jack Antonoff, Sam Dew, and Sounwave. As part of the announcement, the band has dropped two new tracks titled “Red Hearse” and “Honey.” The first track, “Red Hearse,” as an uptempo hip hop-influenced banger with a bounce-worthy beat, and dreamy falsetto vocal lines.

“Honey,” on the other hand, is a slow-building, groove-heavy track with a sort of digitized soul instrumental and processed vocal lines that revolve around the line, “We move slow like honey.”

Chastity – “Home Made Satan”

Whitby, Ontario’s Chastity have announced their forthcoming sophomore record, Home Made Satan, which is set to be both an emotional and political concept album. As part of the announcement, they’ve released a video for their new single, “Sun Poisoning.” The new track has a melancholic tinge as frontman Brandon Williams croons atop a simple guitar line before it explodes into a gritty punk-centric ballad. The track comes accompanied by a video of Chastity performing at a party full of masked fans, hand puppets, and a young boy and girl dressed in a bunny costume and angel costume respectively.

Maya Malkin – “Making Moves”

Montreal alt-pop artist Maya Malkin has just dropped a new track, “Making Moves.” The groovy new track comes packed with a catchy beat and powerful instrumental lines as Malkin croons with her slightly processed vocals, singing lyrics like, “And I’m never in the mood/ So afraid I’m gonna lost.” “‘Making Moves’ is about the daily struggle of feeling lost in the modern world,” a press release explains of the track.