Best New Indie: 11 songs you need to discover this week

Fresh cuts from artists like The 1975, Orville Peck, Frank Ocean, and more

Things have been a little crazy, but artists have continued to put out song after song to help their fans get through social distancing.

This week, we’ve been gifted with plenty of amazing new tunes from indie giants like Orville Peck, The 1975, Frank Ocean, The Elwins, Hayley Williams, July Talk, and more.

Check out the best new indie tracks from this week below.

Orville Peck – “Summertime”

Masked country crooner Orville Peck has made his return with a video for a new track called “Summertime.” “I wrote this song a long time ago and to me, Summertime has a few different meanings,” Peck explains. “Summertime can be a season, a person, or a memory of a happier time that can be difficult to visit. We also wanted the video to focus around the idea of how we treat nature. Ultimately this is a song about biding your time and staying hopeful – even if it means missing someone or something.”

The 1975 – “Jesus Christ 2005 God Bless America (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)”

The 1975 have shared a new collaborative track with Phoebe Bridgers called “Jesus Christ 2005 God Bless America.” The tune sees Bridgers and frontman Matty Healy going back and forth on each verse, making for a hushed, intimate duet between the two artists. The new tune leans closer to Bridgers’ music than The 1975’s usual sound, but Healy’s sweet vocals and their layered, almost ambient guitars lend perfectly to the track.

Frank Ocean – “Cayendo” and “Dear April”

Get ready to softly weep in quarantine. Frank Ocean has released two previously vinyl-exclusive emotional tracks on streaming services: “Cayendo” and “Dear April.” Produced alongside Daniel Aged, both acoustic tracks are equally heart-wrenching. “Cayendo” is a gloomy ballad sung partially in Spanish.

“Dear April,” on the other hand, is a somber track full of longing. The two tracks were originally previewed last October during his first-ever PrEP+ club night in New York and were available for order individually as 7-inch vinyls on his site. The vinyls came with a track on Side A and its remix on Side B — “Cayendo” was remixed by Sango and “Dear April” by Justice.

The Elwins – Take Me All the Way”

The Elwins have shared a video for their new track “Take Me All The Way” off of their forthcoming LP, which is set for release later this year. The new track “fits in that zone I love, where it’s an upbeat sounding song with sad/introspective lyrics,” bassist Francesco Figliomeni explains. “Very excited for this to be the first taste of what people hear from the new album, I feel like this is one of the songs that helps us dial in where we wanted to head vibe ways.”

Hayley Wiliams – “Over Yet”

While gearing up for the release of Petals For Armor, Hayley Williams has shared a lyric video for her new track “Over Yet.” The new track is an ’80s-style pop track with a catchy rhythm. It comes accompanied by a lyric video, which Williams shot herself alongside her creative director Lindsey Byrnes. Throughout the lo-fi video, Williams rocks a variety of different looks as she makes her way through different photo shoots.

July Talk – “Pay For It”

July Talk have announced a new album called Pray For It, which is set for release on July 10th, 2020. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared a video for their shoegazey lead single, “Pay For It.” “I wrote this song after a group of men violently attacked my friends and bandmates in a fast-food restaurant one late summer night. Their rage erupted quickly and violently, like an old habit,” the band’s Leah Fay explains. “This song gave me a chance to reimagine the experience with a sense of agency, to tell it like it is, like it always has been.”

Born Ruffians – “Breathe”

While gearing up for the release of JUICE this Friday, Born Ruffians have shared a new single called “Breathe.” “Similar to our last single ‘Wavy Haze,’ ‘Breathe’ is about our relationship with our own memories – though more focused on the uninvited memories that impose themselves on us at random times,” frontman Luke Lalonde explains. “Sometimes on a bus, I will shudder or audibly gasp because my brain will deliver something I did in Grade 5 and regret terribly. Or sometimes a nice memory will pop by for a visit.”

Kings of Leon – “Going Nowhere”

Kings of Leon have released a new track “Going Nowhere” accompanied by a black-and-white video filmed live in Nashville, Tennessee. Directed by frontman Caleb Followill, the track is a somber and heavy acoustic ballad. Followill gently strums guitar and sings, “I’m going nowhere if you get the time/And it’s a long hard road until I can get to you/And I’ll be holding on, hoping the sun comes shining through.”

Lido Pimienta – “Te Quería”

While gearing up for the release of Miss Colombia, which is set for release on April 17th, Colombian-Canadian artist Lido Pimienta has shared a new track called “Te Quería.” “‘Te Quería’ is a song about moving on from those who won’t appreciate your light but still can see it enough in you to want to steal it,” Pimienta explains of the track. “‘Te Quería’ is what happens when the word hate won’t cut it, the word hate is too filthy to pronounce and I decided to make a riddle with the strength left in me, and here is a poem and a pouch full of pearls for your enjoyment.”

Ed O’Brien ‘Olympik”

After announcing he suspects he has COVID-19, Radiohead guitarist Ed O’Brien has shared a visualizer for his psychedelic new tune “Olympik.” The new track revolves around a slick groove from drummer Omar Hakim and bassist Nathan East, as O’Brien delivers lyrics like, “Kaleidoscope will start to spin/ Shaking up all the mess we’re in/ Gonna shake it up, all the mess we’re in.” “Olympik” comes accompanied by an equally trippy visualizer, with flashing lights and clips of city streets.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!