Best New Indie: 11 songs you need to discover this week

Fresh cuts from St. Vincent, the Flaming Lips, Grandaddy, and more!

Get ready for some new tunes to check out!

It’s been a huge week for amazing new tracks, with fresh cuts from renowned acts like St. Vincent, Smashing Pumpkins, Grandaddy, The Flaming Lips, and more.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

St. Vincent – “New York ft. Yoshiki”

St. Vincent has teamed up with Yoshiki for a new rendition of her renowned track, “New York.” The new reimagining takes the MASSEDUCTION track and adds a classical twist, with Yoshiki adding in some grand string arrangements and gorgeous piano lines. St. Vincent compares the new version of the track to “the way time or distance transform longtime friends or relationships: the original is still recognizable, but subtly and significantly altered.”

Smashing Pumpkins – “The Colour of Love” and “Cyr”

Smashing Pumpkins have been teasing some major announcements, and the reunited band lifted the lid on a pair of new tunes for you to head into the weekend with. The band, reunited with its original members save for former bassist D’Arcy Wretzky, shared new songs titled “The Colour of Love” and “Cyr.”

“‘Cyr’ is dystopic folly,” Corgan said in a statement. “One soul against the world sort of stuff, set against a backdrop of shifting loyalties and sped up time. To me it stands as both hopeful and dismissive of what is and isn’t possible with faith.”

Grandaddy – “Jed’s Other Poem (Beautiful Ground)”

Indie rock outfit Grandaddy has announced plans to release a reworked version of their 2000 album The Sophtware Slump, with the entire record performed on a wooden piano. The record will be formally titled The Sophtware Slump…on a wooden piano. The reissue, which will feature frontman Jason Lytle on piano, will arrive as a 4xLP set on November 20 via Dangerbird. Lytle and Co. shared a reworked version of ‘Jed’s Other Poem (Beautiful Ground)’ to go along with the announcement.

The Flaming Lips – “Mother Please Don’t Be Sad”

While gearing up for the release of American Head, which is set for release on September 11th via Warner Brothers, The Flaming Lips have shared a video for their new track “Mother Please Don’t Be Sad.” The grand new ballad is written from the point of view of a son who has already died. Frontman Wayne Coyne wrote the lyrics about a real-life incident where he was held at gunpoint at work, but he reimagines it with a tragic ending.

Hannah Georgas – “Easy”

While gearing up for the release of her new album All That Emotion, which is set for release on September 4th, Hannah Georgas has shared a lyric video for her new single, “Easy.” “I was going through a break up around the time that I wrote this song and I felt like I kept searching for some sort of closure or definitive ending to the relationship,” Georgas explains in a statement. “I found myself feeling frustrated that I couldn’t communicate well with this person and whenever I tried to reach out I was left feeling more alone in the end. I was going through this hard time and it felt like they found it easy to let go.”

Born Ruffians – “30th Century War” and “Albatross”

After releasing JUICE earlier this year, Born Ruffians have announced their second album of 2020, SQUEEZE. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared the double A-Side, “30th Century War” and “Albatross.” “30th Century War” comes packed with killer riffs, while “Albatross” marks the album’s closer.

Nap Eyes – “Snake Oil” and “Child’s Romance”

Following the release of Snapshot Of A Beginner earlier this year, Halifax indie outfit Nap Eyes are back with two new tracks, “Snake Oil” and “Child’s Romance.” The new tunes come as B-sides from the album sessions.

“To me, it’s child-like in that it’s expressing admiration and affection for another person, but without any romantic-relationship-oriented ulterior motives,” Chapman explains of “Child’s Romance.” “After writing it I was thinking it’s maybe a bit like the ‘courtly love’ attitude expressed in medieval literature (the early/original ‘Romances’), which is a slightly outlandish combination of aesthetics, idealism, and passion.”

TWRP – “Only The Best”

Electro funk band TWRP have shared a brand new single called “Only The Best,” which marks the lead single for their forthcoming album Over The Top. “‘Only The Best’ is a thank you to our moms and our families,” frontman Doctor Sung explains. “It’s their support and love that allowed us to grow into the fun weirdos we are today.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!