Best New Indie: 11 songs you need to discover this week

Featuring Modest Mouse, Coldplay, Frank Turner, and more!

Yet another big week for new tunes!

This week we saw the return of huge acts like Modest Mouse, Coldplay, and Frank Turner, in addition to fresh cuts from artists like Haviah Mighty, LUMP, Dizzy, and more.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Modest Mouse – We Are Between”

Modest Mouse have announces their first full-length album in six years, The Golden Casket, which arrives on June 25th via Epic. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared an anthemic new single, “We Are Between.” The gritty new tune is quintessential Modest Mouse, with driven, layered guitar riffs and a steady percussion line, as frontman Isaac Brock delivers catchy lines like, “We are between, we are between, yeah we are/ Somewhere between dust and the stars/ Swung open then slam shut/ Yeah but here we are.”

Coldplay – “Higher Power”

Coldplay have made their return with a video for their first new song in two years, “Higher Power.” The new track sees the British band teaming up with Swedish producer Max Martin, and it comes packed with shimmering synths and upbeat melodies, as frontman Chris Martin sings lines like, “I’ve got my hands up shaking just to let you know/ That you’ve got a higher power.” The fun-loving video sees Coldplay dancing with some AR-augmented alien holograms.

Frank Turner – “The Gathering (feat. Jason Isbell, Dom Howard)”

Frank Turner has returned with a new single called “The Gathering,” which features Jason Isbell and Muse’s Dom Howard. The track marks Turner’s first new music in nearly two years, and it’s an upbeat glam anthem that puts a positive spin on life in the pandemic, anticipating a return to normalcy. “It’s about that moment when you come together in a room full of people, and you lean on a stranger and sing along with the chorus and get the words wrong,” Turner explains.

The Black Keys – “Going Down South (R.L. Burnside cover)”

The Black Keys are readying their 10th album, Delta Kream, which is set to be made up of 11 blues covers. Today, The Black Keys have shared their cover of R.L. Burnside’s “Going Down South.” “That was one of R.L. Burnside’s hits,” The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach explains. “We strayed a little from the original on our version with the falsetto and percussion, but we liked how it sounded in that moment. It’s become one of my favorites on the album.”

Haviah Mighty – “Way Too Fast (feat. Jalen Santoy)”

Toronto rapper Haviah Mighty is ready to race on her new single, “Way Too Fast,” which features Jalen Santoy. The track opens slowly with soft keys before launching into an explosive drum-driven, rapidly accelerating anthem, as Mighty raps lines like, “Back then we on slave ships/ Nowadays we own spaceships/ Doubters trippin’ on laces/ Down shift then I race bitch.”

HEALTH, Nine Inch Nails – “Isn’t Everyone”

Nine Inch Nails have collaborated on noise band HEALTH’s new single, “Isn’t Everyone,” released via Loma Vista Recordings. The track, which was produced by HEALTH and Nine Inch Nails and mixed by Atticus Ross, comes packed with gritty, droning instrumentals, a driven drum beat, and perfectly ominous, unnerving vocal lines. From captivating wails to oscillating melodies, “Isn’t Everyone” is a must-listen for NIN fans.

Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – “Soon It Will Be Fire (feat. Moses Sumney)”

Jagjaguwar is set to celebrate its 25th anniversary with a series of special releases called Jag Quarterly, and today they’ve announced the second edition. The forthcoming collection, which is called This is a Mindfulness Drill, is a reimagined version of Richard Youngs’ Sapphie. The album, which is by The Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, will feature vocals from Sharon Van Etten, Moses Sumney, and Perfume Genius. Alongside the announcement, Jagjaguwar has previewed the collection with the whopping nine-and-a-half minute “Soon It Will Be Fire,” which reworks the acoustic original into a sprawling arrangement with dreamy falsettos from Sumney.

Dizzy – “Sunflower, Are You There? (feat. Kevin Garrett)”

Oshawa’s Dizzy are set to release a new collaborations EP called Separate Places on June 11th via Royal Mountain Records and Communion Records, and today they’ve shared their new single, “Sunflower, Are You There? (feat. Kevin Garrett).” This new rendition of Dizzy’s “Sunflower” follows Luna Li’s reimagining of “The Bird Behind The Drapes.” While “Sunflower, Are You There?” stays pretty true to the original, it features some silky vocals from Garrett, who is known for his work on Beyoncé’s Lemonade.

Nap Eyes – “When I Come Around (Green Day cover)”

Nap Eyes have announced a new EP called When I Come Around, which is set for release on May 14th. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared a video for their cover of Green Day’s pop-punk song of the same name. Nap Eyes add their own twist to the tune, turning the anthemic track into a twangy, country-influenced tune, with droning instrumentals and deep, throaty vocal lines. The accompanying video is full of colourful, trippy shots of Nap Eyes singing along to the tune.

LUMP – “Animal”

Laura Marling and Mike Lindsay have announced their sophomore album as LUMP, which will be called Animal. As part of the announcement, the duo have shared a video for its title track. The new song marks LUMP’s first new music since their 2018 self-titled debut album, and it features some perfectly peculiar electronic instrumentals. The accompanying video for “Animal” sees Marling and Lindsay in a spacious white room, trapped beneath plastic, as Marling delivers lines like, “Push shove/ This is the new love/ Killing a white dove/ Just for the story.”

Fade Awaays – “Silent Treatment”

Fade Awaays have shared a video for their new single, “Silent Treatment.” The new track revolves around a catchy, dreamy guitar riff and driven drums, with relatable lyrics like, “But in my day/ It feels like saying nothing’s not okay/ Have it my way/ Why don’t you just go and let me be.” The accompanying video comes packed with shots of Fade Awaays having fun in the studio, performing along to the tune with layered clips.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!