HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 11 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 11 songs you need to discover this week

We’ve been on a roll for new tunes lately.

There have been some amazing fresh cuts released this week from renowned acts like Father John Misty, London Grammar, Angel Olsen, Phoenix, Dirty Nil, and more.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Father John Misty – “To S.” and “To R.”

Father John Misty has shared two new tracks, “To S.” and “To R.” The new songs have been released as part of the Sub Pop Singles Club, and they serve as companion pieces.

“To S.” and “To R.” mark the first new music from Father John Misty since 2018’s God’s Favorite Customer, and they both serve as heartfelt messages to whoever they are meant for.

London Grammar – “Baby It’s You”

British trio London Grammar have made their return with a new song called “Baby It’s You.” The new track marks their first new music since the release of their sophomore album Truth Is a Beautiful Thing three years ago. The cinematic song, which was co-produced by UK electronic producer George FitzGerald, sees the indie outfit combining their grand sound with a pulsing beat.

Angel Olsen – “Waving, Smiling”

While gearing up for the release of her forthcoming album Whole New Mess, Angel Olsen has shared a new track called “Waving, Smiling.” “‘Waving, Smiling’ in my head is the last scene, a slow motion realization of love not lost but as peace somewhere within myself,” Olsen explains. “It’s the bittersweet end of a chapter of my life – it is the final acceptance that despite coming to an end all of that time was not lost or wasted.”

Phoenix – “Identical”

Phoenix have released “Identical,” their first new music since 2017’s Ti Amo. The new track comes in the trailer for Sofia Coppola’s new movie On the Rocks, which stars Bill Murray, Rashida Jones, and Marlon Wayans. Phoenix have also written the score for On the Rocks and put together its soundtrack.

The Dirty Nil – “Doom Boy”

Hamilton, Ontario rockers The Dirty Nil have announced their third studio album Fuck Art, which is set for release later this year via Dine Alone Records. As part of the announcement, The Dirty Nil have shared a video for their new single “Doom Boy.” The thrashing new track revolves around metal-influenced riffs and pop-punk vocal melodies, as frontman Luke Bentham sings about listening to Slayer in the back of a minivan. “Doom Boy” is so rowdy that Bentham even ripped a hole in his pants in the studio while recording it. “I still have the pants to prove it!” Bentham says.

Tame Impala – “Is It True (Four Tet Remix)”

Four Tet has shared a new remix of Tame Impala’s “Is It True.” The ethereal remix strips Tame Impala’s psych-pop original of its groove and turns it into an ambient mix. Opening with a sparse instrumental line, before it slowly builds into a discordant anthem, as Kevin Parker delivers lines like, “I was happy just listening/ No intention to be mentioning/ We started talking’ ’bout the future.”

No Joy – “Dream Rats (feat. Alissa White-Gluz)”

Montreal-based outfit No Joy are set to release their first new full-length album in five years with Motherhood arriving this Friday, via Hand Drawn Dracula/ Joyful Noise. The band has unveiled another new track and video ahead of the release, with “Dream Rats,” which also features principal songwriter Jasamine White-Gluz’s sister, Alissa, of deathcore supergroup Arch Enemy.

Sam Roberts Band – “I Like The Way You Talk About The Future”

Sam Roberts Band have made their return with a catchy new track, “I Like The Way You Talk About The Future.” The new song marks the second new tune from Sam Roberts Band this year, and it comes packed with an infectious groove-heavy instrumental line. “Essentially, in my mind, it comes back to the need for some light,” Roberts explains. “A way forward. To shine some kind of bright light on the future, the path that we’re walking and not giving in to despair.”

Metz – “Hail Taxi”

Toronto noise rock power trio Metz are gearing up for the release of their new album Atlas Vending on October 9th via Sub Pop. Today, Metz have shared a video for their new track “Hail Taxi.” “‘Hail Taxi’ is about looking back,” frontman Alex Edkins explains. “The lyrics deal with the idea of reconciling or coming to terms with who you were and who you’ve become.”

Mindchatter – “I Can Change (LCD Soundsystem cover)”

Mindchatter has shared a nostalgic cover of LCD Soundsystem’s “I Can Change” in honour of the 10-year anniversary of the track. “Over the years, I’ve gained a lot of inspiration from LCD Soundsystem, and as This Is Happening turns 10 I wanted to pay homage to one of my favourite songs.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular