HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 11 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 11 songs you need to discover this week

It’s time for Best New Indie!

This summer has been packed with new music, and this week has been no different. We’ve gotten some pretty rad new tunes from huge artists like Angel Olsen, Grouper, Amyl and the Sniffers, Arlo Parks, and many more.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Angel Olsen – “The Safety Dance (Men Without Hats cover)”

Angel Olsen has shared a cover of Men Without Hats’ “Safety Dance” from her forthcoming ’80s covers EP, Aisles. Earlier this month, Olsen added her own twist to Laura Branigan’s “Gloria.” Olsen’s cover of “Safety Dance” is just as brooding as that one. Olsen adds a gloomy, droning sound to the upbeat anthem. The way Olsen makes this famous track her own will leave you awestruck. You’ll find yourself crooning along as she sings renowned lines like, “We can dance if we want to/ We can leave your friends behind.”

Grouper – “Unclean Mind”

Oregon artist Liz Harris has announced Shade, her new album as Grouper. While the album isn’t out until October 22nd via Kranky, today she’s previewed it with her new single, “Unclean Mind.” “Unclean Mind” is quite the powerful first new track, with soft, strummed guitars and silky whispers. Harris is somehow able to reach an explosive new sonic territory beneath minimalist, meditative melodies.

Amyl and the Sniffers – “Security”

Australian punk rockers Amyl and the Sniffers are back with a video for their raucous new single “Security.” The track comes from their forthcoming album, Comfort to Me, out September 10th via ATO. “Security” is sure to get you ready to jump around in your living room. With driven drums and gritty guitars, this anthemic tune is a must-listen. Singer Amy Taylor’s gritty vocals are at the forefront, singing, “Security won’t you let me in your club?/ I’m not looking for trouble, I’m looking for love.” The John Angus Stewart-directed video follows Taylor as she dances through a graveyard at dawn. The captivating clip sees Taylor making fun-loving movements, thrashing around as she sings along to the tune.

Arlo Parks – “Too Good”

London-based Arlo Parks shared a new Unknown Mortal Orchestra remix of her single “Too Good”. The original song is featured on her genre-bending debut album Collapsed in Sunbeams that was released late January this year. UMO’s remix of “Too Good” slows the track down just a notch, adding subtle smooth tones. In a press release, Parks said of the remix:

Porridge Radio – “New Slang (The Shins cover)”

Porridge Radio have shared a cover of The Shins’ indie rock classic, “New Slang.” Just last month, Porridge Radio covered Love Of Everything’s “Happy In A Crowd.” Now, The Brighton band put their own twist on the Oh, Inverted World track. The soft take leans into the dreamiest parts of the track, morphing it into a shoegaze anthem. The bedroom pop cover truly lets Porridge Radio’s signature style shine. Their cover of “New Slang” is the B-side to the band’s forthcoming release on Sup Pop’s subscription-based Singles Club. On the other side of the 7-inch will be their cover of Wolf Parade’s “You Are A Runner And I Am My Father’s Son.”

Dave Monks – “Change Your Mind”

Tokyo Police Club‘s Dave Monks has shared a video for his new solo track “Change Your Mind.” The song comes from his forthcoming album, I’ve Always Wanted To Be Me, out October 15th via Ghost Pepper Records. “I’ve Always Wanted To Be Me” follows the release of “Wild Like Me,” “Sweet,” and “Love.” The upbeat track is full of optimism, making it perfect to listen to on a sunny day. The accompanying fun-loving video sees Monks making his way through Toronto. He even meets up with fellow Tokyo Police Club member Graham Wright.

Ada Lea – “damn”

Montreal artist Alexandra Levy has shared a video for her new single as Ada Lea, “damn.” Alongside the track, Ada Lea has announced her new album, one hand on the steering wheel the other sewing a garden, out September 24th via Next Door Records. The evocative new track serves as the follow-up to her recently released single, “hurt.” Lyrically, the track tells the tale of a cursed New Year’s Eve party. With driven instrumentals, this song takes on a grittier sheen than most of Ada Lea’s music. Levy’s silky vocals offer the perfect balance in “damn.”

LUMP – “Gamma Ray”

Laura Marling and Mike Lindsay have shared their new track as LUMP, “Gamma Ray.” The new tune serves as the final preview of their sophomore album, Animal, out this Friday, July 30th via Partisan/Chrysalis. “Gamma Ray” serves as the follow-up to “We Cannot Resist,” “Climb Every Wall,” and “Animal.” This new tune is far more subdued than the previous releases, with experimental instrumentals. The accompanying video is perfectly peculiar. It follows the LUMP creature as it makes its way through some dancing mannequins in front of a purple screen. Throughout the clip, the LUMP figure flashes a whole slew of colours.

Deanna Petcoff – “Failing Upwards”

Toronto’s Deanna Petcoff has officially signed to Royal Mountain Records. To celebrate, she’s shared a video for her new single, “Failing Upwards.” Petcoff has been a fixture of Toronto’s DIY indie rock scene for a while now. However, this track truly cements her place in the local music scene. “Failing Upwards” is a confessional track all about falling out of love. The cheeky lyricism truly takes the forefront, as Petcoff sings lines like, “I’m wondering how I’m ever gonna put up with me.” The accompanying video has a retro tinge, as the artist escaping everything in a convertible.

Su Lee – “Socially Alive

Korean singer-songwriter Su Lee has shared “Socially Alive” from her forthcoming self-produced EP, Box Room Dreams, out August 26th. The song is all about how tough it is to communicate after quarantining due to the pandemic. Lee delivers vulnerable lyrics over a catchy dream-pop instrumental. The fun-loving accompanying video was self-filmed and sees Lee making her way around Seoul. “‘Socially Alive’ is my confession of what goes through my mind when I’m around people,” Lee explains. “Regardless of how it may appear on the outside, I’m always terrified that I’ll say or do something stupid.”

The Fretless – “My Moon My Man (feat. Rachel Sermanni)”

Neo-trad string quartet The Fretless have shared a single from their forthcoming album, Open House. The new release is a stunning take on Feist’s “My Moon Man.” Featuring Scottish artist Rachel Sermanni on vocals, this beautiful rendition is a must-listen. “It has so many interesting sounds, textures, and layers,” the band explains. “We wanted to really re-create those elements within the confines of our quartet instrumentation.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular