HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 11 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 11 songs you need to discover this week

After this horrible chilly weather, surely you want to curl up on the couch and listen to some new tunes. Lucky for you, there were so many amazing fresh cuts this week that you’ll be able to find new music for hours.

There have been new tunes from rad indie giants like Florence + The Machine, Vampire Weekend, Broken Social Scene, Beck, and a new collaboration between Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst called Oblivion Community Center. There were also exciting tracks from up and coming indie artists like The O’Pears and Ben Howard.

Check out the best new indie from this week below.

Florence + The Machine – “Moderation” and “Haunted House”

Florence + the Machine have officially shared their first tracks of 2019! The band has shared “Moderation” and “Haunted House.” The tracks are quintessential Florence, with powerful, wailing vocals and grand, orchestral instrumentals. “Moderation” is rambunctious and energetic, with a bouncing beat that will drive right through your bones.

“Haunted House” on the other hand is more true to the tracks off of High As Hope, with a stripped back, emotive melody.

Vampire Weekend – “Harmony Hall”

After plenty of teasers, including the infamous “FOTB” debate, Vampire Weekend are back! “Harmony Hall” was produced by frontman Ezra Koenig alongside Ariel Reichstad and former band member Rostam Batmanglij, and it’s an upbeat, bouncy summer track led by a catchy loop of acoustic guitar riffs.

Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst’s Oblivion Community Center – “Chesapeake”

After Better Oblivion Community Center appeared online out of nowhere, Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst have dropped a surprise self-titled album under the moniker. The album is delightfully dreary, with Bridgers’ and Oberst’s distinct melancholic vocals and confessional story telling taking the lead as they sing about desolation, devastation and, of course, death. “We get pegged as being emo and death-obsessed,” Conor Oberst explained to Billboard. “Things that we are,” Bridgers remarks in response.

Nilüfer Yanya – “In Your Head”

Nilüfer Yanya has released a moody, raucous new track filled with gloomy, melancholic vocals alongside a gritty guitar line. The track comes accompanied by a quirky, eye popping video following the artist as she sings along in Vegas. “Sometimes my mind plays tricks on me and I get trapped,” Yanya explains in a press release. “There’s the things I need disguised as things I think I only want, things I think I’m choosing out of choice not necessity.”

Beck – “Tarantula”

Beck offered up a cover of Colourbox’s 1982 track, “Tarantula,” for Music Inspired by the Film Roma. The reimagining changes the minimal electronic original to a delicate string orchestral rendition featuring his father David Richard Campbell, and backing vocals from several singers like Feist and Alex Lilly.

The O’Pears – “Lady Winter”

“Lady Winter” is a stark and eerie track that revolves around a pulsing beat and melody, as Lydia Persaud, Jill Harris, and Meg Contini’s harmonies weave together and haunt each other perfectly. The Vincent Rene-Lortie and Brittney Canda directed clip fits the track like a puzzle piece, with dark, cold shots of a woman erratically dancing as her significant other tries to leave.

Broken Social Scene – “All I Want”

This bouncy new track is full of dreamy, slightly electronic vocals and a groovy beat that’s sure to get you swaying. Although the tune is synthier than what you might expect from Broken Social Scene, it really works on this energetic, danceable tune.

Ten Kills the Pack – “When I Say You Are Killing Me”

Mississauga-born singer-songwriter Sean Sroka has unveiled another track from his latest project, Ten Kills The Pack. “’When I Say You Are Killing Me,’ is a poem,” Sroka said in a release. “It’s an intensifying rhythm of words that build and grow as fast the idealistic story it’s telling. The piece embodies how great moments leave us more quickly than we can acknowledge or appreciate them. And how the idea of time can become so irrelevant when adjacent to the idea of love.”

Flight of the Conchords – “Iain and Deanna”

After returning to television with their HBO special, Live in London, New Zealand comedy duo Flight of the Conchords have announced they’ll be releasing an accompanying live album, which will be released on March 8th. The new track, “Iain and Deanna,” is a humorous tune revolving around an X-rated office romance between two employees that aren’t the sharpest tools in the shed.

Ben Howard – “Heave Ho”

Following the release of Noonday Dream in June, Ben Howard has just released his latest tune “Heave Ho” in celebration of his sold out shows in London, England. The track is eerie and ominous as Howard’s vocals echo on top of a powerful, swooning electric guitar line. The atmospheric single is accomplished and satisfying, with a refined sound that’s sure to resonate with the folk favourite’s fanbase through his distinctive vocal melodies.

Most Popular