Best New Indie: 11 Songs You Need To Discover This Week

Required Weekly Listening

The beautiful weather has arrived and with it a whole slew of brand new music.

Today we were treated to new albums from Canadian indie legend Feist and virtual band Gorillaz. This week we saw the return of disco-rock group Phoenix, HAIM, and more. So sit down, plug in a listen to the Best New Indie tracks of the week.

Portugal The Man – “Number One”

We haven’t fully been able to stop dancing since Portugal. The Man released their last banger “Feel It Still,” but they’ve gone ahead and released a new song anyway. A little bit slower paced this time, “Number One” features Richie Havens & Son Little, and is the second new track from their forthcoming album reportedly called Gloomin + Doomin.

Mac DeMarco – “One More Love Song”

Just “One More Love Song” from Mac DeMarco came this week before he releases his much-anticipated album This Old Dog next Friday, May 5th.

Oh Wonder – “My Friends”

A heartbreaking new song from London’s alt-pop group Oh Wonder from their forthcoming record Ultralife coming June 16th.

Dan Auerbach – “King of a One Horse Town”

Black Keys frontman and modern day blues rock legend Dan Auerbach followed up his irresistibly catchy “Shine On Me” with another golden oldie today. His second solo album Waiting on a Song.

Phoenix – “J-Boy”

It’s been four long years since Phoenix released their previous album Bankrupt!, following 2009’s critically acclaimed Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, and now the French disco-rock group are back with a new single and album to boot. “J-Boy” belongs to the band’s new album Ti Amo, coming June 9th.

HAIM – “Right Now”

It’s been three years since The HAIM sisters released their smashing debut record Days Are Gone, and we’ve been anxiously waiting for more ever since. After sharing teasers for the past few weeks, the band is back, sharing “Right Now.”

Rostam – “Gwan”

Rostam brought back the Vampire Weekend vibes for his second single after departing from the seminal indie-rock group to go solo. Soak up the baroque-pop melodies in “Gwan.”

Odesza – “Late Night”

This Seattle-based electronic duo returned after nearly two years to drop two new songs, “Late Night” and “Line of Sight“. Odesza’s Harrison Mills explained their progression in finding a new sound that “reflects us building a grander, more cinematic sound.”

Big Thief – “Breathe In My Lungs”

If you’ve never heard the beauty that is Adrianne Lenker’s voice, please do so now. Gentle and bright, yet melancholic, Big Thief is the music equivalent to love lost in the summer.

Yeomans – “Just As You Want”

Toronto-based psych and surf-inspired rockers Yeomans have delivered a video for their new single, “Just As You Want,” which arrives April 30 via NYK Records.

Jeff Rosenstock – “Dramamine”

Punk hero Jeff Rosenstock released a new song today, which was “written while listening to a tough vomit sash in an alley in Leeds” If you need more explanation than that, just click the player above.