Best New Indie: 12 songs you need to discover this week

New tunes from Jade Bird, The Cranberries, PUP and more!

It has been a PACKED week for new tunes!

With rad fresh cuts from iconic indie giants like Florence + The Machine, The Cranberries, Jade Bird, Karen O and Danger Mouse, PUP, Hozier, The Killers, and more, you’re never going to run out of new tunes to listen to. There were also some awesome releases from up and coming artists like Yungblud, Deerhunter, The Dandy Warhols, Japanese House, Orville Peck, and more.

Check out the 12 songs you need to discover this week below.

Jade Bird – “I Get No Joy”

This week, Jade Bird released “I Get No Joy,” another single off of the forthcoming record. The upbeat rock track is about “the stream of thought that runs through your head at all times as an overthinker,” Bird explains according to Rolling Stone. Bird’s distinctive power-screech vocals really drive the song as she rapidly belts quick-witted lyrics atop a catchy guitar line and steady melody.

The Cranberries – “All Over Now”

Prior to frontwoman Dolores O’Riordan’s death, she had completed demoing a collection of new material with the band, and now those songs will be released as The Cranberries’ eighth and final album. The album, which will be titled In The End, was produced by Stephen Street and features eleven new songs such as “Lost,” “Wake Me When It’s Over,” “Catch Me If You Can,” “Crazy Heart,” and “The Pressure.” In honour of the announcement of the new album, The Cranberries have released “All Over Now,” the first track off the forthcoming record.

Karen O and Danger Mouse – “Woman”

The upbeat tune, “Woman,” which was written post-American-election, is groovy with a steady instrumental as Karen O wails in the forefront. “Woman came like a bolt out of the blue when we were in the studio,” Karen explained according to DIY. “This one felt especially for the inner child in me that needed the bullies out there to know you don’t f*ck with me. I’m a woman now and I’ll protect that inner girl in me from hell and high water.”

PUP – “Kids”

After announcing the details of their forthcoming album, Morbid Stuff via their new zine, Canadian punk lords PUP have released “Kids,” the first track off of the new record. Although it’s a little cleaner than their past tracks, the raucous new tune is full of quick-witted lyrics and distinctive PUP-style shouts alongside an energetic drum beat. The chorus has got to be their catchiest yet as frontman Stefan Babcock sings “I guess it doesn’t matter anyway,/ I don’t care about nothin’ but you.”

Hozier – “Almost (Sweet Music)”

Hozier has announced the release of his sophomore album, Wasteland, Baby!. In honour of the announcement, the Irish singer has released “Almost (Sweet Music),” the first track off of the forthcoming record. Hozier’s sweet, soulful voice and lyrical finger-picking serve as the backbone of the song, with an added energetic twist. The lyrics are mostly composed of classic yearning jazz song titles like “Stella by Starlight,” “Night and Day,” “Let the Good Times Roll,” “Paper Doll,” “A Love Supreme,” “My Foolish Heart,” and more.

The Killers – “Land Of The Free”

The Killers have returned with an epic anti-Trump anthem called “Land Of The Free,” which is their first official material released since 2017’s Wonderful Wonderful. The empowering, heartfelt Jacknife Lee-produced track was recorded at their very own Battle Born Studios, and features gospel vocals by Will Wheaton, Lynn Mabry, Dorian Holley, Sherree Patrice Brown, Akasha Mabry, and Killers’ touring vocalists Danielle René Withers, Amanda Brown, and Erica Canales.

Deerhunter – “Plains”

Following the release of “Death In Midsummer” and “Element,” Deerhunter have released “Plains,” the latest single off of their forthcoming album Why Hasn’t Everything Already Disappeared? The groovy, bouncy track was inspired by James Dean and his performance in the movie Giant, which was filmed in Marfa, Texas where Deerhunter recorded a large chunk of their album.

Florence + The Machine – “Moderation”

It hasn’t yet been a year since Florence + The Machine’s release of High As Hope, but she’s already debuted a new track called “Moderation” at a live show in Perth. On Saturday, the iconic indie band played at RAC Arena, and halfway into the show without any preface, the band launched into a new tune that they’d never played live before. Although they didn’t release the title of the track, fans are speculating online that the classic raging Florence banger is called “Moderation.”

The Japanese House – “Maybe You’re The Reason”

Electro indie icon The Japanese House has shared another groovy, ambient new single called “Maybe You’re The Reason” off of her forthcoming album, Good At Falling. “It’s about being depressed and realizing there’s no meaning in anything,” Bain explains, according to Clash. “Then in the chorus I thought, I can’t keep this up! I need to make it something nice. I thought about my girlfriend at the time, and how maybe loving someone is the reason you live?”

Yungblud – “Loner”

Yungblud has just released a raucous, edgy video for his anthemic new track, “Loner.” “I created this track because it’s a reflection of where I’m from and who I am,” frontman Dominic Harrison explained to NME. “I wanted to invite my fans and people who might not know me yet into my front room and to have a cup of tea with them.” The accompanying video follows Harrison as he returns home to Doncaster to perform at places that are significant to him, like venues where he played his first shows and his “Nan’s house.”

The Dandy Warhols – “Motor City Steel”

Gearing up for the release of their 10th studio album, Why You So Crazy, next week, The Dandy Warhols have released a trippy video for their new track, “Motor City Steel.” “‘Motor City Steel’ is a true story,” frontman Courtney Taylor-Taylor explains according to Consequence of Sound. “I lived in a small SW Washington town from 2006 – 2014 and found this to be a fairly common occurence.”

Orville Peck – “Dead of Night”

Masked country/post punk hybrid artist Orville Peck has announced the release of his full-length debut album, Pony. In honour of the announcement, Peck has released a video for his new single “Dead of Night.” The new tune is a combination of ambient shoegaze melodies and classic American country vocals, and it serves as a “torch song about two hustlers traveling through Nevada desert,” according to a press release.