Best New Indie: 12 songs you need to discover this week

Featuring Billie Eilish, the Flaming Lips, The Beaches, and more

Get ready for some amazing new tunes, indie lovers!

Your new music playlists are sure to be stacked, with fresh cuts from artists like Billie Eilish, the Flaming Lips, The Beaches, Lou Barlow, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, Sharon Van Etten, and more.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Billie Eilish – “Your Power”

Just days after teasing and announcing her highly anticipated new album, Happier Than Ever, Billie Eilish has previewed her sophomore record with a video for her new single, “Your Power.” The new track takes a more acoustic approach than Eilish’s previous releases, opening with an intimate acoustic guitar line before Eilish comes in with some silky, sweet vocal lines. The accompanying self-directed video comes packed with captivating, grandiose shots of the 19-year-old artist singing in a mountain range.

The Flaming Lips – “Lay Lady Lay (Bob Dylan cover)”

After appearing on Kimmel a few nights ago, the Flaming Lips have shared a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Lay Lady Lay.” In celebration of Dylan’s 80th birthday next month, Uncut magazine has released a tribute compilation, which features Dylan covers from Courtney marie Andrews, Thurston Moore, the Weather Station, and more. The Flaming Lips’ cover of the 1969 Nashville Skyline track sees them staying true to the playful original, as frontman Wayne Coyne delivers captivating vocal lines.

The Beaches – “Let’s Go”

The Beaches have officially made their return with the announcement of their forthcoming EP, Future Lovers, which is set for release on May 14th via Universal Music Canada. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared a new single called “Let’s Go.” “Let’s Go” marks The Beaches’ first new tune since their 2019 EP, The Professional. The anthemic track comes packed with gritty, wailing guitars and driven drums, as singer Jordan Miller delivers catchy vocals, singing lines like, “I’m just a girl who used to loaf at a Toronto art school/ Skipped college, joined a band, made out with boys I liked to talk to.”

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – “We’re On Our Way Now”

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds have announced a new greatest hits album called Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021), which is set for release on June 11th via Sour Mash. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared a new track, “We’re On Our Way Now.” “10 years of The High Flying Birds?? Blimey! … just think of all the things I COULD have done in that time!!” Gallagher says in a statement. “The title just came to me one afternoon, at the kitchen table. It’s a saying isn’t it: ‘back the way we came.’ I actually thought it was a great title. Which is why it’s got vol 1. Because if there’s another one, I’m not coming up with another title!”

Sharon Van Etten – “Some Things Last A Long Time (Daniel Johnston cover)”

Last year, Sharon Van Etten shared a new track called “Let Go” for the Feels Good Man documentary, which is all about the creator of the Pepe The Frog Meme. Now, Van Etten has unearthed a Daniel Johnston cover that she also recorded for the film. Van Etten’s cover of Johnston’s “Some Things Last A Long Time” is a dark, gloomy rendition of the track, as she adds eerie, yet melancholic twists and turns to the famous 1990 track.

Lou Barlow – “Love Intervene”

While gearing up for the release of his solo album, Reason to live, on May 28th via Joyful Noise, Lou Barlow has shared a lyric video for his new single, “Love Intervene.” The moving new track comes packed with intimate strings, as Barlow’s vocals and lyrics truly shine. The accompanying self-directed lyric video comes packed with home photos of Barlow’s life, with the lyrics written out on paper over top.

Jessie Ware – “Please”

Jessie Ware’s highly praised 2020 album, What’s Your Pleasure is getting a deluxe edition called What’s Your Pleasure? The Platinum Pleasure on June 11th, and in honour of the announcement, she’s shared a new single, “Please.” “Please” is the perfect preview for the deluxe edition, with playful, dancefloor-ready melodies that are sure to get you bopping in your living room. The groove-heavy anthem sees Ware delivering captivating vocals, as she sings lines like, “So please/ Show me you know to be sweet (sweet, sweet)/ Don’t you be too good to believe/ I could be the girl of your dreams (dreams, dreams).”

Dave Monks – “Sweet”

Tokyo Police Club frontman Dave Monks has shared a music video for his new track, “Sweet,” which marks the follow-up to his recent single, “Love.” The lo-fi, bedroom pop-style track comes packed with delicate vocals, as Monks offers up intimate vocals that, at times, verge on whispers, as he delivers lines like, “Baby there’s a life I gotta live/ Baby there’s a love I gotta give.” The accompanying video, which Monks created with his Patreon followers, comes packed with shots of household items that offer up an intimate glimpse at life at home.

Faye Webster – “Cheers”

Singer-songwriter Faye Webster has announced her forthcoming album, I Know I’m Funny haha, which is set for release on June 25th via Secretly Canadian. As part of the announcement, she’s shared a video for her new single, “Cheers.” “This song has always felt like a standout from the record to me,” Webster explains of the track. “It was the kind of song where you’re like ‘oh yeah, this is the one.’ Right after the first take. It felt different to me and it made it feel like I was entering a new era and chapter for myself. It’s kind of the outlier on the record but at the same time is still so original and identifying to myself. Also it just makes me feel like a badass for once.”

PACKS – “Two Hands”

Toronto slack rockers PACKS are set to release their debut album, Take The Cake, on May 21st via Royal Mountain Records, and today they’ve shared a video for their new track, “Two Hands.” The hazy, jangly track sees frontwoman Madeline Link weaving her vocals in and out of laidback melodies and gritty guitars. The accompanying video, which was directed by Link herself, channels the track’s spring energy, as she sings beneath pouring water in the dirt and makes her way through a picturesque field.

Squirrel Flower – “I’ll Go Running”

Iowa singer-songwriter Squirrel Flower is gearing up to release her forthcoming album, Planet (i) on June 25th, and today she’s previewed the collection with a lyric video for her new single, “I’ll Go Running.” The gothic new track comes packed with rich imagery, as Squirrel Flower croons atop a driven drum beat and captivating, droning guitar lines. The accompanying lyric video is full of clips of Squirrel Flower in the dark, with shots that feel like a nod to camcorder-style horror flicks.

Superwarm – “Algarve”

SUPERWARM have shared a dreamy new track called “Algarve.” “Algarve” would be perfect to listen to on a beach, with sunny melodies and tranquil vocal lines that have a nostalgic tinge to them. The blissful guitar riffs are definitely a standout on this track, and will have you dreaming of brighter days.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!