HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 12 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 12 songs you need to discover this week

It’s time for Best New Indie!

This week, we’ve gotten some great new music from artists like Phoebe Bridgers, Big Thief, Courtney Barnett, Arkells, and many more!

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Phoebe Bridgers – “Nothing Else Matters (Metallica cover)”

Phoebe Bridgers has covered Metallica’s “Nothing Else Matters” for the charity compilation, The Metallica Blacklist. Bridgers produced her cover with Ethan Gruska and Tony Berg, and collaborated with Marshall Vore and Rob Moose. With soft piano lines and tender vocals, Bridgers truly adds her own twist to “Nothing Else Matters.”

Big Thief – “Little Things”

Big Thief shared their new single, “Little Things,” this week. The track is produced by drummer James Krivchenia. “Little Things” sees Big Thief exploring new sonic territory entirely. The band recorded the single with Shawn Everett at Five Star Studios in Topanga, CA. Serving as possibly their most driven, propulsive song to date, “Little Things” sees Big Thief singing of uncertainty.

Courtney Barnett – “Before You Gotta Go”

Courtney Barnett has shared “Before You Gotta Go,” another new single from her forthcoming album, Things Take Time, Take Time. The new tune was co-produced with Stella Mozgawa, who gave the instrumentals breathing room that allow the track to really resonate with its poignancy. “Before You Gotta Go” is a delicate breakup song that revolves around a building cyclical guitar line. It follows the twangy, previously released “Rae Street.”

Arkells – “Swing Swing Swing”

The Arkells are getting ready for their return to live music with a video for their new track, “Swing Swing Swing.” The Hamilton, Ontario band will be performing at Toronto’s Budweiser Stage for three days in a row. These performances will mark their first live shows in 16 months. This release comes from their forthcoming album, Blink Once, out September 22nd via Universal Music Canada.

Haviah Mighty – “Flamenco (feat. Mala Rodríguez)”

Haviah Mighty has collaborated with Mala Rodríguez on her new single, “Flamenco.” Mighty produced the track with her longtime collaborator Taabu. The genre-bending track transcends to a new sound entirely. “Flamenco” boasts a dance-worthy instrumental and a super catchy hook that’s sure to get you moving along. With a smooth flow and silky vocals, you’ll find yourself revisiting “Flamenco” again.

Sufjan Stevens, Angelo De Augustine – “Back To Oz”

Sufjan Stevens and Angelo De Augustine have shared another new collaborative track, “Back To Oz.” This new song is inspired by the 1985 film Return To Oz. It’s a delicate, gorgeous new indie-folk sound that calls upon the beginnings of Stevens’ career. The new tune comes accompanied by a video directed by Straight To Tell’s Alex Horan and animated by Clara Murray. Alongside “Back TO Oz,” Sufjan Stevens and Angelo De Augustine released Fictional California.

Slothrust – “The Next Curse”

Slothrust are back with another preview from their forthcoming album Parallel Timeline. Their new single “The Next Curse” features lead singer and rhythm guitarist of Halestorm, Lzzy Hale. The fiery new track is a dark, brooding slow burn. The song reflects on the human experience regarding the daunting climate crisis.

Lala Lala – “Color of the Pool”

Lillie West has shared a video for her new track as Lala Lala, “Color of the Pool.” “Color of the Pool” follows Lala Lala’s previously released “DIVER,” both of which come from her forthcoming album, I Want the Door to Open. Packed with glitchy, ambient synths and silky vocals, this emotive track is definitely a must-listen. The accompanying Weird Life Films-directed video follows West on the back of a motorcycle. Throughout the picturesque video, she makes her way down a highway at nighttime as she sings along to the tune.

Cherry Glazerr – “Soft Drink”

Clementine Creevy has released a new Cherry Glazerr track, “Soft Drink.” Since December, Creevy has been showcasing the new direction for the project with new tunes. The new singles see Cherry Glazerr delving into more of an electronic, synth-based sound. “Soft Drink” follows the release of “Rabbit Hole” and “Big Bang.” This lithe new tune is all about trying to open up to someone new, and yearning for validation. “Soft Drink” comes accompanied by a trippy, colourful video.

Bad Waitress – “Rabbit Hole”

Toronto punk outfit Bad Waitress have shared a colourful video for their new track, “Rabbit Hole.” The fantastical new single follows the previously released “Strawberry Milkshake” and “Delusions of Grandeur.” All three tracks are set to feature on their forthcoming album, No Taste, out September 3rd via Royal Mountain Records. “Rabbit Hole” is a gritty punk rock anthem with wailing guitars at the forefront. The accompanying video channels an Alice In Wonderland energy, but with a darker twist.

Absolutely Free – “Interface”

Toronto psychedelic pop band Absolutely Free are readying their sophomore album, Aftertouch, out September 24th via Boiled Records. Today, they’ve shared another preview of the album with a video for their new single “Interface.” “Written as a pseudo-love song that interludes between two versions of self, ‘Interface’ recalls an adolescent summer where I spent every waking hour on early web-based chat programs, instead of going outside,” singer Matt Kind explains.

New Mark – “Come On Home”

LA folk artist New Mark has shared his new single “Come On Home.” The new track sees New mark at his most romantic and emotional yet. The track sees New Mark singing about being away from his family, particularly his grandfather who passed away during the pandemic. New Mark’s wife Kendra Moriah added some sweet harmonies to make the single even more tender.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular