HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 13 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 13 songs you need to discover this week

It’s time for Best New Indie!

We’ve gotten some amazing fresh cuts from huge acts like Beach House, Mitski, PUP, and a collaboration between Phoebe Bridgers and Taylor Swift.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Beach House – “Superstar”

Beach House have announced their forthcoming studio album, Once Twice Melody, which is out on February 18th, 2022 via Sub Pop. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared the first four songs from the album. Today, we’ve gotten “Superstar,” “Pink Funeral,” “Through Me,” and the title track. The Baltimore duo’s first four tunes from the album channel their quintessential celestial sound. Most of the tunes revolve around twinkling melodies and ethereal organs. “Superstar” is a big stand out, with more of a shadowy sound than the rest.

Mitski – “The Only Heartbreaker”

Mitski has shared a video for her new single, “The Only Heartbreaker.” The track comes from her newly announces sixth album, Laurel Hell, out via Dead Oceans. “The Only Heartbreaker” is a percussion-driven tune with shimmering synths and bright melodies. At the chorus, the track explodes into a dance-worthy anthem. The accompanying video for “The Only Heartbreaker” opens with Mitski walking through a bright forest. Everywhere she steps, she spreads fire and burns down the greenery.

Taylor Swift – “Nothing New (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)”

Phoebe Bridgers has appeared on a new duet with Taylor Swift, “Nothing New.” Swift co-produced the track with The National’s Aaron Dessner. “Nothing New” feels like the perfect balance between Swift’s folklore and evermore and Bridgers’ Punisher. “I was 18 when red came out,” Bridgers wrote on Twitter. “How is this real.”

PUP – “Waiting” and “Kill Something”

Toronto punks PUP are back with their first new singles of the year, “Waiting” and “Kill Something.” Alongside the release, they’ve announced a 2022 tour. Grammy Award winner Peter Katis produced both of the new songs. Fellow Canadian punk artist Kathryn McCaughey of NOBRO appears on “Waiting.” That tune is a joyful, fun new tune with a heavy riff that’s sure to get you thrashing around.

“Kill Something,” on the other hand, is about Babcock’s dog, Moose. Moose loves to destroy his favourite things, and then gets sad once they’re destroyed. That tune is a more downtempo punk ballad.

The Flaming Lips, Nell Smith – “The Ship Song”

The Flaming Lips and young fan Nell Smith have collaborated on their second Nick Cave cover, “The Ship Song.” Last month, the Flaming Lips announced that they’d be teaming up with 13-year-old Nell Smith for a full cover album of Nick Cave songs. The record, When The Viaduct Looms, is out on November 26th. “I still can’t really believe it,” Nell Smith says of the collaboration. “It was a really steep learning curve but Wayne was so encouraging when I was struggling with a few of the songs that I kept going.”

Moses Sumney – “Bystanders (in space)”

Moses Sumney has announced a new live album called Live from Blackalachia. The album will be released alongside a performance film, out on December 10th via Sumney’s label TUNTUM. To preview the record, he’s shared the album’s lead single, “Bystanders (in space),” alongside a one-shot performance video. “Bystanders (in space)” is a stunnig ballad, with futuristic synth pulses and dreamy falsettos. The accompanying video sees Sumney performing on a rotating platform in front of a black background.

Lucy Dacus – “Thumbs Again”

Lucy Dacus is back with “Thumbs Again,” a reworked version of her Home Video track “Thumbs.” Alongside the release, she’s announced that she’s rescheduled the Toronto and Montreal shows. Prior to the release of Home Video, Lucy Dacus debuted “Thumbs” on tour with boygenius. The song quickly became a fan favourite. While the album version finds power in its sparsity, today Dacus has shared a full-band version. “Thumbs Again” is filled out with electric guitar, synths, and drums.

Nilüfer Yanya – “stabilise”

Nilüfer Yanya is back with a video for her new single “stabilise.” The gritty new tune marks the first single from her freshly announced album, Painless, out on March 4th via ATO. “Stabilise” sees Yanya taking on more of a math rock sound. With gritty guitars and frantic vocals, Yanya explores a new sonic territory. The accompanying Molly Daniel-directed video follows Yanya on a spy adventure.

Oberhofer, King Princess – “Dreaming Of U”

Brad Oberhofer has shared a video for his new single under the moniker Oberhofer, “Dreaming Of U.” The track is a nostalgic duet with King Princess. It comes from Oberhofer’s first album in almost 6 years, Smothered, which is out on November 12th via Telefono. On “Dreaming Of U” the pair sing of a relationship materializing through shared dreams. Together, they deliver stunning, retro vocals, as they sing “I’ll be dreaming of you tonight.”

Pinegrove – “Alaska”

New Jersey outfit Pinegrove have announced their forthcoming album, 11:11, which will be out on January 28th via Rough Trade Records. In celebration of the announcement, they’ve shared a new single, “Alaska.” “Alaska” is a guitar-driven rock dune. The track truly bursts onto the scene with blistering guitars and dense melodies. This hook-driven tune is a perfect preview to the refined fifth Pinegrove album.

OMBIIGIZI – “Residential Military”

Zoon’s Daniel Monkman and Status/Non-Status’ Adam Sturgeon have teamed up to create a new project called OMBIIGIZI. Today, they’ve announced their debut album, Sewn Back Together, out on February 10th via Arts & Crafts. The Anishinaabe songwriters have previewed the record with a video for its lead single, “Residential Military.” It’s a dreamy, shoegazey single with gritty, wavering guitars and perfectly twisted vocal lines. The accompanying video sees the band performing along to “Residential Military.”

Jasmyn – “Find The Light”

Former Weaves frontperson Jasmyn Burke has signed to Toronto’s Royal Mountain Records and Los Angeles’ ANTI- Records. Today, she’s shared her debut solo single as Jasmyn, “Find The Light.” The new alt-pop anthem is a driven banger. Jasmyn’s unique vocals are at the forefront, backed by repetitive synths and powerful guitars. Alongside the track, Jasmyn stars in a video that was filmed on a drone. Throughout the clip, she dons an array of wigs as she sings along to the tune. With trippy effects and captivating choreography, this clip is sure to grab your attention.
Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

[Read More] Your First Listen: 10 songs you need to discover this week

Most Popular