Best New Indie: 9 songs you need to discover this week

Fresh cuts from Death Cab For Cutie, Angel Olsen, Haim, and more!

What a week for new tunes!

There have been so many unbelievable releases from huge indie artists like Death Cab For Cutie, Angel Olsen, Haim, Sleater-Kinney, Iggy Pop, and King Princess. What better way to kick off your weekend than by listening to some new tracks from your favourite artists?

Check out the best new indie tunes from this week below.

Death Cab For Cutie – “Kids in ’99”

Death Cab For Cutie have announced The Blue EP, which is set for release on September 6th. As part of the announcement, the seasoned indie band have released “Kids in ’99.” In 1999, when Death Cab For Cutie were only a few years into their career, a gas pipeline exploded in their hometown of Bellingham, Washington, killing an 18-year-old and two 10-year-olds. Death Cab released this track to memorialize them in their reflective new tune, as frontman Ben Gibbard sings lines like, “In the waters where we used to swim/ Where we thought we would be young forever/ But beads that glisten on your sunburnt skin/ Evaporated in the flames and embers.”

Angel Olsen – “All Mirrors”

Angel Olsen has announced her new album All Mirrors, which will be released on October 4th, and as part of the announcement she’s released a video for the title track. The silky slow groove comes accompanied by a black-and-white Ashley Connor-directed clip, which follows Olsen in a room of mirrors. As the track progresses, it gets eerier and more ambient, and the video does as well. Black gloved figures grab at a slowly swaying Olsen until eventually, when the song explodes, Olsen appears to truly embrace her darkest side.

Haim – “Summer Girl”

Los Angeles sister trio Haim have just dropped a Paul Thomas Anderson-directed video for their new track, “Summer Girl.” “I started the song when I found out my partner had cancer,” Danielle Haim explained in a statement. “I was on tour and felt like I was trying to send positive energy his way almost telepathically. Whenever I would come home in between shows I wanted to be his sunshine – his summer when he was feeling dark. His hope when he was feeling hopeless.”

Sleater-Kinney – “Can I Go On”

While gearing up for the release of The Center Won’t Hold, which drops on August 16th, Sleater-Kinney has shared their new song titled “Can I Go On.” This new song is full of existential rage, with a strong and bold comeback that radiates new energy, but still feels like Sleater-Kinney. The lyric video is angsty and animated with awesome transitions between each verse and chorus.

IDLES – “I Dream Guillotine”

IDLES have just dropped a raucous new track called “I Dream Guillotine” as part of a package with standalone single “Mercedes Marxist.” The B-side track “I Dream Guillotine” is quintessential IDLES with a heavy, resounding guitar line, a pounding drumbeat, and frontman Joe Talbot’s gritty, raspy wails. The track revolves around Talbot’s quirky lyricism as he sings lines like, “There’s no such thing as a broken home/ Tell that to the frontline/ The breadline/ The welfare line/ The lottery line.”

Iggy Pop – “James Bond”

After dropping the title track from his forthcoming album Free, Iggy Pop has shared a new single titled “James Bond.” The track revolves around a sparse bass line as Pop croons lines like, “She wants to be your James Bond/ Well it’s not for a price/ And it’s not to be nice/ She wants to be your James Bond.” The groovy tune has a slow-building instrumental line that sees assistance from Noveller on the arrangements throughout.

King Princess – “Mary-Luiz (Plz Plz) feat. Meryl Streep”

Meme queen King Princess has remixed Meryl Streep’s Big Little Lies scream into a club banger. In season two of the show, Streep screams at the dinner table as the develish mother-in-law, Mary Louise Wright. The iconic scene quickly became a huge staple in meme culture, so of course transgressive pop artist King Princess took advantage of the moment, layering the scream and quotes from the show on top of a killer beat.

Red Hearse – “Everybody Wants You”

Red Hearse, made up of Jack Antonoff, Sam Dew, and Sounwave, have shared an emotional new track “Everybody Wants You,” which comes off of their forthcoming self-titled debut album. The sparkling new tune sees the trio harmonizing as they sing about trying to win over someone they think they don’t have a chance with, singing lines like, “Baby, what’s the use?/ Everybody wants you.” The melancholic track’s confessional-style lyrics take the lead, as the catchy, driven beat pushes the tune forward into a pop-tinged ballad.

Close Talker – “Arm’s Length”

Saskatoon trio Close Talker have shared “Arm’s Length” from their forthcoming album How Do We Stay Here?, which drops on August 30th. The smooth tune opens with low-key synth lines beneath a resounding electric guitar and silky vocals before bursting into a slow groove that’s sure to get you swaying. With a catchy beat and memorable riff, the dynamic tune completely transforms into a hopeful, energetic anthem about halfway through.