Best New Indie: 7 songs you need to discover this week

Fresh cuts from The Flaming Lips, Bombay Bicycle Club, The Japanese House, and more

Although it hasn’t been a huge week for new music, what has been dropped this week has been fantastic.

With fresh cuts from indie giants like The Flaming Lips, Bombay Bicycle Club, The Japanese House, and Animal Collective’s Avey Tare, your playlists are sure to be pretty rad this week. Make sure to check out some of the amazing new tunes from up-and-coming artists like MF Tomlinson as well!

Check out the best new indie tunes from this week below.

This Indie88 feature is presented with Zed80.


The Flaming Lips – “What Is The Light (feat. The Colorado Symphony & André de Ridder)”

Today, The Flaming Lips released The Soft Bulletin Recorded Live at Red Rocks with the Colorado Symphony Orchestra, and their live rendition of “What Is The Light” truly is a standout. The track was recorded live at Red Rocks, and it sees the Flaming Lips backed by an entire orchestra and vocal choir. Earlier this week, the band even released a trippy live video, which comes with a screen split into quadrants.

Bombay Bicycle Club – “Everything Else Has Gone Wrong”

Bombay Bicycle Club have detailed their forthcoming album Everything Else Has Gone Wrong, which is set for release on January 17th, 2020. As part of the announcement, they’ve dropped a video for the record’s title track. “It seemed to encapsulate everything the album is about,” frontman Jack Steadman explains in a statement. “For my whole life, I haven’t been very good at expressing myself with words. The irony is that the song is about not wanting to write lyrics, but it has lyrics I’m really proud of. And after that, we realized a lot of the other songs had that theme, of music as a cathartic refuge.”



The Japanese House – “Chewing Cotton Wool”

The Japanese House has released a pensive, melancholic new ballad called “Chewing Cotton Wool.” The heartwrenching, downtempo new tune revolves around an ambient, cyclical instrumental line as frontwoman Amber Bain sings about the loss of a loved one, as their memory becomes inescapable. Bain’s painstaking lyricism truly shines on this track, as she sings lines like, “She’s the sound of your own voice/ She’s someone else’s drink/ She’s like living in the countryside/ She’s the whirlpool in the sink.”

Avey Tare – “Red Light Water Show”

Animal Collective’s Avey Tare has announced a new EP called Conference of Birds / Birds in Disguise, which is set for release on December 5th. As part of the announcement, Avey Tare has released three new tracks called “Midnight Special,” “Red Light Water Show,” and “Disc One.” Each of the tracks are trippy as ever, with glimmering synths, sparkling instrumentals, and warping, grainy vocals. “Early mornings at the bar. Deep conversations with a stranger. A Disney Night parade gone wrong. The White Album is 2 CDs,” Avey Tare explains to frame the release.

Foals – “The Runner (Rüfüs Du Sol Remix)”

Alternative electronic trio Rüfüs Du Sol have released a remix of Foals’ hit track, “The Runner.” The killer new remix takes the relentless beat of the original tune and amps up for the remix, packed with heavy beats and shaker percussion. Rüfüs Du Sol’s remix revolves around layers of vocals and harmonic effects, taking Foals frontman Yannis Philippakis’ voice and turning it into a haunting presence. This new tune marks Rüfüs Du Sol’s first remix in over three years.

MF Tomlinson – “Nietzsche’s Day Off”

MF Tomlinson has released a quirky, whimsical clip for his new single “Nietzche’s Day Off.” The new track revolves around a jaunty instrumental, silky vocals, and fun-loving lyricism, as Tomlinson delivers lines like, “His mama called the cops/ Said ‘officer, my boy is lost’/ The chief said we had him in cell 3B, but he was bailed out by Van Gogh.” “The video brings the song’s narrative to life as it follows the influential 19th century philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche as he decides to take the day off being serious,” according to a press release.

Grimes – “My Name Is Dark”

Grimes has released a new track called “My Name Is Dark” from her forthcoming album, Miss Anthropocene. In addition to releasing the album, Grimes unveiled the artwork for the new album, which is supposed to show “the program the new gods use to edit and design the simulation.” The eerie new tune comes with a distorted, yet full instrumental line as Grimes’ ominous falsettos take the lead.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!