HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 7 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 7 songs you need to discover this week

Another big week for new tunes, indie lovers!

Get ready to check out some fresh cuts from renowned acts like U.S. Girls, Tokyo Police Club, The Staves, Muzz, and a Robert Smith remix of a Deftones track.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Deftones – “Teenager (Robert Smith Remix)”

Deftones’ White Pony remix album Black Stallion is set for release on December 11th, and today the band has shared a remix of “Teenager” from The Cure’s Robert Smith. “It’s amazing to hear Robert rework one of our songs and sneak his voice in there,” Deftones’ Chino Moreno explains to NME. “If you’d have told me that when I was 15-years-old, I would have lost my fucking mind and not believed a word you were saying. It was a dream.”

U.S. Girls – “Santa Stay Home”

Following the release of Heavy Light, U.S. Girls have once again taken an anti-consumerism stance with their new track “Santa Stay Home.” The track, which project leader Meg Remy co-wrote with Rich Morel, is a plea for skipping Christmas altogether, a reconfiguring how you see the holidays. The energetic track sees Remy’s vocals taking the lead, as she delivers lines like, “I can’t have you coming in my house/ I don’t know what you’re all about/ Jolly pusher pushing’ more, more, more/ It’s like the news don’t reach the North Pole.”

Tokyo Police Club – “Hundred Dollar Day”

Tokyo Police Club have announced a 10th anniversary edition of their sophomore album Champ, which is set for release on vinyl and digitally on March 5th, 2021. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared a video for their previously unreleased track, “Hundred Dollar Day.” The track comes from the album’s sessions with producer Rob Schnapf, and the accompanying video comes packed with archival footage of the band.

The Staves – “Satisfied”

Folk rock trio The Staves are gearing up for the release of Good Woman on February 5th, and today they’ve previewed the album with a video for their new track “Satisfied.” “This started out with an acoustic guitar,” The Staves explain of the track. “The song is asking its subject – will they ever be satisfied with what they have? Is it ever enough? But also urging them not to give up on themselves, and love. The song really came to life when we added the band, and gave strength and a backbone to the whole sentiment of the song (as well as a great groove!).”

Muzz – “Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart (Arthur Russel cover)”

Earlier this year, Paul Banks, Matt Barrick, and Josh Kaufman shared their self-titled album as Muzz. Now, they’re returning with a covers EP, which is set for release on December 9th. The forthcoming four-track collection, which is aptly titled Covers features tracks that represent the different inspirations for each member of the band, in addition to the sound Muzz make when they get together. Covers boasts reworked renditions of Bob Dylan’s “Girl From The North Country,” Mazzy Star’s “Fade Into You,” Tracy Chapman’s “For You,” and Arthur Russell’s “Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart.”

Jade Bird – “Houdini”

While gearing up for the release of her sophomore album, which is set for release next year, Jade Bird has shared a new breakup song called “Houdini.” The new track sees Bird using magician and illusionist Harry Houdini’s name as a metaphor to reflect on someone leaving from her life. As the track progresses, Bird reveals that she always knew they would leave without a reason. “I’ve loved the word/concept for a really long time,” Bird explains. “All of a sudden, it seemed to be the perfect metaphor for the figures who had left my life in the past. I had no control or choice on their appearances and disappearances – sort of like the man himself.”

The Hold Steady – “Family Farm”

The Hold Steady are set to make their return with their eighth full-length album, Open Door Policy, which is set for release on February 19th via Positive Jams/Thirty Tigers. As part of the announcement, the Hold Steady have shared a new track called “Family Farm.” “Open Door Policy was very much approached as an album vs. a collection of individual songs, and it feels like our most musically expansive record,” frontman Craig Finn explains. “This album was written and almost entirely recorded before the pandemic started, but the songs and stories explore power, wealth, mental health, technology, capitalism, consumerism, and survival – issues which have compounded in 2020.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular