HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 7 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 7 songs you need to discover this week

The sun is shining, and it’s been a huge week for new tunes!

We’ve gotten some stunning fresh cuts from renowned acts like Shakey Graves, Yves Jarvis, Bell Orchestre, and Lucinda Williams, who has shared a cover of Sharon Van Etten’s “Save Yourself.”

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Shakey Graves – “Georgia Moon”

Shakey Graves has shared his intimate track “Georgia Moon” from his forthcoming Roll The Bones X double LP, which is set for release on April 2nd, 2021. Alejando Rose-Garcia explains that the track is all about his friendship with Wesley Steward. “On I-81 with the molten juice in tow, an automated highway alert sign flew by that read ‘If You Booze It You Might Lose It,’” Rose-Garcia explains. “We cackled in joy and Wesley exclaimed ‘this deserves a country song!’ So, I pulled out a notepad and we scratched down the words to what we imagined to be a jaunty tongue in cheek hillbilly tune. Yet what resulted was a sweeter, more nostalgic tune than either of us could have ever conceived. The jokes became legends, the legends became songs, and the songs were friendship, distilled.”

Lucinda Williams – “Save Yourself (Sharon Van Etten cover)”

Sharon Van Etten is gearing up for the release of a 10th anniversary reissue of epic, which will come with a reissue of the original album alongside a slew of artists covering tracks from the album. So far, we’ve gotten covers from Big Red Machine and IDLES, and today Lucinda Williams has covered “Save Yourself.” With gritty guitar lines and powerful, crooning vocals, this cover is sure to get you emotional as Williams delivers melancholic lines like, “Don’t you think I know/ You’re only trying to save yourself.”

Yves Jarvis – “Body Of Work”

Yves Jarvis has shares a colourful video for his new track, “Body Of Work.” “Body Of Work” is a bouncy, captivating new track that revolves around a jagged, yet connected instrumental, as Jarvis croons over top. The accompanying video for the track was “foolishly printed and scanned one word at a time,” much like the video for his recent track “Projection,” Jarvis explains. The new track sees Jarvis “having fun with forms. I’m a man of many motifs!”

Half Moon Run – “How Come My Body”

After being nominated for Group Of The Year for the 2021 Juno Awards, Half Moon Run have shared a black-and-white video for their new single, “How Come My Body.” The new track marks a first preview of new music that’ll be released later this year by the band, paving the way for a dreamy new sound. “This song treats the body as a foreign entity, disassociated from and observed by the mind,” Devon Portielje explains of the track.

Bell Orchestre – “VII: Colour Fields”

Montreal-based Arcade Fire offshoot Bell Orchestre have shared a video for their new track, “VII: Colour Fields,” which comes from their forthcoming album, House Music. The new video was directed by trumpeter Kaveh Nabation with cinematography from Nicolas Canniccioni, and it was edited by Matthew Rankin. The clip marks Bell Orchestre’s departure from the black-and-white of their previous videos, as they shine in a sort of technicolour in the Canadian woods. The dreamy, warping new track revolves around a sort of sonic dissonance that comes together for a stunning, orchestral, almost cinematic experience.

Art d’Ecco – “I Am The Dance Floor”

While gearing up for the release of his new album, In Standard Definition, on April 23rd via Paper Bag Records, art-rocker Art d’Ecco has shared a video for his new track, “I Am The Dance Floor.” “I was picturing this alt version of Saturday Night Fever where the lead is this aging loner obsessed with dance, who every weekend shows up at different clubs around town and just murders the dance floor, and then disappears out the back door,” d’Ecco explains. “There is a person from my home town who sort of fits this description quite well. I think every scene has their own version of Random Dancing Dude.”

André Ethier – “Wild Goldfish”

André Ethier has announced his new album, Further Up Island, which is set for release on May 28th via Telephone Explosion Records. As part of the announcement, he’s shared a video for his new track, “Wild Goldfish.” “Wild Goldfish” is a soft, but catchy tune with some video game bleeps and bloops as Ethier croons overtop. The accompanying video, which was created by Eva Michon, follows Ethier as an RPG character, making his way through existential and banal life, hunting for some wild goldfish on Further Up Island.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular