HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 7 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 7 songs you need to discover this week

It’s time for Best New Indie!

This week, we’ve gotten some great new music from artists like Weezer, Big Red Machine, Jorja Smith, Duran Duran, and more.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Weezer – “Enter Sandman (Metallica cover)”

Weezer have shared a cover of Metallica’s “Enter Sandman” for the forthcoming charity compilation, The Metallica Blacklist. While Weezer have leaned into a new era with Van Weezer, they’re turning to metal with this new cover. Cuomo and co. deliver a distorted rendition of “Enter Sandman” that stays true to the original tune. The only standout difference is Cuomo’s distinctive vocals, and a reference to the guitars in “Buddy Holly.”

Big Red Machine – “Mimi (feat. Ilsey)”

Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and the National’s Aaron Dessner have collaborated with Ilsey on their new track as Big Red Machine, “Mimi.” Their Ilsey Juber collaboration “Mimi” is one of their softest releases yet. Vernon, Dessner, and Ilsey all sing along together beneath dreamy guitars and modular synths. The low-key track sees Vernon delivering some impressive falsettos atop intricate layers of instrumentals and vocals.

Jorja Smith – “All Of This”

Jorja Smith has returned with a new break-up single called “All Of This.” The DJ Guilty Beatz-produced tune is upbeat and danceable, contrasting the bitter lyrics. Throughout the tune, Jorja Smith spits lines about a breakup, singing: “I see how you changed me, I know what you said./ It don’t make me hate you/ I wish that it did.” Alongside the track, Smith shared a video that sees her in various settings beneath film-like effects.

Duran Duran – “More Joy! (feat. CHAI)”

New wave legends Duran Duran have collaborated with CHAI on their new single, “More Joy!” Alongside the release, they’ve shared the tracklist for their forthcoming album Future Past. “The song ‘MORE JOY!’ was born out of a crazy jam with Duran Duran, Graham Coxon and Erol Alkan,” keyboardist Nick Rhodes says. “It was such an unusual piece we weren’t quite sure if it would fit in at first. It reminded me of one of those retro Japanese video games, which I always found quite uplifting. We came up with the chant ‘more joy’ early on, and that became the key to the rest of the track. We all agreed that it would sound really great with Japanese female voices on it, and that’s when Simon had the inspired idea to ask CHAI if they would possible collaborate with us. To our joy they agreed, and the result most certainly brought an incredible new energy to the song. They are so special!”

Purity Ring – “Soshy”

Purity Ring have returned with an eerie video for their new single “soshy.” Alongside the video, they’ve announced a forthcoming tour. The new single marks the Canadian electro-pop duo’s first new music since last year’s womb. It’s also the first release on the band’s own label, The Fellowship. The accompanying Carson Davis Brown-directed video features artwork by Megan James. “A wraith to descend the summer stairs with,” James explains of the video, “Film by Carson Davis Brown, a visage under water and over the super 8. Featuring Doris in 1935.”

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – “That Life”

Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Ruban Nielson’s brainchild, has shared their second single of the summer. “That Life” is a follow up to the previously released “Weekend Run”, their first official release since 2018. The chilled-out summer jam arrived alongside a music video directed by Lydia Fine and Tony Blahd. The clip stars a blue puppet created by puppeteer and fabricator Laura Manns (The Muppets). Watch the little blue guy as he dances until things start going strange.

Hippo Campus – “Sex Tape”

Indie-rockers Hippo Campus are back with their second single “Sex Tape” from their forthcoming EP Good Dog, Bad Dream. Good Dog, Bad Dream is out this Friday (August 6) but first the band are sharing another preview. “Sex Tape” arrives alongside a music video directed by Joe Pease, that sees a collage of colourful imagery featuring cut out visuals of the band themselves.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular