HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 7 Songs You Need To Hear This Week

Best New Indie: 7 Songs You Need To Hear This Week

Hopefully you’ve already prepared yourself for Record Store Day this weekend, or are hitting up some wicked shows at Canadian Music Week. If nothing else, bulk up on some new music.

This week saw the much-anticipated release of Philadelphia alt rockers The War on Drugs, hard-hitting indie-pop tracks from Lana Del Rey, Bleachers and more. Here are the best new indie tracks of the week:

War on Drugs – “Thinking of a Place”

Ahead of its scheduled release for World Record Store day, Saturday April 22nd, The War on Drugs have released “Thinking Of A Place” to stream online. It’s a hazy one.


Lana Del Rey – “Lust For Life” ft. The Weeknd

After appearing on The Weeknd’s “Party Monster” earlier this year, the crooner has returned the favour and featured on Lana Del Rey’s second new track from her upcoming album Lust for Life. Listen to the title track above, released just this week.

Perfume Genius – “Go Ahead”

Mike Hadreas, who goes under the moniker Perfume Genius is ramping up for the release of his forthcoming album No Shape. In a Twitter Q&A, Hadreas told fans the new album will feel as “…approaching beauty and warmth and joy, but there’s always something unsettling, bubbling below.” Check out “Go Ahead” above.

MØ – “Nights With You”

During her 4/20 link up with BBC Radio this week, MØ flaunted her new tune “Nights With You.” MØ has made it clear the new track is from her upcoming album, which is still in the works, though very close to being completed.


Bleachers – “Hate That You Know Me”

The people have been anxiously waiting for another 80’s pop banger from Bleachers and lucky for us, he’s shared new one “Hate That You Know Me” this week. This is the second recent release from him, following up “Don’t Take The Money” ft. Lorde, released earlier this month.


Shout Out Louds – “Oh Oh”

The Shout Out Louds have been relatively quiet since 2013’s Optica, but the Swedish indie-pop outfit have resurfaced with “Oh Oh.”

Matt Mays – “Faint of Heart”

“Faint of Heart” is one of four new tracks, including “Ola Volo,” “Sentimental Sins,” and “Station Out of Range,” produced by Mays himself and Loel Campbell of Wintersleep from his upcoming record Once Upon A Hell of a Time, out this fall.


Most Popular