HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 8 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 8 songs you need to discover this week

We’ve been getting releases left, right, and center this week, so it looks like your new music playlists are going to be stacked!

With fresh cuts from huge indie artists like The Lumineers, Lana Del Rey, The Pixies, Tool, The New Pornographers, and !!! (Chk Chk Chk), you’re sure to be playing new music all weekend long. There have also been some unbelievable releases from up and coming musicians like Rich Aucoin and Mallrat.

Check out the best new indie tunes from this week below.

The Lumineers – “Leader Of The Landslide”

While gearing up for the release of III, which is set for release on September 13th, The Lumineers have dropped a video for their new track, “Leader Of The Landslide.” “Leader Of The Landslide” is a powerfully barren track that revolves around an intimate acoustic guitar line and frontman Wesley Schultz’s raspy vocals. The accompanying clip for the track follows Junior as he’s forced to bury his dog that died.

Lana Del Rey – “Looking For America”

Lana Del Rey has teased a new track on Instagram titled “Looking For America,” which serves as a response to the recent mass shootings in the United States. The track comes with accompaniment from Jack Antonoff, as he plucks a slow-burning melody on an electric guitar. The intimate tune comes packed with a sense of melancholy, as Del Rey croons lines like, “I’m still looking for my own version of America/ One without the guns, where the flag can freely fly/ No bombs in the sky only fireworks when you and I collide/ It’s just a dream I had in mind.”

The Pixies – “Catfish Kate”

The Pixies’ new album Beneath the Eyrie will be released on September 13th, and today they have shared a video for “Catfish Kate” from the upcoming record. The music video was created by Krank! Collective, which is a collective of filmmakers, animators and photographers based between Manchester and Berlin. The video was created by Neirin Best and Lianne Pierce with Lois de Silva as Animation Assistant and Christopher Burrows, Rio Davey, Christia Corkill as the Colourists.

Tool – “Fear Inoculum”

Tool has finally released a new single from their upcoming album and its the title track, “Fear Inoculum.” The album is set to be released on August 30th, and upon the full release, Fear Inoculum will be available digitally, and as a deluxe limited-edition CD version. Guitarist Adam Jones has worked to create a package with a 4-inch HD rechargeable screen, with exclusive video footage, a 2 watt speaker, charging cables, a 36 page booklet, a digitaland download card.

Rich Aucoin – “The Past”

Rich Aucoin has released a 360 VR video for his new track “The Past,” which, musically, was created entirely by his vocals and body with no instruments. The powerful track was created through percussion made from Aucoin’s mouth or clapping, pitched down vocals for the bass, and vocal pads and vocal melody lines. “‘It’s come out of my love, it’s coming for me’ is regret chasing one down until it kills them if they live with a sense of living in the past and/or with their regrets and mistakes letting them oppress you with trauma instead of working through those feelings and traumas to move forward and be uncontrolled by them,” Aucoin explains to Indie88.

The New Pornographers – “Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile”

The New Pornographers have announced their forthcoming album In the Morse Code of Brake Lights, which is set for release on September 27th. As part of the announcement, they’ve dropped a new track titled “Falling Down The Stairs of Your Smile.” “There are so many songs like ‘the something of love’ – you know, there’s ‘The Book of Love,’ ‘The Freeway of Love’…Then I thought of ‘falling down the stairs of your love,’ and I thought, that kind of works,” frontman and producer A.C. Newman explains in a statement.

!!! (Chk Chk Chk) – “This Is The Door”

!!! (Chk Chk Chk) have released a new track “This Is The Door” from their upcoming album Wallop, which is due on August 30th via Warp. The new track is fun and highlights vocals from the band’s Meah Pace. The song, and the rest of the album, channels ’90s retro rave nostalgia with a playful darkness that screams UK grime and English dance-rock techno. !!! has released three other songs from the album, “UR Paranoid,” “Off the Grid,” and “Serbia Drums.”

Mallrat – “Charlie”

Australian artist Mallrat has announced the details for her upcoming EP Driving Music, and as part of the announcement, she has released a dreamy new single called “Charlie.” The new single is a dreamy, emotional piece backed by piano, which builds to a fun electronic percussion. “‘Charlie’ is about a lot of different things, but mostly just loving people so much, regardless of whether it’s reciprocated or not,” Mallrat said during an interview with Australian radio station Triple J.

Most Popular