HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 8 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 8 songs you need to discover this week

While it hasn’t been a huge week for new tracks, what has been released has been unbelievable.

With fresh cuts from indie giants like Wolf Parade, Foo Fighters’ Taylor Hawkins, Bishop Briggs, Animal Collective, and more, your playlists are going to be stacked all week long.

Check out the best new indie tunes from this week below.

Wolf Parade – Against The Day”

Wolf Parade have released a video for their first new music in three years, “Against the Day.” The synth-driven tune revolves around a gritty, futuristic instrumental line as frontman sings lines like “Hand in the hand, together we’ll walk/ Into the jaws of the sun, I know/ All is gone now.” The accompanying Scorpion Dagger-directed clip is a “post-apocalyptic Wolf Parade listening party” featuring a 16-bit contribution from Doctor Octoroc, according to a statement.

Taylor Hawkins – “Crossed The Line (feat. Dave Grohl, Jon Davison)”

Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins has announced a solo record called Get the Money. As part of the announcement, Hawkins has released “Crossed the Line,” which features both Dave Grohl and Jon Davison. The release revolves around a groovy instrumental line and Hawkins’ gritty vocals before exploding into a catchy, gritty tune.

Bishop Briggs – “Jekyll & Hide”

Bishop Briggs has announced her sophomore album Champion, and as part of the announcement, she’s released a powerful black-and-white performance video for a new track titled “JEKYLL & HYDE.” “I released a new song called ‘Jekyll & Hide’ today. The title is spelt Hide not Hyde. GET IT!??!!!!! Word play gets me way too hype,” Briggs explains of the track. “I wrote this one with K.Flay and it was produced by Joel Little. In the chorus, we wrote ‘are you Jekyll & Hyde-ing me?’ as a way to describe the chaotic feeling of dating someone who has two very different sides.”

Beck – “Hyperlife” and “Eventful Days”

Beck has announced a release date for his 14th studio album, Hypserspace. The follow-up to 2017’s Colors will arrive on November 22nd via Capitol Records. The singer-songwriter also unveiled two new songs off the forthcoming album.


Luke LaLonde – “The Perpetual Optimist”

Born Ruffians frontman Luke Lalonde has announced his forthcoming sophomore solo album, The Perpetual Optimist, which is set for release on November 22nd. As part of the announcement, he’s released an endearing video for the album’s title track. The new track revolves around a quirky guitar line, and LaLonde’s gritty vocals as he sings lines like, “You are the perpetual optimist/ Get no reward if you take no risk.” The accompanying clip fits the track perfectly, with colourful, muted sets as LaLonde plays along to the energetic, folky tune.

St. Vincent – “New York (Nina Kraviz remix)”

St. Vincent’s renowned 2017 album MASSEDUCATION is getting a remix curated by Nina Kraviz, and as part of the announcement, Kraviz has released a remix of “New York.” Nina Kraviz presents MASSEDUCATION Rewired, which drops on December 13th, is set to feature remixes from artists like Laurel Halo, Pearson Sound, Jlin, Hieroglyphic Being, Batu, Mala, Fred P, Midland, Steffi, and more. Kraviz’s new rendition of “New York” sees the dynamic track getting an eerie remix with ambient, echoing instrumentals as St. Vincent’s powerful vocals get a ghostly electronic processing.

Avey Tare and Geologist – “Autumn Rites”

Animal Collective members Avey Tare and Geologist have released a 21-minute song called “Autumn Rites.” Following the release of 25-minute A-side “Summer Blaze” in August, the pair of unveiled a follow-up with “Autumn Rites.” The billowing new tune is an ode to autumn, so it makes sense that the Animal Collective members released it as the leaves have started changing colour.

Most Popular