Best New Indie: 8 songs you need to discover this week

Featuring The Flaming Lips, Bright Eyes, Dizzy, and more

Yet another huge week for new tunes!

Your playlists are sure to be stacked with outstanding releases from indie giants like The Flaming Lips, Bright Eyes, Ben Gibbard, and Orville Peck. We’ve also been gifted with some amazing new singles from up-and-coming artists like Dizzy, Fast Romantics, and T Thomason!

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

The Flaming Lips – “Flowers of Neptune 6”

The Flaming Lips have shared a video for a surprise new single, “Flowers of Neptune 6.” The music video sees frontman Wayne Coyne making his way through a burning prairie from inside of his distinctive giant plastic bubble, with an American flag draped on his shoulders. The powerful new track seems to be a one-off release, with no album announcement yet.

Bright Eyes – “One and Done”

Bright Eyes have shared “One and Done,” a new track from their first album in nine years. The song is a stoic tale about a crumbling world with an atmospheric instrumental line, featuring Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Flea on bass, as frontman Conor Oberst sings lines like, “The whole town looks empty but we knew it wouldn’t last/ Behind bulletproof windows they’re still wiring the cash.”

Dizzy – “This Must Be the Place (Talking Heads cover)”

Dizzy have shared a video for their new cover of Talking Heads’ “This Must Be The Place.” The band add a distinctive Dizzy twist to the hit tune, with an atmospheric instrumental line and frontwoman Katie Munshaw’s distinctive vocal lines.

Orville Peck – “No Glory In The West”

Masked country crooner Orville Peck has announced that he’s releasing a new EP called Show Pony on June 12th, and as part of the announcement, he’s shared “No Glory In The West.” “No Glory in the West” is a soft, acoustic track that truly lets Peck’s crooning vocal lines take the lead as he sings lines like, “But you take what you can get/ ‘Cause there ain’t no glory in the West.”

Ben Gibbard – “Proxima B”

Death Cab for Cutie’s Ben Gibbard has shared a new track called “Proxima B.” “It’s about a planet that was discovered deep, deep in the cosmos, called Proxima B,” Gibbard explains. “The three things you need to know about Proxima B to understand the song are: One, there’s a planet called Proxima B that they think has water on it. It’s somewhat Earth-like. Secondly, it orbits the star called Centauri. And three, there’s been a lot of talk of ‘Ooh, maybe we can get there at some point.’ So I wrote this song in response to that.”

Cigarettes After Sex – “You’re All I Want”

Cigarettes After Sex have released a new track called “You’re All I Want.” No word yet if this new single is part of a larger project or a standalone single. If you’re a fan of Cigarettes After Sex’s music, then you will be into “You’re All I Want”. Smokey lyrics include “You’re all I want/ We fucked so hot it left me faded/ For all you are/ There is no other love, it’s only yours.”

Fast Romantics – “Pick It Up”

Toronto-based outfit Fast Romantics have announced that their new self-produced album Pick It Up will arrive on August 6th via Postwar Records. The band has also shared a new single and video for the record’s title track. “Pick It Up” was inspired by lead singer Matt Angus’ lifelong battle with depression and anxiety.

T. Thomason, Ria Mae – “Loser Part. II”

T. Thomason and Ria Mae have collaborated on a new single called “Loser Part II.” The track comes as part of Thomason’s Part 2 Project, which sees him continuing the tale of his self-titled record. “When I was working on my record, ‘Loser’ was one of the first songs I shared with Ria,” Thomason explains. “She was stoked about it and that was so, so encouraging.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!