Best New Indie: 8 songs you need to discover this week

Featuring Bright Eyes, Tash Sultana, The Flaming Lips, and more

It’s been yet another amazing week for new tunes!

You’ll have tons of new music to listen to all weekend long, with fresh cuts from acts like Bright Eyes, Tash Sultana, The Flaming Lips, Toro Y Moi, The Elwins, Yves Jarvis, and more!

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Bright Eyes – “Mariana Trench”

Bright Eyes have announced their first album in nine years, Down In The Weeds Where The World Once Was, which is set for release on August 21st. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared a video for their new track “Mariana Trench.”

Tash Sultana – “Greed”

Tash Sultana has shared their second new single of 2020, “Greed.” “‘Greed’ is about how people change around you when you achieve some sort of success,” Sultana explains to triple j. “When you’re in high school, and people don’t give a fuck that you play the guitar or they bag you for trying to achieve some kind of musical goal. Then all of a sudden, they’re trying to slide into your DMs to get a meet-and-greet or whatever!”

The Flaming Lips – “My Religion Is You”

The Flaming Lips have just announced their 21st album to date, American Head, will be released on September 11th, 2020. The band have released the track listing of their upcoming 13 song album with collaborator and producer David Fridmann. The band has also shared a music video for the track “My Religion is You.”

Toro Y Moi – “Ordinary Guy (Joe Bataan cover)”

Toro Y Moi has dropped a previously recorded cover of Joe Bataan’s 60’s single “Ordinary Guy.” The track was recorded in 2019, but is now being officially released through Toro Y Moi’s company label and includes collaborators The Mattson 2. “I’m super excited to announce this release,” Toro Y Moi explains. “It’s a cover of a song by a fellow Afro-Filipino, Joe Bataan. His music first caught my ear back in 2009 when Ryan Kattner of Man Man played it for me. I was immediately hooked by Joe’s music because, to me, he represented the impossible–he felt so comfortable in his skin and he had so much confidence and appeal.”

Jónsi – “Swill”

Sigur Rós frontman Jónsi has announced his first album in a decade, Shiver, which is set for release on October 2nd. As part of the announcement, he’s shared a video for his new single, “Swill.” The Barnaby Roper-directed video opens with Jónsi’s head in focus, covered in hands before moving into a series of other visuals. From digital illustrations of flowers growing on bodies to clips of people whipping long hair, this video is a jam-packed visual explosion.

The Elwins – “Weight Of The World”

The Elwins have announced their forthcoming album IV, which is set for release on September 18th, and as part of the announcement they’ve shared a video for their new single “Weight Of The World.” “This is a story speaking to how everyone has to deal with the weight of the world in one way or another,” lead singer Matthew Sweeney explains. “That kind of brings us together in a sense. Just a friendly reminder that everyone has got this shit feeling from time to time, some more than others, but all you can really do is to try and take it easy on yourself.”

Yves Jarvis – “Victim”

Montreal’s Yves Jarvis has shared a music video for his new single “Victim.” The new track marks Jarvis’ first new music since 2019’s The Same But By Different Means. “Victim” is a perfectly silky track with soft, dreamy instrumentals and smooth, breathy vocals.

L’Impératrice – “Voodoo”

Parisian outfit L’Impératrice have shared a live video for their light-hearted new track, “Voodoo.” “The dance floor is the mirror of our social ease and our relationship to our body,” L’Impératrice explain in a statement. “But a dance floor is also a place out of time, out of norms, and ironically, the people who dance very ‘badly,’ who break free and let themselves go, are the ones you notice and admire.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!