Best New Indie: 8 songs you need to discover this week

Featuring Austra's remix of a Lido Pimienta track

Another huge week for new tunes!

This week, we’ve gotten an amazing Austra remix of Lido Pimienta’s “Eso Que Tu Haces,” in addition to fresh cuts from renowned acts like The National’s Matt Berninger, The Killers, beabadoobee, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, and more.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Lido Pimienta – “Eso Que Tu Haces (Austra Remix)”

Austra’s Katie Stelmanis has remixed Lido Pimienta’s Miss Colombia track, “Eso Que Tu Haces.” “I don’t mean to brag but I recognized Lido as a superstar years before everyone else did and I’m very happy the rest of the world has finally caught up,” Stelmanis explains in a statement. “It was an absolute honour to remix this track para mi reina.”

Matt Berninger – “Distant Axis”

While gearing up for the release of his new album Serpentine Prison, The National’s Matt Berninger has released a video for his new solo song “Distant Axis.” “I think it’s about falling out of touch with someone or something you once thought would be there forever,” Berninger explains.

The Killers – “My Own Soul’s Warning”

The Killers have officially set a release date for their forthcoming album, Imploding the Mirage, which is set for release on August 21st. Alongside the announcement, they’ve shared a video for their new track, “My Own Soul’s Warning.”

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – “Honey”

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard have made their return with a video for their new single, “Honey.” The nearly five-minute-long track marks the band’s first new material since 2019’s Infest the Rats’ Nest. “Honey” moves from last year’s heavier anthems toward a gentle, twangy psychedelia.

beabadoobee – “Care”

Filipino-British indie rocker beabadoobee has announced her debut album, Fake It Flowers, which is due later this year. As part of the announcement, she’s shared a video for her new single “Care.” The new track sees Beabadoobee’s bedroom pop evolving, with a sort of raw vulnerability.

IDLES – “A Hymn”

While gearing up for the release of Ultra Mono, Bristol punks IDLES have shared a video for their tense new single “A Hymn.” “‘A Hymn’ is a hymn that rejoices in the sinister flesh-eating virus of the pedestrian,” Talbot explains. “It sings the tune of normal’s teeth sinking into your neck as you sleep stood up with your eyes open. Amen.”

Ralph – “Crush (Jennifer Paige cover)”

Last night, Toronto pop queen Ralph was a guest star on Canada’s Drag Race, and today she’s shared a new animated video for “Crush.” Ralph created this sweet pop track as an ode to the world of female pop she grew up with, with artists like Mandy Moore, Robyn, and Jennifer Paige’s “Crush.” The accompanying ultra-nostalgic video, which was animated by Amika Cooper (AKA blackpowerbarbie), sees an animated pre-teen in a distinctly Y2K bedroom.

Postcard boy – “Limbo”

While gearing up for the release of his forthcoming EP Limbo, which is set for release on July 14th, Postcard Boy has shared the collection’s title track. “‘Limbo’ was written in the summer between high school and college, this project stems from the anticipation, longing, and confusion generated during transitional phases,” Postcard Boy explains. “I was just trying to make sense of it all and talk myself through that time. Writing and making this music was a very therapeutic process in a way. Now I’m realizing there are so many limbo periods throughout life where these sorts of feelings reoccur.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!