Best New Indie: 8 songs you need to discover this week

Featuring Billie Eilish, Phoebe Bridgers, Maggie Rogers, and more!

What a week for new tunes!

We’ve gotten everything from a catchy new single from Billie Eilish to the return of AC/DC to an unbelievable collaboration from Phoebe Bridgers and Maggie Rogers.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Billie Eilish – “Therefore I Am”

Horror pop queen Billie Eilish is back with a new track called “Therefore I Am.” The catchy new track comes with a gritty hip hop beat, as Eilish nonchalantly shrugs someone off, delivering lines like, “I’m not your friend or anything/ Damn, you think that you’re the man.” The new track is sure to get stuck in your head with a memorable, silky hook from the young pop star

AC/DC – “Realize”

While gearing up for the release of Power Up, which drops on Friday November 13th, Australian rockers AC/DC share new single “Realize.” The new single has a vintage AC/DC vibe, but has a heavier riff than the album’s first single, “Shot in the Dark.” “Realize,” which is the album’s leadoff track, Brian Johnson absolutely wails over guitarist Angus Young’s heavy guitar lines.

Phoebe Bridgers, Maggie Rogers – “Iris (Goo Goo Dolls cover)”

On Election Day, Phoebe Bridgers tweeted, “if Trump loses I will cover ‘Iris’ by the Goo Goo Dolls,” to which Maggie Rogers responded, “u need some harmonies for that special tune?” Now, we’ve been gifted with the collaboration of the year, as Bridgers and Rogers worked together on a stunning cover of the track. The renowned indie artists turned the ’90s power ballad into a soft acoustic track that sounds like it could be a melancholic Phoebe Bridgers original. The cover may be in celebration of Bridgers’ defeat, but Bridgers knows there’s still lots of work to do, so proceeds from the cover will benefit Fair Fight.

Foo Fighters – “Shame Shame”

After debuting their new track on Saturday Night Live last weekend, Foo Fighters have shared a video for “Shame Shame.” The Paola Kudacki-directed clip stars frontman Dave Grohl and Algerian-French actress and dancer Sofia Boutella. According to a statement, the video represents a recurring dream that Grohl has had since his childhood. It comes packed with clips of dancing, and even has a sequence where Grohl uses a guitar to dig his own grave.

Run The Jewels – “No Save Point”

Run the Jewels have released a new track called “No Save Point” for the forthcoming video game Cyberpunk 2077. The song marks Run the Jewels’ first new track since the release of RTJ4 in June. While the track sees Killer Mike and El-P rapping about neon gods and cyber arms, it could stand alone as a classic Run the Jewels track.

Haviah Mighty – “Atlantic”

Haviah Mighty has made her return with a new track called “Atlantic.” “This concept that we can’t escape, is so disgusting, and the reason they say, ‘money is the root of all evil. Specifically, the Atlantic Ocean was used as a vessel of support for these wicked practices, at the expense of my Black ancestors. We were forced to come to the Americas to make this idea of value stronger, bigger, better, with very little benefit. Now we are the ‘bottom of the barrel’ in the Americas, a disposition I explore with the lyrics ‘Never seen Atlanta, but we travel the Atlantic.’ The singing vocals at the beginning and especially the end, are to represent our ancestors crying out – a reminder that they were so strong, so resilient, and still here, keeping us empowered. Our history is with them, and if we talk to them, learn from them, do our research – we will be stronger.”

Phoebe Bridgers – “Kyoto (Copycat Killer version)”

Phoebe Bridgers has announced a new EP Copycat Killer, which is set for release on November 20th via Dead Oceans. As part of the announcement, she’s shared a new version of “Kyoto.” The Copycat Killer version of “Kyoto” is a melancholic orchestral version, packed with extravagant strings. The exclusive vinyl collection, which is available solely through Rough Trade record stores, features new versions of Punisher tracks “Kyoto,” “Savior Complex,” “Chinese Satellite,” and “Punisher.” The new renditions of the tracks were recorded alongside Grammy Award-winning artist Rob Moose.

Pale Waves – “Change”

U.K. rockers Pale Waves have announced their second album Who Am I?, which is set for release on February 12th. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared a video for their new track “Change.” “For me, music and art is for people not to feel so alone and isolated,” the band’s Heather Baron-Gracie explains. “I want to be that person my fans look up to and find comfort in.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!