HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 8 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 8 songs you need to discover this week

What a week for new tunes!

Your new music playlists are sure to be stacked with fresh cuts from indie giants like Billie Eilish, Prince, Jessie Ware, King Princess, Japanese Breakfast, and a collaboration between CHVRCHES and The Cure’s Robert Smith.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

Billie Eilish – “Lost Cause”

Billie Eilish is gearing up for the release of Happier Than Ever on July 30th, and this week she shared a video for her new track, “Lost Cause.” With breezy instrumentals this new track, which follows the release of “Your Power,” comes packed with a perfect amount of sass, as Eilish delivers silky lines like, “Thought you had your shit together/ But damn, I was wrong/ You ain’t nothing but a lost cause/ And this ain’t nothing like it was.”

Prince – “Born 2 Die”

A previously unreleased Prince song called “Born 2 Die” is here. The swaggering new track comes packed with Prince’s signature silky vocals and a deep instrumental groove, as Prince delivers lines like, “She left the church a long time ago/ Said they couldn’t teach her what they did not know.” “Born 2 Die” comes from Prince’s forthcoming posthumous album, Welcome 2 America, which is set for release on July 30th.

CHVRCHES, Robert Smith – “How Not to Drown”

Scottish electro-pop trio CHVRCHES are back with a new album called Screen Violence, which is set for release on August 27th via Glassnote. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared their new collaboration with The Cure’s Robert Smith, “How Not to Drown.” The forthcoming album not only marks their fourth full-length, but it actually serves as a celebration of 10 years of the band. While frontwoman Lauren Mayberry’s bubbly vocals may take the lead, this song definitely has a darker instrumental line than a lot of CHVRCHES’ releases.

Jessie Ware – “Hot N Heavy”

London disco queen Jessie Ware is reading the expanded edition of her 2020 album, What’s Your Pleasure?, and to preview the collection she’s shared her new single “Hot N Heavy.” The dance-worthy new track is a disco anthem, packed with groovy vocals and steamy lyrics, as Ware delivers lines like, “You got me hot and heavy/ Something in your eyes/ I’m willing and I’m ready/ To set my heart on fire.”

King Princess – “House Burn Down”

Following the release of “Pain,” King Princess has returned with her new single, “House Burn Down.” Famously performed during her live shows prior to the release of her debut album, Cheap Queen, “House Burn Down” is a fan favourite. The rock-influenced pop anthem, which was co-produced by Mark Ronson, features the Strokes’ Fabrizio Moretty and Nikolai Fraiture.

Japanese Breakfast – “Kokomo, IN”

Japanese Breakfast has returned with her third studio album, Jubilee. From prioritizing happiness amidst a toxic relationship with her father on “Tactics” to the the melancholic closer “Posing For Cars,” Jubilee sees Japanese Breakfast exploring new sounds and themes, finding optimism even in the darkest of times. “Kokomo, IN” is truly a standout, with retro instrumentals and dreamy, sway-able melodies as Japanese Breakfast sings of longing, delivering lines like, “If ever you come back/ Wherever you find your way to/ Ans though it may not last/ Just know that I’ll be here always.”

LUMP – “Climb Every Wall”

Laura Marling and Tunng’s Mike Lindsay are set to release their new album as LUMP, Animal, on July 30th via Chrysalis/Partisan Records, and today they’ve shared a video for their new single, “Climb Every Wall.” “I’d watched a film called ‘The Perverts Guide to Ideology’ about how ideology is woven into Hollywood cinema, and there was a bit about how in Communist countries they cut out the song ‘Climb Every Mountain’ from the Sound of Music because it’s too much of a personal, individualistic ideology, so that’s where I got the title,” Marling explains.

Porridge Radio – “Happy in a Crowd (Love of Everything cover)”

Porridge Radio have returned with a cover of Midwestern band Love of Everything’s “Happy in a Crowd.” The gloomy new cover is pretty unique, as it comes packed with silky shoegaze vocals atop a deeper trap beat, making for a perfectly peculiar blend of genres. Porridge Radio’s Dana Margolin came across Love of Everything when her old band Garden Centre was an opener for them, and the track really stuck with her.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular