Best New Indie: 8 Songs You Need To Discover This Week

Required Weekly Listening

Looking to update your playlist? Look no further than our weekly roundup of the best new indie tracks.

But first, be sure to check out some great new albums from Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats (Tearing At The Seams) and Dear Rouge (PHASES), plus Dashboard Confessional’s incredible Collective Arts Black Box Session. For the music history nerds, we took a look back at Beck’s debut album Mellow Gold on its 24th anniversary.

Tallest Man On Earth – “An Ocean”

No more makes us cry tears harder than Swedish folk artist The Tallest Man On Earth. The artist has been consistently testing new material on YouTube and social media in the last couple months, sharing his first official release in a year today, “An Ocean.”

The Decemberists – “Once in My Life”

We’re a week away from The Decemberists’ eighth studio album (believe it or not) I’ll Be Your Girl. The seminal indie group released what is likely to be the last single from the upcoming album, “Once In My Lifetime.”


Beach House – “Dive”

Beach House promised a new album to be released this spring, and they’ve definitely kept their promise. The dream pop duo next album, 7, is rightfully named as it’s their 7th studio effort. 7 is set to be released May 11th, 2018. Take a listen to “Dive,” the latest following “Lemon Glow” above.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – “Not In Love We’re Just High”

New Zealand psychedelic rock group, shared a trippy new single “Not In Love We’re Just High,” confirming their next album Sex and Food‘s spring release date of April 16th.


Sloan – “Right To Roam”

Sloan can’t stop, won’t stop sharing their cache of upbeat classic rock hits — this week sharing “Right To Roam” from their forthcoming album Sloan 12 due out April 6th.

Michael Rault – “I’ll Be There”

Edmonton-born, Montreal-based singer-songwriter Michael Rault has announced his new album, It’s A New Day Tonight, will arrive on May 18th via Sleepless Records in Canada and Wick/Daptone across the globe. Rault shared a new video for the forthcoming record’s first single, “I’ll Be There.”

Dusted – “All I Am”

Brian Borcherdt of Holy Fuck unveiled plans to release his sophomore album under his Dusted moniker, Blackout Summer coming April 6th. Take a listen to the latest from the experimental indie-rocker, “All I Am.”


Megative – “Can’t Do Drugz (Like I Used To)”

Check out “Can’t Do Drugz (Like I Used To)” from Montreal/New York City-based band Megative, which consists of Tim Fletcher of The Stills, Gus Van Go, Like Minds, and Screechy Dan.